We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Beautifully kept grounds, sparkling clean pools. Our apartment was very nice, not overly modern but certainly in very good condition, very spacious with a lovely main balcony overlooking one of the pools. The second balcony is very small and really not much use. Ours was a private rental, but it would appear some of the other apartments were not so good. The onsite restaurant was pretty good, although some of the staff were a little odd, Fawlty Towers sprang to mind, although we did find it quite funny. The area outside the resort is a bit of a let down, we didn't find a restaurant in walking distance that was decent, in fact there seemed to be a distinct lack of decent restaurants locally. The beach is walking distance, 10-15 mins, it's a nice beach with all facilities to hand, bear in mind the walk back involves a steep hill. It is however very clean, with plenty of sunbeds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bunty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    296
    87
    35
    16
See reviews for
393
175
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and three friends booked a 7-night stay at Balaia in a two-bedroom apartment. After having read some of the negative reviews posted on here, we honestly were quite skeptical of the place and were not sure what really to expect. However, upon our arrival we entered a lovely reception and were welcomed by two friendly staff members. After arriving at our apartment, immediately we could see it was extremely clean and spacious. The apartment comprised of two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room (with a pull out sofa bed), kitchen, and cleaning closet. As a Superior Apartment it was also equipped with a washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, air conditioning in all rooms, crockery, cutlery, fridge, freezer and television with an array of British channels. We also had a lovely patio area to the rear of the property which was lovely to sit and chill out in. The maids clean the room daily (although they do not wash dishes) and I could say that they could have cleaned a little bit more in terms of mopping the floor and generally tidying up bits and pieces but this was only a small complaint. Towels and bedding are changed twice weekly, however we had to ask for some more towels as this simply was not enough. I would add that visitors should make sure that your doors and outer screen are properly locked as we noticed several times that the maids do have a tendency to leave them open when they are cleaning.

We were located right across the road from one of the many pools in the complex - it was always kept very clean and was a great little spot to relax. The complex itself boasts a supermarket which was very handy - perhaps slightly more expensive than getting a taxi to a larger supermarket elsewhere but for the week, we didn't mind and were able to stock up on a variety of food and alcohol throughout the week.

A number of reviews complained that there was a problem getting taxis, however this was not something that we experienced. Whenever we went to reception, we were able to get a taxi within a 5-10 minute wait which cost between €5-€10 per trip (we went to the strip and to the Old Town). Regardless, it should be noted that the complex plays host to a number of visitors most of whom will inevitably be requiring a taxi at some stage and therefore we expected that we would have to wait during peak hours to get a taxi.

All in all, as four 24 year olds, we would highly recommend this resort. You most definitely get what you pay for - the bathrooms could be done with a revamp and the beds could be more comfortable as they are slightly lumpy. However the positives of this is that we were free to come and go as we pleased, the rooms were well kept (although slightly more cleaning could have been carried out by the maids at times), the grounds are beautiful and the pool areas are plentiful and lovely to relax in. The staff are also very welcoming and overall this made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralphi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Two weeks before our departure Travel Republic wrote to me informing me that our booking could not be honored due to an overbooking. Balai Resort offered us a 3-bed villa instead of our original booking of two 2-bed superior apartments. We declined this change as we had made our booking in December 2013 and was paid in full in May 2014. Our original booking was re-instated.

I do realize that specific requests cannot always be guaranteed but on my booking form I had requested that the two apartments to be near/adjacent and on the ground floor. On arrival at the resort we were given one 2-bed apartment on the first floor and the other 2-bed apartment was across a road and in a different block, on the ground floor. When we queried this with the resort we were informed that the request had not been passed on to them from Travel Republic. As this was a single booking for 2 apartments I found this astonishing that the resort did not realize we would want the apartments near to each other.

Despite booking two superior apartments we were given apartments 150 and 164. The difference in the two apartments in facilities, deco, a/c is enormous. I complained to Reception concerning the discrepancies and they informed me that Apartment 164 was a superior apartment because of the tiles used and it had a tumble dryer.

In Apartment 164 damp was across two sides of the wall in the living/dining room. The day prior to our departure (17 July) maintenance came into the apartment and scraped the damp/peeling paint off one wall and repainted the wall. The damp on the other side of the wall remained and all they did was to move the sofa to hide the damp. The smell from the damp was overpowering.

The tiles in the bathrooms and kitchen were cracked, missing grouting and where there was grouting it was black. There were cracks in all rooms but most seriously in the 2nd bedroom which ran from the ceiling to the floor. The Resort, with regard to this complaint, informed us that we were in a “seismic region and what else did we expect”.

The sofa bed had a huge rip/hole and was in a filthy condition. The dinner set is made up of 5 different dinner sets with cracked drinking glasses. Bathroom tap was broken. Missing/broken plaster in kitchen and doorways.

As I said in the first paragraph I strongly believe that the Balai Resort was overbooked and because we declined their offer of a 3-bed villa the resort only had one superior 2-bed apartment available and one 2-bed standard apartment.

On 15 July 2014 the Resort responded to my complaint via Travel Republic saying “They have 4 beds in the rooms and a person from the maintenance, already check the sofa and informed that everything is fine and also the conditions of the apartments.” If “everything is fine” why were they in the apartment on 17 July removing the damp and repainting the wall?

I am well aware that a/c was not listed as a requirement of a superior apartment. But all apartments in the same block as apartment 164 all had a/c. The Resort say that having a tumble dryer and better tiling constitutes a Superior apartment. Yes, apartment 164 had a tumble dryer but with the damp, cracked and dirty tiles, missing plaster, broken tap, cracks in walls - this does not constitute a Superior apartment and the additional price when in fact the apartment was of a sub-standard.

The difference in Superior and Standard apartment is the key question when making a booking to this resort. Booking a superior apartment does not mean that you will get a better level of accommodation and neither does it mean that you will get a/c. The other apartment we booked was room 150 and this was adjacent to the main road. My parents occupied this apartment and they could not sit outside on the balcony due to the noise and pollution levels from the vehicles using the road.

I cannot comment on the food available at the resort as we did not use the restaurant facilities. There is a supermarket which is OK for emergency supplies as it is quite expensive.

The swimming pools and surrounding areas were well kept and clean.

Wifi is extortionate and costs 25 euros for 24 hours and 50 euros for a week. But the reception of wifi depends entirely where your apartment is located. We visited the Algarve Shopping Centre and purchased a dongle from NOS and this gave us 1gb. When this ran out we bought a top up for 15 euros and this gave us an unlimited allowance for one month. The signal we received was excellent with no cut outs and reductions in speed. We did bring out router with us but the dongle was not recognized so it might be worth checking on configuration if you plan to bring a router with you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank battlezone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family and I have just come back from a 10 night stay here. There are 2 lovely beaches within easy walking distance, one a 10 minute walk and the other 15 minutes (if that). Shops and restaurants are close by as well if needed. We stayed half board and we can't speak highly enough of the restaurant staff who were very friendly polite and helpful and are to be commended. The grounds staff around the hotel work tirelessly to keep it in an immaculate condition.

We stayed in room 374 and it was tired and needed updating, hence there were cracks in the ceiling, bathroom tiles and bath. None of us found the beds to be comfortable, we felt the apartment let our holiday down.

Overall, the grounds, location, beaches, food and facilities were very good.

Room Tip: 374 is old, dated and worn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place if you are happy to stay here permanently - if you want to travel anywhere outside Balaia, forget it. There are no taxis available in peak season and nowhere close by to walk to for evening meal/drinks. You'll wait at least 30-45 minutes until the taxi company answers the phone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from an amazing holiday here. Cannot say enough about how beautiful this place is. The rooms are spotless and huge with more than enough room for a family. Facilities in the room where fantastic you have everything you would need provided. Staff are extremely polite and friendly. The only bad point is the lack of sun loungers around the pools and the fact that taxis are near impossible to get into town between 6-9pm.
Overall this place is a little gem and we are already looking to book for may next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkils11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel back in June 2014 my boyfriend booked it for us for my birthday present! It was the most amazing holiday we both have ever been on! And the hotel added to this it was such a lovely, friendly, clean, amazing hotel we couldn't of asked for a better hotel! The staff were so lovely and friendly always willing to help us they always booked taxis for us no problems, the receptionist staff recommended things for us to do such as the dolphin boat trip which was one of the best things I have ever done! The hotel room itself was very clean had everything that you needed, the swimming pools were in very good condition and so were the surrounding areas you can tell that the gardening staff do a really good job! Although you had to pay for the wifi it was €20 for 24hrs of usage which was plenty for both of us for a week the only problem is the signal is very weak and you could only get it in certain areas mainly close to the swimming pools or at reception but the hotel did explain that they are hoping to upgrade and get better signal in all of the rooms. The only down side to this hotel would be the breakfast at the golf course it was very disappointed and not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel! But other then that it was such an amazing hotel and I would 100% recommend booking this hotel and we will be returning either later on this year or next year!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Paris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.9 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.0 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Property: Balaia Golf Village
Address: Sitio de Balaia, Albufeira 8201-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Pierre & Vacances, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing