We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great location but a bit disappointed with the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel and great location but a bit disappointed with the food”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Really good hotel, the only thing that let me down was the food, the breakfast didn't have much variety and set meals in the evening included in the half board was really boring English pub food, I was expecting more Portuguese options, however it got better as we approached to Easter week and got some nice fish and beef dishes. But overall really food value, about 160 pounds for one week and half board

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    237
    122
    57
    48
See reviews for
197
249
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Can't fault the location and room prices.
Glad went self catering as so many restaurants to choose from.
Would not go back to Albufeira as for golfers and sun bathers only. Not much for small kids.
Supermarket very close.
Bus stand outside hotel.

By the way, used yellow fish transfers for airport transport....very very efficient service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sunny side rooms only, do not go halfboard or even B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelfastLampost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dromore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed with family from 17/3 to 25/3/12. Close to eating places and beach. Very reasonable prices. Stayed self catering and thank god for that. Taxis took you anywhere in the town for €5. Supermarket around the corner. 30-40 minutes from airport. Lovely holiday. Will go again.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room towards the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lampost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My 2 female friends and I went to Forte Da Oura in July 2010. It was a spectacular holiday and I wouldn't hesitate to go back there!

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean, spotless and very well layed out. The beds were comfortable and reception kindly gave us an extra duvet for the sofa bed, as the blanket they provided was a bit itchy.

The balcony overlooked the apartments opposite, which I loved. I am glad it didn't overlook the pool, I imagine this could get quite noisy at times.

We went self catering, and literally round the corner was a supermarket where we stocked up on the essentials to cook in the apartment. Cooking facilities for the very few snacks we made were fine, and utensils provided were great.

Next door to the hotel is a lovely lilttle off-licence. We bought bottles of drink every day from there, and the man in the shop was lovely, and very friendly.

Warning for those of you who might be a little unfit!! If you walk down the hill to the beach, it takes about 5-10 minutes, and is quite a pleasant walk. The beach at the bottom is lovely, but very rocky in the water. I fell over when a wave hit me, and ripped my knee open. Luckily it heeled pretty quick! Must have been the salt water from the sea! But anyway, after a full relaxing day on the beach, we had to walk back to the hotel. The walk back up the hill is a killer. In the 30 degree heat, it was almost unbareable, and all three of us were grumpy as hell when we got back to the hotel! Didn't last for long though, once we'd showered and had a nice cold drink!
The rest of the holiday we went to the beach at the old town, which was a $3 taxi ride each way and the escalators down the beach helped so much! Plus there were no rocks and the sea was clear, so it was definitely worth it!

I wouldn't recommend paying to hire a parasol though. We bought 2 parasols from a shop for $8 each. At the end of the trip, in the hotel, some girls had checked in above us. I called up to them on the balcony and sold them the parasols for $5 each, so didn't make too much of a loss! Have done this on each beach holiday we've been to now, and makes more of a saving that hiring one on the beach every day for $10 or however much it is!

Anyway, back to resort! If you turn right out of the hotel, you walk towards the strip - maybe 5 minutes tops. Loads of bars, shops, clubs and plenty of restaurants. If you turn left out of the hotel and the left again at the roundabout, the best restaurant is down there. I cannot recall what it was called, (not much help I know!!!) but we ate there 5 nights out of 7! They did the most amazing chicken, prawn & chorizo kebabs and the staff were brilliant. Meals were so reasonable and the drinks too. (If it helps, it was on the left hand side, just past the Supermarket!!)
The pool area was pretty busy, so we only stayed there for one day, and had to lay on our towels on the concrete as the beds were all taken. To be fair though, we didn't go down till after 11am so maybe we'd have got some if we went down earlier. We had lunch from the hotel bar that day, was gorgeous!
I really recommend this hotel, and if we go to the area again, will definitely stay here! Enjoy your holiday :-)

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool are probably quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and i stayed at the end of January for 4 weeks,the weather was great we had 40 minutes of rain and that was at night.The apartments are average and the bathroom is in need of some attention.All staff are very helpful and friendly.Unfortunately my husband became ill at 10pm one night and the girl on reception called a doctor for me who was there in 10 minutes she called our room to make sure i was ok,.I must say though that the mattresses are like bricks and an armchair would be lovely as you only have a bed mattress to sit on in the living area and it is brick hard as well.According to brochures rooms are available from 2pm and on departure vacated by 12.00 noon.We had cleaners at the door at 10.45am wanting in to clean the apartment for new arrivals,then at 11.40 reception called to see if we were leaving yet this is my only gripe with the whole stay as they knew my husband was still quite ill and could not rush.Our flight home was 6.45pm so we had a long enough time too put off before our transfer arrived at 4.10pm.We were both a bit shaken up over this.

Room Tip: try to get a south facing garden/sea view get sun from 930am until 530pm garden/sea view does not ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we visted the resturant at forte da oura last week we where told that they had some good winter offers on the food very true, we had steak and eggs with homemade chips and salad buy one meal and get one free it was realy nice, also there is an offer for 2 meals for 10 euros, we only found out about this the day before we came home or we would have eaten there again we will be back in april and will go back then, the lady who serves you is realy nice very friendly. our meal with wine cost us about 14 euros great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patmersyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at the Luna forte d Oura for a week from 20th December, taking in Christmas. We had a large apartment for 6 people, although there were only two of us. It was very spacious with a very large terrace as we were on the top floor. The views were lovely overlooking the gardens and sea. We got sun all day, I suppose we were very lucky with the weather, it was beautiful all week. These apartments are advertised as 4*, I would say they are a good 3*. Although we had plenty of room, the bathroom and kitchen area could do with an update, they were a bit shabby, as were the sofas in the lounge. The TV could certainly do with an update the screen was so tiny. the towels got changed every day but very thin and frayed.
However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we had problems with the air-conditioning, toilet seat cracked and un- hygenic also the handle on the door to terrace was broken, but these were fixed within a couple of hours reporting the problems. The apartments are in a nice area, walking distance to shops beach etc. We hired a car and must say the whole coastline of the Algarve is fantastic. Personally, we wouldn't stay at the Luna Forte again, but is would be good for families. The restaurant was good value and nicely laid out.We had a Christmas carvery there which was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Property: Muthu Forte da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing