We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation good, food left a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 9 June 2012

On arrival the hotel/ apartments look quite impressive. The reception area is light and spacious, the staff helpful and efficient.
The room was of a good size and layout,and importantly very clean.
Then came the first meal of our half board stay. underwhelming is probably the best way
to describe the experience.Although the standard of the food was okay or average at best,the choice was poor.A small buffet trolley with 3 or 4 options, was not good enough, and to be fair a real let down.It felt as though there was a requirement to have a restaurant on site but with no real effort to provide quality or perhaps there was a budget for the proprietor to stick to, either way, not good. The staff in the restaurant were great and very friendly and i would not have any complaints about the breakfast, which was always very good.
Outside was a play area or swing and slide. there were no seats on the swings, so they could not be used. No excuse for this as it would not cost a fortune to fix.
Location was very good. 10 Minute walk to the beach,a lovely beach. 10 Minute walk to the strip,not so scenic, but if i was in my twenties i would probably of loved it,but alas i am not and therefore i didnt.
5 Minutes in a taxi to the old town which is great and the zoomarine is a great day out.
Supermarket is just around the corner from the hotel and a great italian restaurant to the right of this. So all things considered i would return but not half board basis ,bed and breakfast would be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TSmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

have just returned from our 7th holiday at Forte da oura and once again had great holiday.
Very central for beach restaurants and bars. Accommodation spacious and clean but little tired looking. Reception staff always friendly and poolside staff very good. Only complaint some of the sunbeds were broken and very few umbrellas for when it is very hot as it was on some days. Hotel very busy on our second week and not enough beds for all guests. Hope this
is sorted as we will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Really great all rounder hotel.
Spacious apartment, really comfy beds & pillows.
Very clean - maid every day.
English TV.

English food & at pool bar - if you wanted a safe option.
Love how the lady behind the bar takes towels off sunbeds if people have disappeared and there aren't any left for people who actually want to lie around the pool.

10 mins downhill to the beach ( though water freezing - its the Atlantic!)
5 minutes walk along to the strip, though hotel very quiet.
5 euro taxi ride the the lovely Old Town.

We shall be back :)

Room Tip: They dont allow u to take your own food/drink around the pool. And are very strict about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fairpoint64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

me and my wife stayed here from the 30th may to the 3rd june a cheap 4 night break of theTravel Republic web site for a total cost of £579 self catering in a one bed apartment including taxi transfers We went without the kids for a change .This was our first time in Portugal as it was recommended by a friend.On arrival we were greeted at reception by a very nice lady and was imformed that the apartment we were allocated was not available yet as checkout was 12 noon and the time was about 10am Wasting no time we went to the shower room put on our pool wear and got laid out around the pool.The pool area was very pleasant with music being played from the pool bar i noticed that most of the sunbeds were taken or reserved but we managed to get one each.The Portugeese lady who worked at the pool bar and cafe/resturant worked very hard all day i noticed and was lovelly to chat to when being served.When we got our room at about 12 noon we left our towels on the sunbeds and went to unpack .The apartment was very nice and big enough and faced the pool and sea and had two balconies because it was on the corner of the block.After unpacking we went to the strip for a look and a bite to eat just a ten minuite walk away. The strip was full of bars and restuarants , it reminded me of magaluf but on one street and this was in the afternoon. Anyway we went back to the forte da oura and discovered our towels had been removed of our sun beds.It came apparrent that reserving sun beds was,nt allowed and if you left your towels on the sunbeds for long periods without returning and the sun beds were needed by others they would be removed ,there is a sign on display stating that. I agreed with that policy because we had been gone about 3 hours ,so didn,t make a fuss and just found two more sun beds elsewhere,thinking that i would expect the same treatment if no sunbeds were vacant but had towels reserving them .The thing is that if the hotel invested in some more sun beds they wouldn,t be what could be a awkward situation ,as there was plenty of room for more,because like it or not, people reserving sunbeds is always going to happen ,anyway back to our story.We had our breakfasts from the poolside cafe which were fine ,untill the third morning the sausages shrank in size which was noticed but i thought not to make a fuss (again) i mean £6 not exactly cheap .We went to the old town 3 out of 4 nights and had a day on the beach aswell, we thought it was lovely place, lively and full of charracter and local people very friendly and charming .We had a night on the strip which was even livelier but enjoyed it. We had lunch on our last day at the poolside cafe and my tower burger was fine but what a dissapointment my wifes chicken salad was it was full of the bits you throw away or give to the dog ,that was it i thought i will make a fuss this time and i let them know about it, i don.t know what it is but these little niggly things grind on your mind after a while and can tarnish what really was a lovely place to stay. There were groups of girls staying here that were no bother and there is stag and hen groups on the strip at night but seen no trouble. All things said i would reccomend forte da oura and Albufeira , the portugeese are lovelly people and will return with the kids next year

Room Tip: ask for garden view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcgann68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Booked a superior one bedroomed apartment with a view last september for 23rd to 30th May this year. We booked the superior apartment with a view {sleeep up to 6 } because having visited before we knew they were on the top floor and were bigger than the normal 1 bed apartments that sleep 4. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our departure to ask for one with a large balcony and view of the sea as part of our holiday is spent relaxing on our balcony watching the world go by. Got a nice reply from Anna saying they would do their best! On arrival we were given our keys to apartment 415 and told it was at the front of the hotel, but on arriving at the apartment we immediately knew even without entering that it was at the back with just a view of other apartments in an adjoining block. Back we go to reception, and explain very calmly and politely that this is not the type of apartment we have paid for. This is when the receptionist turned into Cruella deville. She would not listen to what we were trying to tell her, and just kept saying "listen please, this is how it is. We do not have any of the sea view apartments to offer you." She said it was the fault of Jet 2 Holidays who had not paid them for a room with a view, even though my invoice clearly stated that I had booked a room with a view. This is not just a request for a view but something that we paid extra for. She said it was uo to us to ring Jet2 and sort it out with them. By this time I was becoming quite upset and so she said "I will ring them" She went on the phone for about 5seconds and then said "Oh it doesn't matter" and put the phone down. She then told us that she had realised that there had been 2 bookings from Jet2 for us one for "land view" and the one month later for the "pool or garden/sea view Then miraculously room 412 at the front became suddenly available, even though she had told us there were no rooms available problem sorted but not a good start.to our holiday. Rooms are now looking very dated, our balcony doors would not lock at all. We are 2 young at heart pensioners and normally I will not moan but I was not impressed with customer service here. Will try somewhere else next year!

Room Tip: 410/11/12/13/ quiet garden/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here 20-27 May 2012 in one of the appartments, also at a good rate via Lowcostholidays.
Booked self catering, but it was set up like a hotel with a lounge kitchen area between the bedroom and balcony. Balcony quite small, only chairs, no beds.
The rooms were quite spacious and had 1 bedroom with twin beds with aircon (aircom not in lounge area) - matress's were very firm - small TV in lounge area with ITV 1 and BBC 1 & 2 and CBB's
Kitchen had fridge and 2 ring ceramic hob and microwave with grill in top - no proper oven though.
Good water pressure so powerful shower.
Maids emptied bins and changes towels dails, but couldn't see that they did any more than that, but I wasn't expecting this in self-catering anyway.
Pool was quite nice, but definitely not enough beds provided so get up early, having said that the beach was actually much nicer and only a 10 minute walk across the road - beds can be rented for six euros a day.
Great location, 5-10 minutes to beach, 5 minutes round corner to good sized supermarket, 5-10 minutes from the bottom end of the strip, so close for everything - good part was that the hotel was very quiet but as much noise as you wanted to early hours close by.
Old town was walking distance, but easier by bus or taxi - buses quite frequent during the day.
Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but loads of good restaurants nearby depending on your taste and pocket.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beth1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Went here for a week with my sister (sis) and brother-in-law (bil) .The hotel is about 10mins walk from the main strip area (turn right outside the hotel) which you get to by walking up an inclined road. Can be uncomfortable if you have walking problems. If you turn left outside the hotel and then left again walk for a few minutes and you will get to a shopping area, a few restaurants and the supermarket, a good range of food sold there, fantastic strawberries, really nice bread, try the local butter..we preferred it and they also have a cashpoint inside.
Read mixed reviews and was happy when we got there and found reception staff very efficient and polite and our room spotlessly clean,bil very picky over cleanliness (he even takes descaler for the kettle!), the room AND the kettle passed his inspection! Disappointingly (at first) we had a horrible view from the balcony but afterwards realised that it was quiet and didnt get too much sun, which suited us.
We were on first floor (which is classed at 2) in room 203, just above reception .The rooms were a good size approx 14x14 and separated by a louvre type door and large hatch, which gave enough privacy for us. the kitchen was extremely well equipped for a couple of weeks holiday and everything was spotless, the glasses positively gleamed! We didnt use any of the cooking facilities, not even the microwave. The 'living' area had a large bed settee with a roll our underneath, the quality of the sheets was really good, very soft and very clean, not a stain to be seen, this also applied to the bedroom. the pillows were good quality and comfortable. One bonus (for sis ad bil) the room also had a tv (small old type of portable up high on the wall) which had BBC1 BBC2 and ITV1 (all in english) so they never missed their beloved Emmerdale, which was on every night! There are pics attached of the rooms. The bathroom was spotless and plenty of tissue there (altho bil had brought some from home), the towels COULD have been changed every day, but we dont do that..also the shower was good, hot and powerful. The pool area was large enough and plenty of sunbeds and shades. the pool itself has a 'shallow half' around 1.3m and from halfway it goes to 2.5m (something like that) . There is also a childrens pool. Beware, the pool is VERY cold but once you get in its fine.
We had a couple of problems, air conditioning, which was rectified within a couple of hours, we did discover that the air con stays on even when you are out of the room...so you come back to a nice cool room! Also the bathroom sink was blocked but there was a language/accent misunderstanding and they were trying to find a fault with the SEAT..lol..it was finally sorted though. The exchange rate is poor but this is generally the case at hotels.

Now, the drawbacks, this hotel is used by hen and stag parties, when we were there, there was a stag party of 50...yes 50! at one point they drank the bar dry so poor bil could not have a beer! such an oversight by management I think. the guys were loud, once the booze kicked in people did leave the pool/outside bar area, I personally was in the pool when a load of them jumped in and started messing around, I felt rather vulnerable so got out, was having fun too!.
As for the hens, there were 3 different parties there, all around 10-12 in numbers, so...50 + 30 = 80 young people all bent on having a good time, this is NOT an 18-30 hotel but felt like it was. I will say, the ladies language was a LOT worse than the guys but they did drink less. The hotel reckoned that they did not know the party of 50 were all the same party..yeah right! Lots of people complained about being woken up 4-5am when the hens and stags returned but we slept like babies!
There are 3 internet terminals in reception, 1 Euro for 10 mins, rather pricey I thought and not that fast and I do believe they have free wi-fi in the reception area as well as safe hire.
The food and beverage in the hotel is a franchise Graham, is the manager. On our first day we had the breakfast which was good for 4 Euros and the coffee was really nice. We also ordered a portion of chips to take to our room (that was allowed!) 2.50, they were delicious, hot and a good sized portion.
On Wednesdays and Sundays they offer a 'roast dinner buffet' for 9.99. Being kind i will describe this as poor...it is served from 1pm, we went there at 1.20 on sunday...to be told that the lamb had gone ...the 50 stags had ate it as they had been allowed into the restaurant from 12...I was so annoyed about that but Graham didnt seem that bothered as he pointed out, it was 'until stocks last' laughable really when it comes to a sunday roast! There was other meat beef pork and turkey, and this was kept all together in one hot plate and sliced thinly by the chef all with the SAME knife. The veg was hard and tasteless, roasties were burned one side and almost raw the other and the gravy was dark thick and tasteless. The whole meal was barely warm. Save your money and go to the strip to eat. Mangellos lamb shank is a far better deal!
There is a sign as you enter the pool area that you are not able to bring food and drink into the area I came back from the shop and had a can of coke which I had bought in the supermarket, Graham, the manager came to me and told me it was not allowed, I was so taken aback, it was hardly a three course meal and I was not hiding it.
The hotel entertainment is poor but we make our own fun so it did not affect us, although we did like the 15min parrot show...so cute!
All in all we had a good time but the hen and stag thing and petty rules around the pool did put us off and wouldnt book there again. (sorry this review is so long!)

Room Tip: It appears that the hotel is managed better than the beverage side of things so dont confuse the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £38 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte da Oura 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Grand Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing