We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Some reviewers of this hotel need a reality check. The hotel has a great location being less than 5 minutes from both the beach and the strip. Our room was fine, quite large and clean. The hotel overall is fine for the money we paid. You have to be realistic and this is a perfectly acceptable hotel for the money we paid, with one exception, it's very noisy. It seems guests can't close a door without slamming it or move furniture without dragging it over the floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Mark C,
Thank your for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Luna Forte da Oura. It is great to know you enjoyed the Hotel, its location, services and facilities, in spite of some noise. Looking forward to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager at Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

just back from Portugal after a week stay in Luna Forte da Oura,This is the worst hotel for noise i have ever stayed in.It does not rate as a 4 star.The noise starts at 11 when all the young crowd start to party before the nightclubs,banging doors,moving furniture,ringing doorbells and shouting at the top of there voices and when they start to arrive back after the nightclubs which goes on 3 in the morning untill 6 or 7 they go to bed and sleep just when we get up,What a pity because the hotel is spotless and in a perfect location but if you want to sleep d'ont go there

Room Tip: D,ont choose a room avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Star314,
Thank you for your comments on Luna Forte da Oura. The Hotel has a great location in the centre of Albufeira, which this time of the year is a very popular destination for young people. We can only apologize if you could not rest properly due to other guests noise, but that is something we cannot fully control.
We hope that this experience does not keep your from returning to the Algarve and should you come back to the Albufeira area, please feel free to contact me personally at fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com. Kind Regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager at Luna Forte da Oura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Firstly i must say this is the worst accomodation i have ever lived in. We were travelling as a party of 3 older adults and the roll out bed in the livingroom was unacceptable. Standard most definitely not 4 star. Much better 3 star accommodation over the road. Staff very unfriendly, did never respond to a hello the entire stay. Pool area not up to standard: majority of the sunbeds and parasols damaged, pool area littered with dead cockroaches that were not cleaned away and pool bar drinks varied in price each time purchasing the same thing. Food in hotel way over priced and disgusting and no entertainment. Very noisy little opportunity to get a full nights sleep and to ice the cake despite time of arrival (in our case 11.30 am) you are not allowed to check in until 2 pm. Can safely say i will not be back and feel i have wasted a great deal of money. Area in general only only catering for hen and stag do's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunChick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear SunChick86,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Luna Forte da Oura. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope this experience does not keep you from coming back to the Algarve. We hope that you can visit us again so we have the opportunity to change your opinion and you can enjoy more your holidays. Kind regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The Rooms:

Stayed here in mid to late May 2013 in a 1 bed apartment (Room 320). Got a fab room with two balconies - one south facing and one west facing so midday sun all the way through to sunset. Rooms cleaned everyday (beds made, bins emptied, bathroom cleaned and floors swept), towels changed every 2 days and bed linen once a week. Beds were hard which suited us (no lumps) so had a good nights sleep with ear plugs in!! Staff spoke good English however, they were very light on information for tourists about bus timetables, where to get the novelty train to the Old Town, hire bikes etc. It's information that should be displayed in reception or available as a handout to people but we had to go find these things out for ourselves. Maybe this is something the hotel could think about offering to tourists going forward? Wi-fi is available free in reception but it was a bit hit and miss, not consistent so difficult to check emails, look up info etc.

The Hotel:

The Luna is in a great location in terms of the shops, local bars, pharmacy, taxi rank, bus stop to Old town (right outside hotel entrance) and restaurants. The 'Strip' is a 5 - 7 min walk if you're relatively fit, and it's far enough away from a noise perspective so great for us light sleepers! The cleaning staff do make a bit of noise when cleaning rooms in the mornings so bring ear plugs if you want a good lie-in. The pool in the hotel was ok but way overpriced for drinks etc. €2.50 for a plastic 3/4 pint of SuperBock and €2.50 for a 20cl glass of apple cider!!! They have lots of signs up to say that you can only consume their drinks and food at the pool so it makes it an expensive facility. The sunbeds were comfortable although some were broken and in need of repair. We had the unfortunate luck of having a stag party from Tyrone arrive at the pool on our 2nd day and the mayhem they caused was awful... Roaring and shouting like caged animals, drinking their heads off, bombing into the pool and basically taking over the place, scaring young kids and the older people that were trying to relax. We complained to the staff and they said they'd get the manager to talk to them. An hour later they were still being served beer by the girl at the bar so we left the pool and spent the rest of our holiday at the beach. We heard afterwards that they were rounded up and asked to leave the pool area so in fairness, the staff did act....eventually!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweetie-Py
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Tweetie-Py,
Thank you for choosing Luna Forte da Oura and for taking time to share your experience. It is good to know that you had an overall pleasant experience at the Hotel and we can only apologize for the inconvenience caused by other guests. We would also like to thank you for the tips regarding the information to be provided and we will do our best to keep it up with. We would be delighted to welcome you again at Luna Forte da Oura, so we can show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Where do I start - just back from this hotel - very very very noisy - hen parties stag parties groups of students shouting banging doors screaming at all hours. Also rather dated and not as clean as other hotels we have stayed in for example CPO accross the road. Also was sat by the pool this morning and was tapped on the shoulder by a woman who informed me I was not allowed a small bottle of water at the pool but as I was only staying for half an hour would allow me this once to keep the water - you HAVE to buy drinks from the over priced pool bar?

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank jaynebrignall100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Jaynebrignall100,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Luna Forte da Oura. We are very disappointed you did not enjoyed your holidays at the Hotel. Luna Forte da Oura has a great location in the centre of Albufeira, which is a popular destination for young people who, when in hen, stag or student parties, tend to exceed themselves. Unfortunately that is something we are unable to fully control and that can lead to discomfort to other guests. We hope that this experience does not dissuade you to come back to the Albufeira area and should you return, please feel free to contact me personally at fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com. Kind regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here during the last week of May. Overall this hotel is ok, when we arrived early they did in fairness allow us to check in at 13:00, the lady on reception was friendly but did not offer us any information whatsoever. During our stay we did find that the reception staff neither friendly or unfriendly, they never acknowledged us, not even to say hello. The lady who cleaned our room was very nice and the rooms were very clean. Here is my major problem with this hotel.....
We experienced serious noise issues as did other guests as i overheard two different guests complaining. From very early in the morning, every morning we were woken by all the noise, it was the worst ive ever heard. I could actually here the lady next door ring home one day and heard the whole conversation! The wall are paper thin. All in all it was ok staying here but i definitely would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 329 which had sun all day everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DingIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear DingIreland
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay at Luna Forte da Oura. At Front Desk we do our best to help all the guests, so we can only apologize if we did not provide information or atention, as needed. We take all reviews in consideration to improve our services and facilities, so we would be more than happy to welcome you again to show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact me if you return to the Albufeira area. Kind Regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here with a 4 yr old ..
Nothing to do, big downhill walk to the beach..
A killer to get back up, especially as I was 22wks pregnant..
Slow 10 minute walk to the top of the strip, Everything you could need here..
Ive been going to Portugal for 15 years but its too expensive now..
Wont be booking up again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Black-country-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Black-country-gal,
Thank you for choosing Luna Forte da Oura and for the time spent sharing your experience. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expecations and hope this experience does not keep you from coming back to the Algarve. We hope that you can visit us again so we have the opportunity to change your opinion and you can enjoy more your holidays. Kind regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £38 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte da Oura 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Grand Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing