We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great hotel!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

just back to-day after a week at Luna forte...same as other people I was a bit apprehensive reading some of the reviews...honestly people must be so hard to please..I had no complaints whatsoever...no problem getting sunbeds if you get up in the morning...I did see the bar staff remove towels reserving beds that were being kept all day and no-one using them..quite rightly so....just ask at the bar and they will try and get you beds....didn't see any broken ones and umbrellas were great! snacks at the bar were good and very convenient...staff were really helpful and polite...we stayed B&B and now I am glad because the breakfast was very good and worth what we paid...pool area was never crowded..there were 9 in our party and we were always together.....I would recommend the barbeque on wed nights...book the day before and it is cheaper..one of the best meals we had overall..so needless to say I would recommend this hotel to my friends and I would not hesitate to stay here again...hope this is helpful!!

Room Tip: rooms on top floor are quieter! superior rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fortynorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    235
    119
    56
    48
See reviews for
191
245
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

From arrival to departure we had a brilliant holiday. Friendly, helpful staff, spacious clean apartment with maid service every day. The big bonus was no British lager louts creating havoc as in a lot of accomodation we have stayed in. Mostly Dutch, German and Portugese clients who know how to have a good time whilst respecting other guests. Only one occasion of excess noise after midnight and the security staff attended within minutes and there were no more problems. Big notice at the pool banning the reservation of sunbeds with towels and staff removed towels if the notice was ignored. As aconsequence, sun beds were available at any time of day. The location of the complex was ideal. Ten minute stroll to the nearest beach and an eight minute taxi ride to the old town at a cost of around 5 euros. Spoilt for choice of places to eat and drink within a five minute stroll, from goumet restaurants to snack bars. Prices to suit every budget, from 5 to 20 euros for a main course. Recomended eating places, Costa Rica, Os Arcos, Castella Do Mar, Invictus and the Cockrell Country Kitchen Restaurants. The only English Eatery we tried was Annabelles, don,t be decieved by the look of the place, the food is first class and Cath the owner can't do enough for her diners, she also makes the most awesome cocktails in town. In the old town The Fishermans Restaurant is a must go to place. The Portugese Seafood Special is to die for. All in all an excellent Holiday. We booked through Jet2.com and with the on line check in, no long ques at the airports.

Room Tip: Garden apartments overlook the pool, Accomodation for five or more is located on the top floor ( fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

spent 11 nights here from the start of august 2 adults and 3 children,,,,like so many reviews before this I was very apprehensive about the place,,,,THANKFULLY we didn't have any probs there.
Yes there were lots of Dutch lads and girls,,,but we found them to be there to enjoy themselves, and have a good holiday, just like ourselves.
So we never once had a problem getting a sunbed by the pool...yeah its not a big pool, but we were waking up around 9am,,,and we wanted to go to the pool on 5 days of the holiday and got beds no problems,,,seemed it was only the English who got up early to put towels down, were as the dutch had been out all night so only came down to the pool after dinner.
some of the beds do need replacing but they are replacing them, there are plenty of umberellas.
Pool was cleaned every day we were there.
1 thing we and other couples found was the bar prices,,,seemed steep and not many people drank there,,they don't allow you to eat or drink your own food near the pool...and plenty of times we saw staff stopping people.
The door to each apartment when closed , close with a bang so in the early hours you do hear people coming an going.
we had a top floor apartment, maids are very good, towels when u need them, leave the dirty ones in the bath, sheets changed every other day.
the location is ok 10 mins stroll down a hill to the beach,,,,sand and shingle,,,watch out the tide comes in quick.
bus to old town right out side,,,"verde" to the old town every half hour on the hour and 1/2 past (roughly) 1.40 euro each. Azul for return 15 past and 45 mins too (roughly)
taxi cost slightly over 5 euros for a similar journey.
hundreds of places within a km or 2 to eat at pretty decent prices.
chicken piri piri meal between 6 and 8 euros....pork steaks similar priced....plenty of tourist set meals if you want to save money.
Loads of happy Hour bars lasting from morning till 6/7pm so a large beer is about 1.5 euro.
a great place right opposite the luna is solcaffe for breakfast,,,,full English was 3.5 euro.
decent supermarket "inter marche" was about 300-400 yrds away,,,,similar prices to England for portugees food.
shop around for trips,,,we did,,asking for prices from a few places and found big differences in there prices,,,if you go to slide an splash or aqualand they all use the attractions own buses but the ticket places charge you different.

Room Tip: top floor is for larger groups 5 or 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for a week in July, it was OK, nothing special but also nothing to complain about. Room was supposed to sleep 4 which would have meant 2 in a pull out bed in the kitchen, luckily there was only 2 of us so it worked out. The English girls on the pool / bar staff were great, reception not so good, I felt that they were more geared up to serve Dutch 20somethings rather than Brit families.

Room Tip: Beware - a "garden" room includes rooms looking out onto the pool which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekfraDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here mid June for two weeks. The rooms are spotless and spacious although I had to let Reception know that our towels were not changed on the 4th day (I think by being tidy and hanging them up daily was misinterpreted as not needing them changed?). We had a second floor Apartment overlooking the garden and it suited us fine as it was lovely and cool due to not receiving any sunshine at all. The beds are hard but we are used to firm mattresses.
We ate a few times at the poolside Restaurant and the food was really lovely and tasty but a tad pricey compared to locally - think it cost around €33 for lunch for 3 of us but it was good.
Unfortunately there was no entertainment at night apart from music on a Wednesday evening when they had their BBQ. Suggestion for the hotel -might be a good idea to organise Water Polo/Tennis/darts etc.or perhaps buy a Table Tennis table for the young teens (esp boys!) and organise mini tournaments during the day to keep them occupied.
I was disappointed in the monitoring of the reservation of sun loungers by those that didn't appear until late afternoon (usual saga), it was only apparent when a certain member of staff was on duty. Also I never saw the sun loungers or the pool area being hosed down at the end of the day, although the bar staff did clean up, pick up everyone's rubbish that was left behind and tidied the whole area.
The free Wifi is hit and miss in Reception but you can pay for wifi in your room for a nominal fee!
Overall the Hotel is perfectly suited to families with older teenagers and the location is good also for those heading to the 'Strip'. I definitely would not have chosen this hotel if our children were much younger due to lack of entertainment for them during the day.
Finally I have to say the Staff on Reception were lovely, (hi Jonathan) and the cleaning staff too - especially the 'wee' happy one that constantly smiled.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happykid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had some doubts following previous reviews, but these were unfounded. Had a great week relaxing here. Meals were a bit repetitive but hotel and facility were ok. Will be going back next year. Great supermarket just around the corner and small bar right outside the hotel, short walk to the strip for more bars and restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Fredh394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

,We read some worrying reports about this hotel after booking but had no problems at all. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, and had all the equipment we needed. We experienced no noise problems and found the staff courteous and attentive. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of The Strip as well as other, more up-market restaurants. Bus stops are located just outside the hotel gates as is a taxi-rank. Overall, a well located and comfortable base for a holiday in the Algarve.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryRWashington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#52 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#59 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Property: Muthu Forte da Oura
Address: Apartado 2241 | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8201-917, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing