We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel in a great location, see view a plus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Chose this hotel as i read nice reviews about location. It did not disappoint! Hotel is quite basic to be a 4 star, but apartments are spacious, and the one we got had sea view which was a plus. Also, a good size and clean balcony made our stay very enjoyable. Hotel is reasonably clean. In our 4 night stay we did notice towels were not changed up to 3rd night, at that point we left a message for the maids on the dirty towels the following day, and all towels were (finally) replaced. Agree with comments about swimming pool, it is a pity water is not warmed up, but for such a cheap price you cant really ask much. Free wifi only in reception area, in this time and age that seems a bit old fashioned, but again, for the price we paid it was really a great deal (22e per night!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31gs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear 31gs1979,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your recent stay with us.
It is wonderful to know you had a great time at Albufeira and in the Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back next year.
Please feel free to contact me personally if you have any questions or requests.
Kind Regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager at Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel doesnt cater for vegeterians not much option other then boiled vegetables and mash patatoes lol we paid £250 for food for 2 people and the food i got wasnt worth the money i paid.

If your older in your 70's + then this hotel is the right place for you. Nothing to eat for middle aged, teenagers and defintily NOTHING for children to eat. i am a muslim so this didnt help my situation either. Your veg option is boiled sprouts, or mixed boiled veg with mushey pataoes or boiled patatoes and thats it!!! 2 salad bowls 1)only onion and tomoatoe 2) leaf and tomatoes. 1 veg soup which was .....! And thats it! if i brought all those items from the supermarket they wouldnt cost more then £5 lol how they charged me £250 for this rubbish only god knows!!!

NONE of the dishes were labled so how are you meant to know whats ..what?On two occosions i was told that the dish i was eating was sutibale for vegeterians and later when i find meat in the dish im told by a diffrent member of staff that it has pork in it?!!?!?! So even after making staff aware this was still happening!!. Not very professional. Breakfast was just as bad. Same issue there too.

Again the food wasnt label. what looks like fried mashrooms have traces of pork in it. My sister was heart broken when she found out what she had been eating had meat in it EVEN after we had asked for staff to point out what was veg and what was meat.

This hotel doesnt cater for people other then meat eaters and any muslims who are thinking about going for breakfast,half borad or all inclusive please please take my sincer advice and dont waste your money in this place. I eneded up paying double the price for food because after 3 days of this rubbish we had to dine outside the hotel in order to eat a proper meal which meat double the cost! They are many other options, chips, veg lasenia. pasta, supuggeti, noddles but all we were eating was boiled veg and what looked like a salad lol

On a good note, the women in charge Mariam & her husband were very very helpful. Clean eating area, good service, but bad food. They need to employee a new cook lol

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Never having travelled to Portugal before we were not sure where to stay but looking at Trip Advisor reviews we choose this for self catering accommodation being not too far from centre but also not far from beach. The Apartment we found spacious and very clean and although had hob and micro wave never used as we ate all meals out apart from Breakfast where fridge and kettle came in handy. Beds were very comfortable and overall we were very happy with the accommodation. Hot water was always piping hot and as my wife use bath rather than shower this was appreciated. I have to state that in parts things were outdated such as the shower above bath but some things were ultra modern such as air conditioning unit ( which we didn't use as October).Also the TV was ancient and remote didn't work but there was BBC 1 and 2 ITV and Sky News to .keep us happy. Maybe it was out of season but basically the complex was quiet except for guests banging doors instead of closing them ( noise does echo throughout).
The situation was fine but beach access to Oura and St Elulia beach is steep hilly so not suitable for less ambulant. We went to the strip in about 10 mins walk on the level. Walking to Old Town took about 30 mins but again steep hill coming back so 5 euro taxi fare is worth it.
Nightlife is sparse ( we are out of season however)even with the strip ( which is tatty with minging toilets--even some of the nicer restaurants seem to share toilet with next door pub!!).If ever came again would stay Old Town which was fab and we travelled in several times.
I would not recommend any places to eat with confidence but acceptable places we found was Wok Inn for Chinese ( say hello to Lily and George Clooney) and Sunset ( close Nov to March). Avoid Strip eateries and also Neto next door to Apartments ( medium steak came well done--spagettie bolognase average--meals overpriced. Only stayed one week and found that would recommend--pool area is nice and spacious and snacks meals nice if don't want to venture out.Free Wi Fi but only available in foyer area--good connection though.

Room Tip: corner apartments are probably less affected by guest noise. Dont retire early as door banging will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DARGEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear DARGEA DURHAM,
Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay at Luna Alvor Bay.
We are very pleased that your stay complied with your expectations.
About the air conditioning being modern, we are doing some improvements in the Hotel and we are very glad that you noticed that.
When coming back to Albufeira, please address me directly – fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com
Best regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager at Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

stayed here with my wife and 11 year old son,for the first 2 days we didnt have a kettle ,and for the entire weeks stay we had no toaster and the shower was a mere trickle.dispite our complaints nothing was done until the last day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry090859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

impressed by the garden view apartment we were allocated. Large, clean, well maintained and comfortable. Short walk to the beach and to the shops. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning watching birds such as the Hoopoe and sipping a glass of wine in the evening. Great value.

Room Tip: Garden view ground floor - lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear kimbayley,
On our team’s and personal behalf, thank you very much for such kind words about your last stay at Luna Forte da Oura.
It is with great pleasure that we see our effort recognized by you.
When coming back to Albufeira, please address me directly – fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com
Best regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager at Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Ideally situated, convenient for beach, shops and nightlife

The rooms were quite tired looking and could do with some love and attention

Staff were pleasant and helpful. The complex lacked entertainment and the bar seem rarely open

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Booked in 28 sept six adults apartments were way to small had to move beds around as reception desk were not very helpful our room was 401 and we asked for pool view not the back of complex also pool area very bad lay out like walled city and drinks very expensive will not be staying again , will book oura pria hotel next door as it is excellent hotel have stayed many times will be back

Room Tip: Ask for front facing apartments as nothing else to see or do in complex ,on less you would like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 152 in Albufeira
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 152 in Albufeira
3,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 152 in Albufeira
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#89 of 152 in Albufeira
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £34 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte da Oura 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Grand Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing