We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half board option not acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week 28th May 2014. Decided on the half board option but the food was awful. Same meat served up in different format at 4 meals. Same vegetables on 6 days and the desserts were re-hashed time after time. The cooked breakfasts were virtually stone cold. The reception and bar area were completely lifeless and there was no entertainment or even a bit of decent piped music. As we were the only people eating on our last night we were told we could choose our own meal. We decided to play safe and choose chicken and chips, the pieces of chicken on our plate looked like the left overs after the legs and breast had been removed, there was scarcely enough meat to make a sandwich for one person and the soup was lukewarm, we left the dining room without having our dessert and the waiter seemed surprised!. Would never stay there again. Its only saving grace is its proximity to "the Strip" where most of the night clubs and bars are.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 105 there was no view and hardly any sun on our balcony also as the room was in a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for a short break,good location for bars,resturants,beach and supermarket.Cant comment on food cos we didnt eat at hotel.Staff all helpfull and freindly.Rooms nice and spacious cleaned daily with fresh towels.Just wouldnt say it was a four star more like a three.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 141,066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food was awful. Cold beans, half cooked sausages and pre-poached eggs sitting in vats of cold water. Any leftovers appeared on the buffet again the next day.

There was only less than ten diners and two waitresses plus a cook. So why not cook on demand instead of the awful buffet?

The Hotel's location was a mile from the strip and four miles from the old town. So be warned, stay away.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front or just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DixieDean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 10 days. The hotel is very clean and we had maid service every day. The rooms are very dark but clean. The staff I found very friendly and helpful. We did not eat in this hotel as we were self catering but not alot of choice for a snack or lunch, there was no entertainment eighter, only one day we had about 12 english lads in and drinking by the pool all day they were so loud threw chairs clothes whatever they could find. One lad threw in two shot GLASSES, and no staff there to say anything to them. It was so dangerous if those glasses broke in pool. Fair play to two holiday residents they told them to take them out so he had to go in with clothes on, they were so drunk they could hardly see them. The sunloungers need to be replaced as alot of them are broken and dirty. The hotel is just a short stroll from the strip which is buzzy and good food served there too. Old town is a 5 to 10 minute taxi ride which costs about 4.50 euro. Its lovely there buzzier,lovely restraunts and good food served in alot of places. Most of the shops have the same thing in them. Shopping center in Guia and went there by taxi cost about 15 euro each way. There is a small shopping center in albfueria not alot in them only a hugh supermarket. Its called modelo. Great location for the beech five minute walk just across the road

Room Tip: Pool rooms get sun in the morning and garden view gets it toeards evening you also have a view of se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all; We don't normally complain, - at all. But i have my limits.. We've stayed in this hotel twice before, both 14 days in may, in 2012 and 2013, and we have had nothing to complaint about.We have loved this place. But our 14 days this time, May 13-27'th, was different. Here are a summary at first for those of you who don't want to read on:

Ants, - lots of them.
Not very helpful staff.
Partly damaged furniture, some should been glued, had to to bash one sleeping couch together just to keep it from falling apart.
Cleaning, not too good.
No changing of linens in 14 days.
New owner and new management from May 23th. I sincerly hope they will get a grip on this.

We got an Apartment at the 4'th floor, it seemed ok at first, but when i tried to tap water in the kitchen, the tap was loose, i could move it 1-2 cm to each side, so i called the housekeeper/janitor to fix it. Then i noticed that the door to the freezer inside the refrigerator was missing so i told him that too. This was the first night. He fixed the tap and should be back regarding the missing door. He didn't turn up within the next 13 days, though. But it wasn't such a big thing after all, so we let that go. But the next day came the ants.. Small, tiny ants, - lots of them in the kitchen area, seems to come through a hole in the wall. We immediately informed the staff at the desk, and they sprayed at first and came back the next day with some bug repellent powder of some sort. It worked for maybe till the next day, then the ants came in the living room and the corridor. Now we kept the spray bottle, just to be sure. Of course we should have demanded a new room then, but we thought that NOW they were gone.. Besides, they should have suggested such a solution imho. (Especially since one of the employees told us later that it wasn't their first complaints regarding ants)... Another two days, no ants. So, the next morning; ants, all over the terrace. We sprayed again, thoroughly!!, Again we informed the staff, no solution, they just asked if we let food lay around, which we did NOT. All food were in the refrigerator, bread was in plastic bag and we swiped the floor e v e r y day! Besides; if one not could have food in the Apartment, then they shouldn't rent out apartments with a kitchen. At this time, we had given up getting some help from the staff. Sprayed everywhere, the ants was gone for another two days, then they came again, this time in the bathroom and some also in the bedroom. Now we just had 3-4 days before leaving so we emptied the spraycan and hoped for the best. But we had to ask for a new can the last night, and then, to our surprise, we noticed that there were new owners and a new management who didn't know about this problem at all!! The hotel had been sold and taken over Friday May 23th. So they were sorry, and we couldnt blame someone who had been 2 or 3 days for not fixing this.We were very glad to return home. We are not coming back. It's a pity since we loved the place the first time, and also the next. Stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 225 and 226 at our first two periods here and they were very nice, - then... Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liv-Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Been to this hotel for last 5yrs always loved it and its location but changed in last year groups of people throwing glasses in pool police been called out to people wrecking rooms very noisy early hours of morning nothing done about it total nightmare

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emmadeery55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Where to start, our apartment was on the ground floor room 119, it was a wheelchair access room the bathroom had no light, the shower was had no tray so the water was going everywhere, the sink and mirror were tilted so you couldn't put anything on it, the bedroom was ok the kitchen area had only 1 light fitting on the wall with no bulb, the other 1 was missing with wires sticking out of the wall,the microwave was missing as was the frying pan, the balcony didn't get any sun the whole time we were there, I went to reception and told of the problems we had with apt and I was told quite rudely that I got what I paid for, in reality I didn't get what I paid for I paid for a 4 star hotel which this hotel is definetly not, we were half board the dinner there was terrible no selection and it was cold, the parasols blew across the pool 3 time hitting people the staff didn't even ask the people that were hit if they were ok, when the maintanaince man came to fix the lights he told us he had no bulbs because the hotel was changing owners, a real life Fawlty Towers I wouldn't ever go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wallacebreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £50 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing