We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here because of the reviews I read on TA. It is exactly as was reviewed. If you want a budget hotel, then this is the one. It is clean, the rooms acceptable and the breakfast much more than I expected. And the price is probably one of the best in the Algarve. Another great thing about the hotel is that you can walk out the door and 15 seconds later enter one of the best little resaturants in the area (Jollies).
The staff is also very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Thanks you all for your reviews they were spot on , in every respect complex small personal,clean and staff friendly . Well located for walking or travelling around. Good eating places locally too.
We used your transfer company yellowfish transfers they were unfaultable, easy to find ,on time , nice cars and 2 lovely drivers .
Thank you at the hotel and everyone who recommended things to make our stay a great experience...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ccarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

What an amazing Hotel. We stayed for 10 days and booked through a tour operator 4 weeks before arrival so it was a cheap holiday for us. Although booked cheaply £337.00 with flights, on request of a quite room and high as possible with best of views we received an email back in 30 mins to say they would do their best. We arrived to find a very clean new car waiting at the airport, a top floor suite of which their are only 2 so we were upgraded and found ourselves on our own as it is on the top with the restuarant and the other room was not occupied for the duration. Very quite, exceptionally clean and great service. Location is great if you have a car. Cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough, suits couples rather than famillies though. Recent reviews say the road side is noisy but we did not find this we had triple glazing but it is not necessary, perhaps maybe in peak season. The only thing we did not like much and it did not affect us was the rooms overlooking the pool as some are overlooked by the restuarant which is occupied from 7.30 to 10.30 and you can see in windows and is a little gloomy around there until you get the sun much later in the evening. The best views are on the road side. We will be returning hopefuly to our old suite.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Was the third time that my wife and I go to the Hotel Velamar. We love the hotel, very clean and breakfast is great and the staff are very friendly. Every year the hotel has something new, which is very good, and also new staff. We love Christina, she always helps us at all. We do not like the new bartender Jose, he is very rude and not polite. Come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed here in early March 2011. The hotel is one of the best values I've had during my trip to Portugal. To be clear, I had high hopes because of the great tripadvisor reviews, but if you don't expect a 4 or 5 star hotel (which it isn't), then you should definitely be pleased.

That being said, I must say the location and city wasn't exactly what I expected. I knew the hotel wasn't directly in Albufeira, but didn't think it was that far away. Also, the town is basically overrun by retired folks in March and there isn't much to do besides walk on the beach during the day. Also, I thought that the area would be smaller and quieter, but there are huge resorts all over the place. This may or may not be what you're looking for, so consider this before you book!

The good:

- Very cheap and good value (during low season at least)!

- Super continental breakfast!

- Free internet.

- Nice and big room with balcony.

- Newly renovated bathroom.

- The beds are hard, but I like that and found them quite comfortable. Not sure why others are complaining about that.

- Many restaurants around.

The bad:

- Location. The hotel is not in Albufeira, but in "Olhos d'Agua". This means that if you don't have a car and want to go to Albufeira, you have no choice but to take a bus or a taxi. On the other hand, this is also clear on their Website, so don't go there and expect to walk to Albufeira.

- Noise. The fan in the bathroom was ridiculously loud and it kept going off many times, even during the night. It woke me up and I had to close the door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

Dear Neron1234, as mentioned in our website and as you said it yourself, our 3-star hotel is located in Olhos de Água, 4 km away from Albufeira, which can be easily reached by regular bus routes (the bust stop is in front of the hotel) or taxi (costing around €7).
The hotel is also a 10 min walk away from several renowned beaches (Maria Luísa, Santa Eulália, Falésia, Olhos de Água) and 2 km away from Oura (better known as "The Strip"), on of the entertainment centers of Albufeira with bars, clubs and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed for one week and could not fault the Velamar at all. We had a first floor room facing west overlooking the pool. The service in this hotel was outstanding, from the super breakfast arrangement, the cleaning and everyday towel changes, to the bar service and prices,everything but the weather, was superb. Congratulations to all who run this place they, they deserve recognition. Well done.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

Dear HullBob, thank you so much for your compliments! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

my 3 night stay at the velamar was based on all the incredible! reviews which placed the hotel at No.1 in Albuferia. I would personally base this only on value for money

The staff are friendly and very helpful, the inside of the hotel is clean throughout. The rooms are spacious and the bedding & bathrooms are clean. The rooms include A/C, small fridge, TV with only a couple of english speaking chanels. In our room there was also a hair dryer in the bathroom. The hotel has a lovely bar area which is open all day and the breakfast (included in price of the hotel) was nice. It is not the fry-up that i am used to (Continental breakfast) but i was able to make cheese and tomato toasties which suited me.

On a negative point (and as previously mentioned in other peoples reviews) the bed in our room was extremely firm and the pillows extremely uncomfortable. I asked for better pillows twice and the ones we got were not any better. This left us having restless nights which was a shame.

There are a number of restaurants next to the hotel. I ate in Catinho and it was a bargain, a set menu cost 11 euros pp for a 3 course meal. It had a lovely local charm and was family run.

The hotel location would suit some but as it was a bit out the way it cost me quite a bit in taxis and buses. I would recommend hiring a car.

One thing i didnt know before i went was that the tourist parts of Albuferia are split into two places - The old town (which is further away, about 7 euros in a taxi) and the Strip, which is more suited to younger folk or stag do's (about 5 euros in a taxi).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmoggy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear thesmoggy86, thank you for your time to write this review. We are glad to read that you were pleased with most of our service and the hotel itself. Regarding the mattresses and the pillows, even though they have been replaced less than a year ago by a standard model used in the hotels on our region, we appreciate your feedback and will look further on this topic in order to provide a more adequate service to our guests. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £28 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing