We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Mothers Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Mothers Day Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

After the poor apartments that we stayed in this was a welcome comfort after the horror! I was very impressed with the managers attitude and helpfulness towards my mother and offered to help her sort the documentation out for her..

Free Wifi was a bonus too..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    383
    95
    12
    12
See reviews for
166
749
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

All the good reviews are totally justified. The hotel is clean and modern, the staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast is very generous and comprehensive. Located a few miles out of Albufeira it offers amazing value. Good size car park. Pool and sun loungers are popular but not over-crowded. The bar has comfy seats and is well stocked. The barman found my wallet and handed it in before I'd realised I'd lost it. Any negatives? Only the beds which are quite hard. There are various restaurants locally; do try the Cantinho do Mar just a few yards from the hotel. Small family run restaurant modestly priced and good quality. Do try their fried prawns in garlic.

The Lagosteira seafood restaurant near the Sheriton Hotel is not worth the cab ride. Too expensive, iffy quality, bored staff.

However, this hotel is thoroughly recommended...terrific value. Go for it. We will return.

Room Tip: Book early - it's very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yachtstarquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Fantastic hotel, after a bad experience in another place, found this one and what a gem of a hotel,
The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly, I felt very secure and safe after what had happened to me,

The manager was great and nothing was too much trouble, he even offer to help me sort out paperwork for the Police from the other hotel,
I would go back here,

Room Tip: Go to the 3 Marias for a meal fantastic food,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

The VELAMAR was superb and excellent value for money -their own website is velamarhotel.net but travel supermarket and trivago give quotes as well. The rooms are clean and spacious and have a tv and fridge. Remember to take a travel kettle. The hotel is kept spotless and the rooms are cleaned each day. Breakfast is served on the top ( third) floor - in a large glass panelled breakfast room - which gives great views of the area. The breakfast is excellent and there is a large choice of cereals/ breads/ meat and cheese and fruit. There are two lifts in the hotel.
The staff were very friendly especially the receptionists. They supply a map of the local area and a bus timetable.- plus directions to the several nearby beaches.
There is a bar on the ground floor -it was pleasant and relaxing and the wicker furniture was comfy. There is a large flat screen tv to catch up with news/ sports.
The bus to Albufeira stops nr the hotel and it only costs 2 euros and takes ten minutes or so. There are lots of good walks to go as well. Try the cliff top walk to Falesia -will take a couple of hours.
Meals...we had dinner 5 nights at The Three Marias rest. - turn right from hotel and walk 100 metres ...3 course tourist meal (many options) incl a beer/ wine was only 11.50 euros per head- very good meals/ very friendly staff and great value.There is a separate menu if you wish it. Be warned it is always busy at night -so best book if passing thru the day. We also tried the O'Duarte Rest in town- mainly fish menu and it was also super. For day time snacks we ate at the Soft Caffe- only 50 metres from hotel- it was great value and the staff were so friendly and told us places to visit in the town/ area.
The beaches were great and not at all busy (was March)
We loved the hotel and the town and would go back. It is not Albufeira - but a quiet town with cafes and restaurants and beaches- there is an Inter Marche supermarket- 300 metres away- towards town- to buy water/milk /fruit / wine etc to make your holiday go better.
Ryanair and Jet 2.com- fly to Faro from Edinburgh and arranging flights and accom. yourself beats the travel agents prices by a country mile.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

My mum and I have just returned from staying at the Velamar and it was great. The hotel is so clean and spacious it really was the perfect girly break we were looking for. The breakfast room has a panoramic view of the resort and the poolside is very relaxing, you would never guess it was on a main road. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring on foot and is also on the main bus route to Lagos, Villamoura, Albufeira Old Town & New Town. The helpfulness and friendly manner of the staff really do make the Velemar stand out from the others, in fact some of the hotels I have stayed in in Britain could stand to learn a thing or two about customer service from the Velamar!

Room Tip: Travel by bus into Albufeira, walking is 45mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

most relaxing holiday ever you will love it staff are friendly and the place is spotless lovely location

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviebDerryCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

It is hard to beat this price for equal quality. A great 3 star hotel, good service, nice breakfast and nice room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugen_Seiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing