We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under new management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“under new management”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just to let all returning guests know (there are lots of you) hotel is under new management.refridgerators taken out of all rooms there is now a daily charge for the apparent LUXURY of a cold drink in your room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    417
    96
    13
    12
See reviews for
183
812
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here with my friends for a week and i'm still impressed.
Rooms were clear and its furniture was very good. The bathroom was outstanding for that money.
We arrived late (after midnight) but the staff were OK with that. They were very kind and helpful during the whole week. If I asked for an extra blanket I got it almost immediately.
The breakfast was self service with a magnificent view to the ocean. Great range of everything: cereals, fruits, cheese, vegetables, bread rolls and croissant, jams, margin, butter, etc... The pool was a little bit cold but it was just the beginning of April.
Supermarket, bars and some restaurants are near to the hotel - just like the beach (roughly 8 mins walk).
It was one of my best week of my life. If I had the chance I'd definitly go back there.
Strongly recommended for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I had a 5 day stay and were very impressed. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. We had a large well furnished room with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast was self service with a lovely range of cereals, cooked food, fruit , ham, cheese, tomatoes and breads. The swimming pool is set in a nice garden and the hotel is near a supermarket, bars, cafes and restaurants. It is only about a mile to the beach. We will definitely go back to the Velamar Hotel. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Best on ground or first floor as it can be a little noisy from 7 am with the restaurant overhead if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here during what must have been the worst weather I have ever experienced in Portugal, wall to wall rain for the 5 days we were there! We still enjoyed ourselves though mainly due to the hotel being a little treasure, staff were very pleasant and helpful and the place was kept so clean, why can't UK hotels be like this on a budget? The sun came out on our last afternoon and we were able to sit round the lovely little pool area and even discovered we had sun on our balcony which overlooked the pool area. Pool quiet at this time of year but I don't think I would like it in the height of season as not much room to spread out but we were just happy to get some rays! Breakfast was good but I do love fresh fruit and the Portuguese cakes and we even had a variety each day. Good job plenty of restaurants in the area as was too wet to walk far at night. Adega de Ze and Cantinha do Mar are old favourites and still as good though we miss Nelson at Cantinho, not quite the same service without him. Would recommend this hotel and will return again. Luckily we didn't come across the rude Brits but I know the feeling!

Room Tip: Room 106 has a lovely sunny balcony from around 1 pm to sundown - if the sun comes out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossie26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

OK, good stuff first I guess.

We were there on business so this hotel is a great base - close to everything you need and SOOOOOOOOO cheap off season.

Breakfast included, croissants and jam of poor quality but many people do not care - I do so was disappointed. The rest of breakfast was good though.

The rooms are large and clean, have a fridge and decent en suite.

There is a pool if you want one, not massive but OK.

The beach is an easy walk - even for an overweight 47 year old:) loads of bars and restaurants too offering everything from traditional Portugese to egg and chips.

A lot of English spoken too which is great if you can't be bothered to try speaking Portugese.

The down side for us was the quantity of rude, inconsiderate, UK Chavs.

Now, if you are the kind of person that snaps your fingers at waiters to get attention, expects them to speak fluent English and understand all our accents from scouse to yorkshire to scottish, shouts the same thing louder and louder when they dont, waves them away dismissively when you have done, has shouted conversations down the corridors of the hotel from 07:00 until 01:30, sits on your balcony drinking Stella from cans with the music on loud for all to hear - YOU WILL FIT RIGHT IN!

If however you are considerate of people's space, are quiet when others are sleeping, are embarrassed when your countrymen / women behave badly, like to experience other cultures and traditions (not Blackpool in the sun everywhere you look) then this is not the hotel or area for you.

As I said, we went off season it may be different in high season but I doubt it.

In short the hotel was great and the staff were great - spot onfor what we wanted (except being worked up by shouting British people every night at 01:30) but unfortunately I would stay somewhere else in the future. Even though it's 'just business' I could not tune out the Chavs wanted to apologise to the staff every 5 minutes and explain that not all British people are like that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewjetjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Gerente geral at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear andrewjetjockey,
On behalf of all staff we thank you very much for your review. kind regards, João Costa-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thew rooms at Velamar are a bit basic, but considering the price you pay & the all inclusive continental breakfast(which I would give 10 out of ten ) overall, it is a good value hotel, close to supermarket & beach as well.

Room Tip: Tip is to get a room facing the back of the hotel towards the pool not front facing ie the road wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy51328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Gerente geral at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Freddy51328,
Thank you very much for your review. We are the new management company that took over the hotel starting this month. We love challanges and the Velamar will be much better in a near future. Kind regards, João Costa-Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Velamar Hotel was recommended to us by a neighbour and I am glad that they did.
What a absolute gem of a hotel.
Accommodation is kept spotless.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Just had a very relaxing week at the hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casual121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing