We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a fab stay at the Velamar. Absolutely nothing to complain about from us! As said before rooms great, spacious, clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast, coffee hot and tasty, no fridge-gate, we had a fridge in our room for no charge. We had a room at the back of the hotel, away from the road, and not overlooking the pool which we preferred as it was more private. Hotel was amazing value for the price we paid, would absolutely recommend and return. The only slight negative was (free) Internet a bit slow, but hey ho we are spoilt at home with super fast broadband! Staff friendly and professional. Thank you for looking after us!

Room Tip: We preferred room at the back away from pool and road as was quiet and private. Full sun until midda...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirazWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear shirazWirral,
Thank you very much for your post. We look forward to have you back with us. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
P.S.- We are waiting the broadband to be installed soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
There are newer reviews for Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had 6 days here at the end of March before the new Management took over.
Have just returned after 5 days with the new Management.

I will review the negatives first. On arrival there was no one on the check in desk. We had to wait about 5 minutes before anyone arrived. When the member of staff arrived check in was incredibly slow .
In our room the pillows had no pillowcases on, there was no bathmat or bidet towels.
When asking at reception for pillow cases we were informed that they dont do them now (I presume they meant the display ones that matched the bed cover) !! Eventually someone went away to iron some (they were warm when they eventually arrived)
The bath nor the balcony were cleaned at all. However the rest of the room and linen were spotless.
There is now no snack bar at all - just a bare room with tables and chairs. Perhaps there is a plan for this space,

Why do you have to give room number for breakfast. The hotel is all B&B.


Now for the positives (and there are lots)
There was still a fridge in the room which we did not pay any extra for.
There are new sunbeds and parasols (although only 16 out when we were there )
The biggest changes are in the breakfast room. Which I think are for the better with a few exceptions.
Nice to have sparkling wine (if you fancy one)
The atmosphere is still excellent and relaxing , but now with gentle music,
Although there is not as much fresh fruit as there was it was lovely to have the fresh sliced oranges or kiwi/melon on alternate days. There is now salad as well as the ham cheese tomatoes etc. Also sparkling water.
The addition of hot food is a bonus (it was piping hot when we were there)
Beans and scrambled eggs everyday with one addition. Cheesy tomatoes sausages or even bacon one day!!! ( a little ketchup would be nice)
I didnt think the bread selection was as good as before but there was ample choice,
The toaster is still as slow as it always was (but whats the rush if you are on holiday) Two would help though.
It was lovely to see two of the old breakfast staff still there and they are still as efficient as ever.

It was also great that one of the old bar staff remains.
All the new staff were very friendly too.

It is a time of change but I still really enjoyed my recent stay and look forward to returning in the future to see the refurbishments,
.

Room Tip: I like the roadside rooms as they get afternoon sun. Road noise is not an issue as windows are dou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear darleyDerby_England,
We are pleased that you've enjoyed and we look forward to have you back at the Velamar. Kind Regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

the best hotel in Portugal, amazing staff, marcelo is just the best, breakfast overlooking the sea, rooms lovely and clean, cant say anything more than amazing about this hotel and staff are a credit too it, we have never been disappointed in the 3 times we have stayed in this hotel, and are looking forward to booking again in the future, when our parents get back from their second holiday there x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear beverley69,
Thank you very much for your trust, please let us know when are you coming again, we'd like to give you a treat.. Kind regards, Joao Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a week here from the 16 April didn't arrival till very late so on seeing are room we were abit disappointed to find no balcony or fridge as we had been told upon booking all rooms had balconies and it does advertise this on Booking.com - Each guestroom is elegantly furnished and has a luxury bathroom. A balcony with views over the tranquil fishing village or the Atlantic Ocean is featured in the bright, air-conditioned rooms.
The next morning we spoke to the receptionist and was told the hotel was full so couldn't move us to another room and if we wanted a fridge it was 4 euros a day not very helpful or apologetic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrightie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear wrightie45,
We apologize for the wrong information given upon booking, did you make your reservation with? Standard rooms have no balcony, are slightly smaller and have no fridge in the room. All other Suprior rooms have bot amenities. It is a pitty we couldn't change you of room. Great to know you've enjoyed you holiday overall. kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from our visit to the hotel and can comfortably say it is a fantastic example of 3 star establishment.

The room was clean, comfortable and had plenty of storage, the en suite was in great condition and the room had all the amenities required, including a fridge.

The rest of the hotel was in good condition and the staff were extremely polite and helpful in every encounter we had with them.

Location is good; within a gentle stroll of the hotel is a supermarket, a selection of restaurants and some truly stunning beaches. Walking into Albufeira took around 35 minutes.

The breakfast choice was a real highlight, the sausages, scrambled eggs and beans were a staple for us on most mornings but also available were fresh fruit, juices, rolls, cake, meats, cheese and cereals. All of this is eaten on the top floor roof terrace which has some distant views of the ocean and is a lovely way to start the day.

If there could be one gripe about the hotel, it would be that the pool area is on the small side, having said that, we spent most of our time at the beaches so it wasn't a huge issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_Shluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Team_Shluke,
We do appreciatte your kind review reflecting with precision the standards and servisse of the hotel Velamar. Thanks very much and kind regards from sunny Algarve. Joao Costa-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location on main bus route for tourists that don't drive. Easy walk to beach locations approx 20 minutes. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly . Towels changed regularly . Rooms have small fridge and safety deposit box. Breakfast continental and plentiful. Restaurants nearby are good value also.

Room Tip: I preferred road view balcony with view towards sea. Plenty afternoon sun and traffic noise is a min...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear AlexJoan,
Thank you very much for your honest review. Kind regards, Joao Costa-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We like (liked) the Velamar so much we have been regular visitors for years. We were last there in October with another holiday booked for May 2014. But it all went wrong. We booked our room for May 2014 almost 12 months ago but, just a few days ago, were told the booking agency we used had gone into administration; another £140 was required to secure our room. Astonished, we contacted the Velamar to ask if they would be kind enough to honour the original price. They declined. At the same time, we discovered there had been a change of management and wonderful staff, who we regarded as friends, such as Marcelo and Adriano, had left. We were deeply disappointed. We accept the old prices were incredible and a rise was inevitable but surely increases should not hit people retrospectively? After a week of deliberations we decided not to pay the extra and to try somewhere new. I wish the new management the best of luck but why change something that is not broken? In our eyes, the Velamar of old was perfect. The higher charges mean it now blends into the price range of many other hotels in the Algarve. We have ended up getting a fantastic deal at a four star hotel nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Ramsfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Ramsfan33,
Thank you very much for your review but did I read correctly, your travel agency went bust and we are guilty for it ? Great that you've found a fantastic deal nearby, thanks for returning to the Algarve and we wish you a great holiday. Should you wish to visit us at the Velamar please do. Kind regards, Joao Costa-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £40 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing