We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velamar Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Was a bit worried about visiting the Velamar after reading some reviews about the change in management, but I can honestly say I needn't have worried about anything.

We had a spacious family room which was spotless and cleaned daily. We had a fridge and air conditioning at no extra charge. The staff at the hotel were polite and friendly and there was plenty of variety at breakfast time. There was a small pool which looked lovely, but we didn't use it during our stay.

We loved our break, would definitely stay again and would recommend the Velamar to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the road side of the hotel and only got sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exward69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello exward69. Thank you for visiting Hotel Velamar. We hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Luciano Hagge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    380
    94
    12
    12
See reviews for
164
744
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The courteous ,friendly,helpful smiling staff are not only great ambassadors for this hotel but also the country of Portugal.This was our second trip to this hotel and the new management have made great improvements ,especially in the breakfast bar .You should not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a superior room , if you want a balcony and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGOH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello MARGOH63. Thanks again for coming to the hotel Velamar.
Thanks for your words of encouragement. This is very important to us.
Best regards,

Luciano Hagge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Returned to the Velamar after visiting in August last year. Was a bit concerned when we read some of the reviews but needn't have worried as there wasn't much difference in the hotel from last year. OK some of the staff have gone but the existing and new staff were still very helpful. Hotel is still spotlessly clean. Changes include hot breakfast which was only continental last year. Not a large choice on the hot stuff but enough. Coffee machine now in place. I wasn't too keen on the coffee from it, it seemed rather sweet (I don't take sugar) other than that everything else was fine. Cava is now served at breakfast, I didn't try it and don't think anyone did while we were there. The former snack bar has been removed and a pool table put in - not sure how that will go. You used to be able to get to the pool from the car park side but this has been blocked with entry through the hotel. All in all an enjoyable holiday, we probably will return but not in May as it wasn't warm enough.

Room Tip: Pool view in my opinion are best. Road side doesn't get sun, although not noisy due to double d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59stepstoheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello 59stepstoheaven, Thank you for another visit. We are attentive to your comments. The pool gate was closed as it had strange people who went to the hotel pool. This is a security measure for our guests.
Best regards,

Luciano Hagge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here over Christmas 2013. The service and staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. As I said it is an ideal base to travel from and very suitable if you don't want an all singing all dancing vacation. Although breakfast was served, lunch or evening dinner was not available which meant going out to dine. There are 4 or 5 eateries nearby with 400 yards. A regular bus service operates from outside the hotel to the town of Albufeira or Faro.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 254Eric73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello 254Eric73, thank you for your visit. We are attentive to your comments. This is very important for us to improve every day.
Best regards,

Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

3rd time at the Velamar and had another lovely stay. Yes the management have changed but the hotel hasn't had that many changes and what has changed isn't drastic. The rooms are spacious and spotless. The public areas are spotless. The bar is relaxing and cosy. Some staff have changed but still get the friendly and informative advice that's needed. The area is quite but there's really nice restaurants and bars at hand. Albufeira isn't to far away if that's your scene. A bus, taxi which reception will order for you or you can walk there. Won't be our last visit! Thanks to the management and staff for all your help, hope to see yous sometime soon.

Room Tip: If you like sun all day a main road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWTW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
DWTW12 Hello, thanks for another visit to Velamar hotel. Thanks for your words. We hope to be with you a fourth time, a fifth time ...
Best regards,

Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My 1st review was back in 2010 and this was our 2nd choice hotel, (now it is our 1st). Having read previous reviews of changes and of staff that we knew had left; I still went with an open mind, as for us it is a great little hotel. We arrived early and were met by a new receptionist Suze (spelling?) We were early one room was ready the other not. She let us check-in to the one room and leave our cases there. So, still courteous and helpful staff. We went off to find somewhere to eat, our usual haunt Soft Caffe was closed. On our return the other room was ready, both rooms were on the 1st/ground floor. Bathroom = bath with glass shower screen, flow of water good and hot, bidet, toilet, sink with large mirror and to the side a hair dryer, white towels. Fitted wardrobe, (suggest bring extra hangers) safe without lock (purchase at reception) and three draws. Large bed (hard), to me OK. Fridge under side table, on top was a flat screen TV. Net curtains, with thick ones behind, sliding double patio doors on to balcony facing road, plastic table and chairs outside. With double patio doors noise cut right down, even my wife who is a light sleeper found it OK.
Breakfast is still 0730-1030, wasn’t sure about the change to hot food but I think they have got it just right with the amount on offer. Yes, the fruit has been cut back, but still fresh, probably to compensate for the hot food. Personally for me, I did not like the uma bica (expresso) coffee from the machine, but the others did enjoy their coffee with milk, also it does hot chocolate (did not try). Still a selection of bread, yes the muffins have been cut up into slices, no problem for me as one slice is very rich (chocolate one). Simone and Ricardo are still there and greeted us warmly, also some new staff who carried out their duties well.
It would appear that some of the staff that left were asked to stay but decided to leave. Lucciano who use to work nights has now been promoted and works the front during the day. Jose, who use to work the bar greeted my wife very warmly (not jealous lol) has also been promoted. It was really nice to see them both and have a good chat.
We also met another Jose, Jose Oliver who was working the bar for the very first time, he was quite busy and I think there may have been couple of little mistakes. We had one, wrong drink but it was no big deal, sorted out very quickly. Actually, Jose was very charming and knowledgeable, and advised on some places to visit outside the area. Also I'd like to mention Anna and Adrian at reception for their courteous and help manner.
There were changes going on, nothing disruptive, although they closed the gap that leads to the swimming pool from the car park while we were there.
A Billiard table, a couple of machines (more to be added) were put in the room between reception and the pool, also a snack bar to be put in, and I believe snacks will be served from the bar later on.
On a personal note, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as did the couple who came with us, their first time. We hope to return in December and see what further changes have been made.

Room Tip: Room 001 you can hear noise from bar kitchenette, but closes at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack_me_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Jack. Thanks for visiting us again.
We are attentive to your comments.
This is very important to us.
See you in December.

Regards

Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent four days here in early April 2014 on a business trip and were very pleased with the level of comfort provided at very reasonable rates. Lovely clean room and en suite facilities. Lovely restaurant with awesome views providing a tasty and ample continental breakfast.
Going to stay here again in very late June/ early July 2014 because of the previous good experience here. My wife and I are fairly picky when it comes to standards of hotels that we have stayed in, but rest assured that you get good service from great staff at a great rate when staying here. No adverse comments to make.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Front Office Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello David. Thanks for visiting us. Thank you also for your comment. Your review is very important to us.
Best regards,

Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing