We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a family..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“perfect for a family..”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

A small hotel and very personal ,friendly service, Everyone wanted to accomodate you.
The rooms were spacey even with a cot in it and had a fridge which helps.
The pool was just the right size never over busy.
We were located between Olhos da Aqua and Albufeira and was walkable or a a short bus or taxi ride if you prefered , besch was approx15 min walk,
Olhos is small and quaint wheras Albufeira is more a established resosrt.
We went to the resorts in the day but with a baby it was great we also had a good selection of varied restaurants locally , regional cuisine and Indian which was excellent Tiffanys it was called..
We booked our flights , hotel and transfer as components and found we gopt a better deal, The hotel was a good price and we dropped on with the fights as we booked early with Jet2 ,,
I was nervous about the transfer most as witha baby you don't want to be stranded, Was a great company yellowfishtransfers.com met us with our name on a board , big spacey car and most important a babyseat.............We payed on line and they gave us a bottle of wine as a welcome was a nice touch .The driver was friendly and gave us lots of info during our half hour trip the price i remember was good too, Beware very cheap transfers are usually a schuttle and you go all over before you get to your hotel you pay individually too so by the time you pay for all the party its the same as a private but not as swift an easy..
We feel that velamar is one of those hotels that every few years you will go back to it, we loved it..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyjdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    432
    99
    13
    12
See reviews for
193
837
33
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We have just returned from 11 nights in this hotel and we where over the moon with it . iWe would highly recommend this hotel.the beds were massive room spotless continental breakfast was very impressive.The staff where more than helpfull, easy walking distance to everything, the indian resturand next door is well worth a visit,as is the killo gram just past the super market, for a beer you must visit the calfiornia and the top ten, where you will be treated like one of the family.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for 1 week at the end of september.Its a small very friendly run hotel.The room was nice and clean and cleaned every day by a lovely maid.The breakfast was the usual for continental fruit cereal hams cheese yogarts but satisfactory.The hotel had no entertainment but that was stated before we booked so ok with that.Albuferia is only 1/2hr walk away where you get all the hustle and bustle.The beach is a 10min walk when you find the short cut.Theres a lovely cafe just across the road for your lunch time snack and a great Indian called Tiffanys 2mins round the corner.Many places to eat in Albuferia especially an all you can eat chinese buffet which we visited twice and great value for money at 9.45 euros.The advert stated satelite tv with many channels which we thought great as we like to chill and watch tv while getting ready to go out but all we got was sky news and mtv .All in all it was a nice hotel and a great break but would stay in Albuferia if we went again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had a fantastic week in this hotel. Good staff, very clean and nice looking place. The food was ok, but we quickly got comfortable at a restaurant just outside called Jollies. Very friendly, welcoming staff and really delicious food, we tried as much as we could from the menu during our stay. Avoid the 'Soft Cafe' (also close by), lousy food in comparison.

A very enjoyable trip in all, in a pleasant area but close enough to the night life and everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyremarkable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed in the Velamar for one week with my wife. The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly. Location was a bit far from Albufiera (45mins walk to the strip or 1hr to the old town) Taxis ranged from 5 to 7euro and the bus was 3.80 for two caught near the hotel. Hotel was very clean and the beds and towels were changed daily. Our only disapointment was that there was no fridge in the room but we learnt once we were home we could of payed for this. The village of Ohlos de Agua were the hotel is situated has a good range of resturants, bars and shops available and the beach is lovely that takes around 20mins to walk there. There is a bar on the front street to the right of the hotel that is very good value for money (beer 1.50euro a pint) also do cheap toasties etc. Next door to the bar is an Indian resturant called Tiffanys and I suggest you try this it is excellent. To the left of the hotel theres a snack bar called Sof t cafe - best food in the area! All in all if you would like a quiet location with good food etc this is the place for you and if you do like to let your hair down on a night (as we did a couple of nights) then the strip and the old town are only a 5 to 10 mins taxi ride away

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My freind and I stayed at the Velamar for 4 nights in september. We were on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was very clean, bedding and towels changed every day. The breakfast was better than ive had in most hotels. The main thing we were most impressed with was the friendliness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always happy to help. The only downside to the hotel is the location. It is a taxi ride away to the strip (which is awfull) and about 7 euros in a taxi to the old town where we spent most nights. The portugese people are lovely, so welcoming. The restaurants in the old square are fab, reasonable prices too. Its well woth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

What a cracker. great room, excellent friendly and helpful staff. huge beds lovely rooms air-con, balcony and a lovely little pool with kids pool. nice bar and a rooftop restaurant with panoramic views. a bit of a walk to the beach, but you cant have everything. great affordable indian restaurant next door called tiffanys, very nice. booked this hotel on travelrepublic and it was £85.00 for 3 nights bed & breakfast for 2 adults and a 2 year old on thew 6th sept. bargain. will go again. room has t.v. and a fridge too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing