We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Velamar = Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

After hours of searching for the right hotel i finally came across this little gem. I booked my holiday direct through teletext holidays a week before we travelled. A last minute holiday at a very affordable price. I checked out the reviews on here and with such postive feedback gladfully choose this hotel.
The hotel really is everything and more and just what we were after. Hotel is perfect for a short break or even a weeks stay. We stayed here for 5 days and with it been the dead season were quite suprised with how busy this hotel was. I wasnt expecting to lay around a pool for the whole duration as i wasnt certain on the weather but to our suprise we had 5 fantastic days of clear sunshine and highs of 20 degrees C. Although we did choose the beach as the pool area was dead and the outdoor pool was very cold. But i can imagine this area heaving in the summer and the pool to be quite warm.

Right to the Hotel review itself:

Hotel is very clean and modern throughout. Downstairs you will find a very well stocked bar and pool room which also doubles as a conference room. This was quite annoying at the time as we were wanting to play pool but the room was booked out for a conference for 2 days, never the less we didnt come away to play pool. There is a nice sitting area with a large flat screen TV and access to the pool next to the bar. The staff are more than welcoming and friendly and will do anything for you. The guy at reception even put the heating on in our room before we got in on a night which was a nice touch as we had mentioned the rooms were cold. Also there are Takeaway menus at reception so if you want to grab a bite to eat he will order you food in which us and many other guests did.
The rooms are basic but very clean and to make this hotel even better the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels left which some 5 star hotels i have stayed in did not do so this was very nice. Bathrooms are modern and very clean with shower and bath facilities. Rooms also have a mini fridge and Sat Tv (some english channels). Beds were very uncomfy, had read reviews that the beds were lovely to sleep in but i bed to differ on this. Maybe just some rooms have newer mattresses than others.

Breakfast is of a standard you would find in a 4 star hotel with plenty of choice - Fresh fruit, cereals, Meats & cheeses and toasts and muffins lots to choose and all very very nice. Coffee but no tea which was a suprise but didnt bother me. This hotel doesnt come under the 'get what you pay for' category as i think what you pay you get alot more which is hard to find these days in budget hotels.

Hotel is located just down from the main strip. We did walk one day to the strip but it is a little far if you dont like walking, on the other hand the hotel is very close to the bus stop and the taxi's are only around 4 Euros for a single trip. Next door to the hotel is 2 restaurants didnt try these but i do know that one of them is were you have your evening meal if you choose the half board basis with this hotel. There is also a really nice snack bar which serves food till late and also beer. You can also watch the english football from this place aswell which was really handy.

All in all this hotel is very nice and really should be a 4 star place. Would highly recommend and will be returning im sure in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Dear NickandSophie,

Thank you for such an overwhelming review. We are trully over the moon with your words. We will be eagerly awaiting for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Cant say anything other than first class in all departments
in this hotel should be a 4star because it is first class service all the way.
We love the healthy breakfasts excellant choices and fresh.
Food have to come hear and see for yourself we are very fussy but come back every month see you soon
the basso family

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Dear basso family, thank you for the nice comments! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Also excellent service by the employees. They are very attentive in the lobby and breakfast. Bathroom was luxurious with marble and glass shower doors. AC/heat included remote control. Breakfast was beyond continental - includes deli meats and cheese. Pool is small and too cold during in the winter, but I was still happy it was open and clean. Parking included. Hotel Velamar is located next a bar, a great restaurant (7 euro daily meals). It's away from town and stores, but it is quiet. Also worth to visit Tangerine Restaurant a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabu12386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear mabu12386, thank you for your review. We'll be happy to have you again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We wanted a short break in an area we had not previously visited and selected the hotel based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The room and well appointed en suite facilities were a good size and comfortable. The two sets of sliding doors to the balcony were superb in totally eliminating the noise of main road traffic. The double bed was huge although slightly on the firm side. The only thing missing was the facility to make a cup of tea!
The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choice of fresh and tinned fruits, cereals etc. and thankfully nothing cooked on display. It was served on a bright third floor restaurant with views all round and made a really great start to the day. The bar area was a friendly place in which to spend time. The hotel staff were all exceedingly friendly and very helpful at all times. Plenty of advice, leaflets, maps etc were made available for places to visit.
The weather and the time of year allowed us to get out walking and using public transport to reach other towns for exploration. The hotel sits on the main road and has public bus stops very close by and a good sized supermarket and some other shops about 5-7 minutes walk away. There is a snack bar and two restaurants also very close by, two of which we tried and both gave very good value for money. There is a beautiful and interesting cliff side walk (great for photos) which is quite demanding in terms of having to go up and down steps or through loose sand. It can be reached in about 10 minutes from the hotel. The local beach can be reached in about 20 minutes following the road.
For what we wanted to do (ie explore and visit the wider area) this was a very good choice of hotel. For those who, in summer, want to be close to a beach and to night life this may not be the hotel for them. It would be ideal for those who want to be a little bit out of the hot spots of Albufeira but still within easy reach. Bus to Albufeira was about 15 minutes, walking took about an hour and a half.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joekoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Dear joekoliver, thank you for your comments and information. We're sure that other travellers will find them useful as well. We'll be happy to have another visit from you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Just going to repeat what everyone else has said. Such good value for 3* hotel. Linen & towels changed daily. Lovely big bed. Take your own kettle and t-bags. Fridge in room for your milk. Continental breakfast with plenty to eat. So much fresh fruit - I was eating my five a day just for breakfast!!! Walked into Albuferia each day - bout an hour - but easy walking. Buses from outside the door. 2.05 euro each, each way so was economical and good for us. Not so much open this time of year but well worth a long weekend break. Special thanks to Christina for being so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Dear Coffdrop60, we want to make sure our guests start off their day in the best way possible, and for us that means a great breakfast with a lovely view over the sea. Thank you for your comments, specially Cristina who was very happy to hear about them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and it was very nice. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definltey come back again.
Sean & Bernadette

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanMcGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Hi Sean & Bernadette. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we're just wondering when you will be paying us another visit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel is located out of the busy tourist area, however it is only a short taxi ride into the hustle and bustle. The beach is just a short walk away and there are some lovely cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel was very nice, the staff were friendly and the place was always clean. The bar was open most of the day and provided a nice relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are very spacious and the bed was massive, the only problem was the bed was too hard for us personally. Our room had a lovely balcony that was soundproofed as it was on the side next to the road. The breakfast room had a lovely panoramic view of the town and if you are up early enough you can watch the sunrise whilst eating your cornflakes!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith_and_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Hi Keith_and_Kelly! We are delighted to hear you had such a good experience with us! Be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,003 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £29 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing