We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie Week”
Review of Solar de Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar de Sao Joao
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great place to stay if you want to be near the action but far away not to get disturbed sleep. Clean and bright but not 5 star. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good if you don't want to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: Higher units have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbyjo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

The rooms were roomy, clean, with a lovely view onto two nice pools. Close to The Strip and not too far to the beach. At this time of the season however, the hotel catered largely for large groups of dutch teens - and there were few families present. Our toddlers had to battle for space in the children's pool with unnoticing teenagers putting out cigarettes round the pool side. Their noisy return in the early hours wasn't a problem for us but was for others. A perfectly adequate hotel, but not for kids in peak season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clag_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was by far the worst place we have ever stayed. The apartment was dirty and mouldy. We had no hot water for the first 3 days, apparently loose wire. There is no air conditioning s when you come in from 90 degree heat you are still sweating. The beds are so hard we had to buy blow up beds, We were one of 2 english couples there the rest was Dutch students who don't know how to sleep. The noise of music, shouting and furniture moving kept you awake all night. If you want to sit round pool, forget it. There are not enough beds to go round. The daytime receptionist was not too bad but the evening one was the most arrogant, rudest woman you will encounter. Dictator's have nothing on her. Couldn't wait to get back home. That's the moaning. The good part of the holiday was the beaches and the strip. Try to go to Castella beach, very small and not busy. The strip has something for everyone. Go to Wild & Co and listen to the band, fantastic.

We go to Portugal every year and would definately go back but not to this dump of a 'complex'

Room Tip: change hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenrussella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

on arrival room wasnt ready until 3.30pm had no changing facilities beware each person must pay 50.00 euro when booking in only get one key per room . Not allowed to play any music around the pool. The apartments are a death trap a concrete15 step staircase in the middle of the room leading to upstairs bedroom .No aircon dont risk using your hairdyer unless you want an electric shock and the shoer well wot can we say a kiddies water pistol was more powerful than that. To top it all the arrogant reception staff are about as helpful as a chocolate fireguard. Portugal itself is fab but next time will stay somehere decent .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunderlandCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

the staff were brilliant ,the pool very good but the room we stayed in was dark in need of total refurbishment as there had been leaks in the past which has bubbled the textured wall covering, despite the review saying it had a refurb a few years ago who ever said that must have been on Dr Whos Tardis for 30 years, but if you just use it to sleep in its o.k ,sorry if you are on your way there soon if you can ask for upper floor and pool view .
The other problem loads of teenagers coming in early morning a bit noisey.

Room Tip: upper floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iantrue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here as a couple and booked a one bedroomed studio. We requested a balcony, however we managed to get the only room without one!!
The room was big and although the decor left a lot to be desired it could of been a lot worse! We had a few issues with our room, the fridge didn't work even the freezer couldn't chill water, the shower was rubbish we asked if we could change rooms but the staff blamed the water pressure. I spoke to some other guests who all said their showers were good. My girlfriend had sunburn so didn't mind too much!!!! :)
The staff we came across were all really nice and helpful which was lovely as we had read some bad reviews.
WE DIDN'T SEE A SINGLE COCKROACH!!!
At night you could hear the strip it wasn't too loud but yob like people staying in the hotel were very loud!! Perfect for groups of people who want to go out every night and sleep all day but for families we would not recommend.
We recommend a trip to 'Old Town' much nicer than the bustling strip, the train goes there every 20 minutes from the strip.
There is a beautiful restaurant just off the strip called 'The Sizzling stone' the steaks are amazing and its nice and quiet the other side of the strip!!
The beach was small and over populated, but if you walked around the rocks to the right there is a beautiful little bay and if you waited until the tide came in, the bay will be pretty much yours lovely.

Room Tip: Don't request anything speific because you're more likely not to get it that way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chen0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel is stuck in the 70's. Everything needs bringing into the 21st century. No A/C , no fans in rooms. If you need a fan they 'rent' one out to you for €3 a day . The bathrooms , the tiling ,the decor all look very dated.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
487 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ourahotel Aparthotel
Ourahotel Aparthotel
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Sao Joao

Address: Rua do Solar 774, Albufeira 8200-290, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £16 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Sao Joao 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming and inviting apartment complex disposes of a fantastic tropical garden and although located at the heart of the tourist centre and only a few minutes from the divine bay of Praia da Oura and the Strip, it is an island of peace and offers a unique experience of tranquility. Excellent shops, restaurants and bars are in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solar de Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Sao Joao Hotel Albufeira
Solar De Sao Joao Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing