We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, close to strip and clean”
Review of Solar de Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solar de Sao Joao
Ranked #101 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money, close to strip and clean”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Read all other reviews about this place, so when going l was very skeptical and expected broken things and all that stuff you see and read. We stayed 6 nights and we were 4 girls

Check in was WORST part of trip, informed we had to pay 100euros deposit EACH. This was not mentioned in ANY of the paper work or anything.
so imagine your just informed spot on, first day on a hot day, from an early flight that were gonna take 100euros from ALL of you. and you recieve it end of your trip :(

Room was great, clean and tidy. NOT what we expected from the pictures and reviews. Toilet smelt bad when you opened it. Lovely BIG balcony which connects, so thats your room to the left and living room to the right.
View of the pool which is nice and big.

VERY close to the strip but far enough you cant hear ANY noise or confusion that comes with it.

FAULTS:
Bad wireless only available in pool area.
No air conditioning in rooms (shocking as its such a high temp country)
Reception have bad attaitude but l maybe put that down to language barrier and many young people who may have some attitude so they are already not too friendly.

But towards end of the stay they got a liking to us because they could see we dont make noise or misbehave, we respect other guests.

Room Tip: Room with pool view its nice when you wake up in the morining, Gives you that holiday feeling ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuguTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    95
    54
    27
    34
See reviews for
61
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

we were there fron 5th july till 19th july.we found the staff and management team to be more than friendly and always polite and very helpful,nothing was to much trouble.The resort was very clean and the rooms were cleaned and beds made on a daily basis.the appartements are comfortable and the beds nice to sleep in.The pool area is great like an oasis of tranquility, with the convenience of a great poolside cafe/bar. it is only a few minutes walk away from the strip and nightlife but this cannot be heard at night in the resort, so peaceful for the middnight home comers.ten mins away from the beach or a short turistic train ride(not really a train but made to look like one) away from alberfeira.All in all a great place to be based in very central for all needs to make a great holiday. we will be going again next year and already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: one bed appatrements on ground floor have great outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is on the lower budget side of hotels, but it is value for money. Nice pool, decent poolside bar & good size rooms. On the down side, there are no ball games allowed in the pool & no music either. Also there is a mighty racket made by nesting seagulls, when we were there in late June, on the property next door, early in the morning. Having said that, if you are there for an adults break, to enjoy the strip, it is ideal.

Room Tip: Keep away from the right side of the hotel, because of the seagulls noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

got moved to this hotel after a holiday from hell in Praia da Rocha . staff where so welcoming and friendly , close to strip and beach but not too close , we bit noisy at nite due to young party animals going out when us middle aged are coming home , but they are on holiday so all enjoy
great place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for the last 3 nights off our holiday from hell we were originally staying in the plaza real in para Da Rocha until we got broken into and robbed then to top it off the hotel manager kicked us out on the streets because we asked for the complaint book we were treated like dirt there but fortunately we got somewhere else sorted for us to stay we didn't read any reviews or even know what this hotel was going to be like until we arrived here and to say the least it was 10 times more friendly and helpful staff, we told them of our situation and were very nice to us very helpful of to tell us our way about. The hotel itself is a bit old and dated but was defiantly better customer service than the plaza real and also the pool area was clean and tidy unlike the plaza real pool also would recommend this hotel as it is a 5 minute walk away from the main strip and a sort taxi journey to the old town which is also a very good location overall i give this place a 10 out of 10 down to the customer service and the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here from 22/06/13 - 29/06/13 - The apartments are a bit out of date but they are clean. They are in a great location just of the strip. Templo bar round teh corner is ace. Would definately come back to these apartments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

You always get what you pay for. Bear this in mind when you book here. If you expect 5 star then this isn't the place for you. If you want to be near to shops/restaurants and the Strip this place is great. For children it is great. There is a kiddies pool and an adult pool, a Pool bar that serves snacks/drinks until 7pm and the staff are really friendly. We had a really spacious studio (124) overlooking the pool and cleaners came in every day.Couldn't and won't fault it in anyway. This place is value for money. Like I say, if you want 5 star, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#130 of 154 in Albufeira
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Sao Joao

Property: Solar de Sao Joao
Address: Rua do Solar 774, Albufeira 8200-290, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Sao Joao 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming and inviting apartment complex disposes of a fantastic tropical garden and although located at the heart of the tourist centre and only a few minutes from the divine bay of Praia da Oura and the Strip, it is an island of peace and offers a unique experience of tranquility. Excellent shops, restaurants and bars are in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solar de Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Sao Joao Hotel Albufeira
Solar De Sao Joao Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing