We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, peaceful and clean”
Review of Solar de Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar de Sao Joao
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Myself and my friend stayed for a week in October. The staff couldn't be more helpful, Sandra on reception was a sweetheart and the friendliest receptionist I've ever encountered travelling.
The rooms were spotless and the cleaning staff called every day. Towels were also changed on a daily basis. Pool area was fabulous and was also very clean. I couldn't believe it for the price we paid I wasn't expecting it to be so nice. It is self catering so the rooms are basic but have everything any other self catering accommodation I've stayed in have. It is also a 5 minute walk from the main strip in new town Albufeira.
Will definitely be returning !!!!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are beautiful and the ground floor ones are very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrakissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I've not been on this kind of holiday before in a long time, I went away with family including my brothers and their partners, an 8 month old baby and also my grandparents, in total there were 10 of us and we all enjoyed our stay in the solar apartments. I couldn't believe the price of my apartment specifically which was on 2 levels, had 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies, one of which was a sun terrace which was massive and had the most incredible views! I'd have expected to pay much more! It was a perfect location to visit the strip for young people if you want a night out, also good for links to journey to the Old Town, again great for access to the nearby beaches of which there's multiple choices and finally, theres 3/4 great supermarkets nearby! I will definitely be returning as the whether in October actually was amazing!!!
Great week away!

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Farmer284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and hubby stayed here for 8 nights in sept, room 110, it was a good apartment on the ground floor with a pool view,although the trees and bushes hid us from anyone we could still see them.We didn't get much sun until the afternoon,but that didn't bother us.All the kitchen utensils/equipment you need for a self catering hols,combi oven was great,as long as you didn't plug in too many appliances at once,lol.Staff were lovely,fresh towels as often as you wanted,just put used ones on bathroom floor and fresh ones would be there,good shower,and the shutters on windows made you feel safe.As for the area,brill,was very quiet at night,even though it was very close to the strip,a few bars /eateries close by too,The Cockerel being one,but you need to book as is busy every night,the food is superb there,also the Mexican at bottom of road,turn right out of cul de sac and its at the junction.Well worth the visit.Little supermarket at bottom of road,tho find an Ali,s,they are like aldis and very cheap,good stock as well.

Room Tip: Room 110 is central,overlooking pool,will book there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggy1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I went to the Solar de Sao Joao for a lads weekend at the end of September.
I have been on many occasions but this time wanted to be really close to the strip. The location is about 4 minutes away and brings you out halfway up the strip perfect! The hotel staff were really nice and I had prepaid for a hotel room for four but was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment straight away...nice touch. Hotel was nice, clean and spacious but as other reviews have said it is dated. This is not important for a lads/ girls holiday so the hotel ticked all the boxes hope you enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've been going to the Algarve with my family for over 20 years and this is by far the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. First impressions count and the dragon of a woman on reception should have been a warning to us. She was a most unpleasant unsmiling person. Our room was in darkness due to shutters on the windows, the first time we've encountered this, they had to be pulled up with a rope to allow us to open the door. The apartment looked out onto the road at the rear of the hotel and the wooden frame around the patio door was damaged, it looked as though there had been an attempted break-in at some time. The bathroom was disgusting. There were cigarette burns on the toilet seat, tiles missing around the bath area, the door was swollen and had holes in it at the bottom. There was no air con and sleeping was uncomfortable. Bed linen was stained. There was no hair dryer even though this is advertised, you had to request one from reception and it transpired that there was only one available. It went missing during our stay but the receptionist couldn't care less. The pool area has very few loungers and most of these were broken. The best bit was checking out.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is clean and so is pool and bar area and toilet areas some rooms are dated, there is no air con but you can hire fans for a fee no hairdyers if there is no toaster or kettle in your room they will get you one.All the staff are lovely management, reception, bar, room maids gardeners,handyman.The food is nice although the lady in bar also cooks and cleans,so you can wait to be served.This is not her fault as you would not get the service she provides from a bar that has three people working in it, remember they work long hours.The ladies who clean the rooms are lovely also and I feel sorry for them as there is no need for people to leave hotel rooms in a mess, you wouldn't do it in your own homes.There is a wee walk to the beach about 25 mins.This hotel is mainly suited for families or people who want relaxing holiday not for people who are on holiday to cause noise and disrupt other holiday makers who are in bed before 1am.The hotel will not allow noise after midnight as it is not fair on other guests.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are good as it gets noisy with cars at night if you face onto the road at side of buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Read all other reviews about this place, so when going l was very skeptical and expected broken things and all that stuff you see and read. We stayed 6 nights and we were 4 girls

Check in was WORST part of trip, informed we had to pay 100euros deposit EACH. This was not mentioned in ANY of the paper work or anything.
so imagine your just informed spot on, first day on a hot day, from an early flight that were gonna take 100euros from ALL of you. and you recieve it end of your trip :(

Room was great, clean and tidy. NOT what we expected from the pictures and reviews. Toilet smelt bad when you opened it. Lovely BIG balcony which connects, so thats your room to the left and living room to the right.
View of the pool which is nice and big.

VERY close to the strip but far enough you cant hear ANY noise or confusion that comes with it.

FAULTS:
Bad wireless only available in pool area.
No air conditioning in rooms (shocking as its such a high temp country)
Reception have bad attaitude but l maybe put that down to language barrier and many young people who may have some attitude so they are already not too friendly.

But towards end of the stay they got a liking to us because they could see we dont make noise or misbehave, we respect other guests.

Room Tip: Room with pool view its nice when you wake up in the morining, Gives you that holiday feeling ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuguTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
487 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ourahotel Aparthotel
Ourahotel Aparthotel
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Sao Joao

Address: Rua do Solar 774, Albufeira 8200-290, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £15 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Sao Joao 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming and inviting apartment complex disposes of a fantastic tropical garden and although located at the heart of the tourist centre and only a few minutes from the divine bay of Praia da Oura and the Strip, it is an island of peace and offers a unique experience of tranquility. Excellent shops, restaurants and bars are in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solar de Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Sao Joao Hotel Albufeira
Solar De Sao Joao Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing