We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quiet resort, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean quiet resort, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties”
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Lovely quiet clean resort. Music was sometimes annoyingly loud at the bar/pool area. One really annoying aspect (and not the resorts fault) was the barking dogs till all hours of the morning.
Having said that would stay at this resort again, staff were friendly and helpful.
The resort is a good distance from the Old Town, taxis are roughly about 10 euros there and back. Some excellent cafes plenty of choice, something to suit most folk.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Sunbeds had no mats, very uncomfortable. Villa verandas could have had sunbeds
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shabbytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    55
    26
    16
    1
See reviews for
83
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2007

September 2007
We spent 10nts at Ponta Grande, it was a fantastic break, so relaxing everything is so chilled. It was approx 4-5 Euros in a taxi to the Old Town and approx 6-7 Euros to the New Town. You have the best of both worlds within minutes drive. the Old Town has some lovely restaurants positioned around the square where you can watch the street entertainment. The new town is the place to go if you want a busy night in the Strip, although there are some busy bars in the Old Town also. Recommend Bravos in Old Town (downstairs is best) There are lots of cheaper restaurants in the streets leading off from the square which are worth a visit. Ponta Grande is a small piece of paradise, a beautiful place to relax & unwind with everything you need from your holiday to hand. The beach is a 10 minute walk away which was beautiful, you can get a taxi to the Old Town for the larger beach & water sports. Or turn right from the driveway and walk approx 15 minutes to a small cove. The pool was lovely and has a children's pool, plenty of sunloungers & umbrellas. Only grumble is they could do with new sunloungers. The staff are wonderful, happy & smiling, very attentive & friendly. Service is excellent & very prompt. we ate a number of times at PG and were very happy. There is a good choice for breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, english breakfast, continental, fruit platters etc. The villa itself is very spacious with a huge balcony, we had a fantastic pool view (35) spotlessly clean and plenty of wardrobe space, very comfortable beds & sofas. There is a family bathroom & shower room, large well equipped kitchen. The decor is nice & bright which put a smile on our face every morning. I would highly recommend Ponta Grande to anyone and shall be returning in the near future. Booked via alpharooms.com

  • Liked — The cleanliness, relaxation, staff, size of accommodation
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable sun loungers
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Megan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed for 6 days at the Ponta Grande Resort. The villa we stayed in was no.2, it had 2 bedrooms and was really spacious but although it was spotlessly clean it did need updating! No major problems just small things like mouldy grout in the bathroom and holes in the curtains, but as we only paid £220 for the villa I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The resort was quite quiet but I wouldn't like to visit it peak season as I think with all those villas it could get quite noisy, I don't think they had invented sound deadening insulation when these villas were built so when the man/woman next door coughs or sneezes you know about it!! We didn't go in the pool at the resort as there is a fantastic beach just 2 mins drive away (10 mins walk if you are feeling energetic!!) the blue water and the orange cliffs make a wonderful setting. I would definately recommend that you rent a car if you stay here as it is slightly off the beaten track but because of this it is really quiet and peaceful so it does make a great base if you want to get away from the noise of the main town. There is a supermarket in the resort which I have to say I didn't visit as we found a big supermaret about 20 mins drive from the villa at Algarve Shopping centre. There aren't any provisions at all at the villa, we arrived at about 10pm in the evening to a villa with absoloutely no basic essentials. Maybe we should have been better prepared but I did expect at least a loaf of bread or even washing up liquid to be provided as a welcome pack, I own a holiday cottage in England and I know what standards I have to meet!! So it doesn't quite meet with its 4 star rating but I would definately go back as it is an excellent base for exploring the algarve area!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dazeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Read a lot of reviews before booking and it seemed the placed had a good rating, but sorry to say I was wrong. The apartment we had was number 41 a two bedroomed villa, which was showing it's age the settee was torn at one end, but basically the room was okay because like most holiday's we are never in it. After that I'm afraid it went down hill, the pools both the children's and adults had tiles missing and showing signs of dirt, I only ever noticed them once clean the pool's. The surrounding area's were littered with cigarette butts and old lolly sticks and bits of wrappers, the bed's were never moved and no attempt was made to clean them up, plus the small matter of the water being absolutely freezing even in the small children's pool. To the eating area, the table clothes in the outside eating were stained and never changed in the entire time we were there, we even stopped in one night and tried the restaurant bad mistake, I ordered fish and chips seeing as we were close to sea and marina and expected some fresh fish, I was astonished when they brought it out and the fish had clearly come out of a packet, they charged me 9.95 euro's for that suffice to say we never ate in there again. The on site mini market was very poorly stocked and over priced and many people like us went to the one about five minutes down the road.
The staff were pleasant and helpful but four star? No way a huge disappointment and will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Reaper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Ponta Grande Resort and although the resort is very nice I wouldn’t say it was 4 Star Luxury.
We stayed is villa number 26 at the resort, which was privately owned, so we were expecting a bit more for our £750 per week than we actually got. The villa was no different from those which you could rent direct from Ponta Grande.
The Villa had 2 bedrooms, but one of the bedrooms over looks the lounge, so it’s not very private and if you have children and you put them to bed, they can here everything that is going on below.
On arrival you will be asked to pay 30 euros deposit for the remote control for the air-con. Also you can hire a safe which cost 10 euros a week, plus 20 euros deposit. If you hire a car you will need a key to get through the electric gates, this will cost you another 20 euros deposit.
The resort has a good size swimming pool and lots of sun beds, so no need to worry about getting a bed round the pool, if you like to stay in bed a bit longer on your holiday.
The resort has it own snack bar and which we found good, we had a few snacks during the day and we also had the Sunday carvery twice, which was good value for money. The bar puts on entertainment most evenings, but when we were there not many people stayed around after the happy hour. We came back a couple of times around 10pm and there was no one in the bar.
The bars and restaurants around the resort are a bit scattered about, you don’t get two together, you have to walk about 5 -10 minutes to find one and if you don’t fancy that one you will have another 5 -10 minutes walk to the next one.
San Raphael is very quite in the evening most people travel into the Old town or go to the “Strip”, which is a bit like Blackpool. We have two children, so the “strip” was good for them to shop. There are also some good restaurants and bars and they are quite a bit cheaper than those near the Punta Grande and those in the old town, even with the extra cost of a taxi.
Most of the adverts for Ponta Grande say you don’t need a car, if you do stay at Ponta Grande, we would recommend that you do hire a car. Everyone wants a taxi between 7pm-9pm, we were lucky and the longest we waited for a taxi was half an hour; some people we met had waited up to 2 hours. The taxis do not run from Ponta Grande, they have to come from the old town, the reception will ring a taxi for you, it will cost you 1 euro. The taxi will cost between 6/7euros to the old town and between 8/9 euros to the “strip” depending on which taxi you get. The black and green ones are cheaper for some reason. After the first week we had, had enough and hired a car for the second week.
A small English run supermarket is on the complex but there is a much better one with a bakery two minutes walk down the hill. If you have a car I would recommend you use it to stock up on your water at the local “Lidal” on the main road to Alberfuia. E.g. the water at the local supermarket was 95 cents for 5 litres; the same bottle at Lidal was 38 cents.
The beach nearest the Ponta Grande is about a 10-15 minute walk, down hill (takes longer coming back). It is only small, so does was very busy. There is a small restaurant / snack bar on the beach, but it is expensive. The beach was better at “Gale”, which is about 5 minutes drive from Ponta Grande and the beach is also good in Alberfuia.
One great local restaurant was the Margem Sul, turn left of the resort and it is the first restaurant you come to on the left. Another one to try is the Dom Denis, turn right out of the resort and it is about a 10 minute walk along the road.
Overall we had a good holiday, we had not been to the Algarve for 12 years but I don’t think that we will go back very soon.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We loved the Ponta Grande Resort. Great if you want somewhere nice & quiet but with the hustle and bustle close enough if you want it.
The villas are fantastic. So spacious and clean. Lovely pool with beds always available whatever time of day you turn up. It does say you are not to use inflatables in the pool but people were (us included) and no-one complained.
Didn't rate the snack bar much and didn't get round to eating in the resaurant so can't really comment.
Lots of restaurants, bars and shops in Albufiera Old Town. Kids loved all the street entertainers.
The resort runs a shuttle service into the old town that leaves at 5pm. Getting a taxi can be a bit of a mare! I think they also have pick-ups for certain water parks but if you don't want to keep to a strict time schedule, would recommend hiring a car.
One great local resaurant was the Margem Sul. Had a fab Chateau Briande there - mmm I can still taste it!
Overall we'd give this a 10/10 rating and would definitely consider staying there again. 30/08/07

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank smalljayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

The resort comprises 2 bed terraced villas, all south facing and all with private terraces. Some are privately owned but managed by the resort (as ours was), others seemed to be owned by the resort. The villa was spacious and airy and equipped to an adequate rather than luxurious standard. Kitchen was equipped with a halogen hob, electric oven and microwave and ours had a washing machine too. The aircon was very effective (n.b the resort required a E50 deposit for the aircon remote and the electric gate key).The resort pool is adequate for the number of guests and didn't seem crowded, even in the peak season. The restaurant and bar are franchised out. The initial impression is a bit off-putting with lots of notices on the terms and conditions for happy hour and threats of charging you for anything you eat or drink you haven't bought there. We ate there once and it was nothing to write home about - there are much better restaurants within a few minutes walk in any direction. A small english run supermarket is on the complex but there is a much bigger one with a bakery two minutes walk down the hill. We only saw the entertainment in the bar on two nights and it was of the taped accompaniment variety. The complex is generally clean and well cared for with everything you might need to hand, including internet access for E1 per minute. Nearby, there is a small beach within walking distance complete with restaurant but there are huge sandy beaches within 5 minutes drive. Try to fit in the clifftop walk heading west - you will see hidden coves, fantastic rock formations and possibly the best beach restaurant in the world. Not suitable for little ones though. Within 10 minutes drive is the Algarve Shopping Centre (lots of designer gear and an excellent hypermarket) at Guia and Zoomarine. We paid £700 for a week in August at Ponte Grande and thought this excellent value compared to many other rentals we have had in the Algarve. Overall verdict - highly recommended for couples and families.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Nothing- all very satisfactory
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Winchester_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#59 of 154 in Albufeira
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.7 mi away
Joinal Villas Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Property: Ponta Grande Resort
Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing