We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb holiday - would recommend”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Accommodation was a town house (number 12) overlooking the pool. Spacious downstairs accommodation, with large balcony. Bedrooms are adequate but not a lot of space for luggage and beds were a tad on the hard side. Bathrooms are clean, but would benefit from some modernisation. Pool area is lovely, very clean with pool attendant cleaning pool on a regular basis, there were always loungers available but would benefit from more parasols. We used pool bar for drinks and lunch only and was fine although would have benefitted from more lunch menu options eg. Toasties, baguettes. Resort is 40 minute walk to Albuferia which is a pleasant walk down the hill and past the marina. If you wish to take a taxi into Albuferia this costs around 7 Euros (beware taxi drivers drive very fast and tailgate the car in front!). Sao Rafael Beach is a 10 minute walk downhill from the resort. This is one of the nicest beaches I have ever visited, it is very clean with and the water is great for paddling and swimming alike, it is shallow for quite a way out. Sunbeds and parasols are for hire at 12 Euros for 2 sunbeds. Beach Bar/restaurant served meals as well as snacks. We had salads, burgers and hot dogs which were very good but the service at lunchtime was a bit slow.

Overall a great little resort!

Room Tip: Villa number 12 overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holibags54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    55
    26
    16
    1
See reviews for
83
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Best holiday resort we ever stayed in. We have a family of 4 children and we have gone back to stay in the Ponta Grande Resort for the last 4 years. The children do not want to go anywhere else. Accommodation is fantastic, location ideal for those who do not want to be in the middle of lively night scene but close enough to get a taxi. Great beach on your door step and wonderful local restaurants in particular we love the "Sunshine Restaurant" which is a five minute walk from the resort. Good food and very friendly. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 186621Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Hi all, i just thought that i would leave my opinions on Ponta Grande. I went with my wife and 3 year old for our second visit there in May. In a nut shell, We love it! Its biggest plus for us is the quiet location and the safety aspect for our child. We found that it felt like a lovely little village, where you could mix easily with the neighbours, or have complete privacy if that is your preffered option. We stayed in number 26 on both occasions and it was more than we could have expected. Very spacious, well kitted out, clean and we felt at home there very quickly indeed.
The resort is also very well kept. The main pool is a very adequate size although my little one rarely let me out of the kids pool. There is a restaraunt in the resort which is perfect for lunch or grabbing a pizza, but we did not think much of the evening meals. There are other local restaraunts where you will find fantastic meals, especially if you are a fan of sea food. The prices are very much on a par with back home.
It is a short walk down to the beach and it is one of the most fantastic beaches i have ever seen. The only small criticism i would have is my little one was getting annoyed at the fact she could not make a sand castle as the sand just does not stick together for some reason, so we resorted to digging holes instead.
The local mini-markets are adequately stocked but quite expensive. It is well worth your while taking the short taxi ride into town and sourcing your supplies. There is a Lidl just on the outskirts but i would highly recommend the Modelo just a little further on. Lots of fresh food and huge selection.
I would not recommend Ponta Grande for anyone seeking the party scene as you won't find that here but if its a quiet relaxing holiday with your partner or family its hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eiresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This place is a mixed bag but mostly I would say it does not deliver. Very understaffed and no real customer service. It is quite remote from the main action in Old Town or the strip so u definetly need transport. God forbid you would ask them to to book u a taxi...if i hear 'none avaialble' one more time!!! Does not give that area a good chnace at tourism as no-one wants to feel stranded with no way of getiing in to the main restuarants or bars. They did ot even have any bus timetables but just walk down to VS hotel (100 meters) and they couldnt be nicer. I would give this place a wide berth...talked to a few other tourists there and they expressed similar frustrations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cangs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We are just back from a visit to Sao Rafael in Albuferia, this is our second and for some of us third time to Albuferia, but our first time to Sao Rafael area. Sao Rafael is bout 7 mins in a taxi from the Strip and bout 5 mins in a taxi from the Old Town - thats if you can get a taxi!! When requesting that the receptionist in the Ponta Grande resort call us a taxi we found said receptionist (Ricardo) would stare blankly at us, pick up the phone and call someone, (for all we know it could've been his mate) put down the phone and say "No taxis available - its complicated!" This went on over a few days until we realised he was just a very unhelpful man who couldn't be bothered helping us. He wouldn't even give us a timetable for the local bus into Albuferia, and again this was "complicated". Thankfully we managed to get a taxi ordered for us no bother from the staff in The City bar Sao Rafael, where after a phonecall a taxi would arrive in less than 5 mins. If you are soon to visit this area, be advised to stay away from the Ponta Grande, especially if Ricardo, a tall balding man with glasses is on the desk.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lyn2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

i stayed here in dec 09 with my fiance.we loved the place and got on well with staff. we loved it so much we came back and had our wedding reception there on 20 may.it was thier 1st wedding and they handled it really well. i would recommend it to other brides who want a wedding that is not too formal and a bit more relaxed. a lot of our guests stayed here during the week of the wedding and had a wonderful time

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdohertydonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

For a 4 star resort i would expected more!
The villas were cleaned only once a week, the kitchen was not properly equipped, the bathrooms need to be redesigned (or at least cleaned properly) and the furniture was really cheap (for a 4 star resort). No cable tv!!!
There was some heavy wind during my stay and the tree next to my villa was always beating on the ceiling, so we couldn't sleep very well. Despite our efforts to solve the problem the staff didn't cared.
The resort is far from Albufeira so you'd better have a car to move around. Also, the beach is not that near from the resort.
There was one good thing, though... free wi-fi access at the reception lobby which allowed me to work on my laptop.
I've been in 3 star properties with better service!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#59 of 154 in Albufeira
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.7 mi away
Joinal Villas Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Property: Ponta Grande Resort
Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing