We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #75 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at a nearby hotel recently for four nights, but had drinks every afternoon at this resort. The bar staff were very accommodating and friendly. A glass of house wine was only 2 euros. We weren't sure what it would taste like at that price, but it was really good. We had a few snacks, including a lovely tuna salad, which was really tasty, served with some delicious black olives. We would certainly recommend at least dropping in for a drink and a snack as the complex is really pleasant, with friendly bar staff. There was a great football bar and restaurant there too. Definitely, we will call in here again when we book up our next holiday in the Algarve.

Room Tip: We only visited the bar area, but would highly recommend. The bar staff were so friendly and the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boldon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    54
    26
    16
    1
See reviews for
82
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This has an Excellent bar and also a very excellent restaurant, it is well worth a visit and revisits.
Bar staff are very friendly and helpful, likewise the restaurant staff. It has entertainment on some nights when the restaurant ends its shift.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I got this resort from RCI.com.

The resort is located in a quiet neighborhood, very close to beach ( 10 min walk, less than 5 min drive).

The room is spacious, 2 stories, more like townhouse in US. Two bedrooms are upstairs, family room and kitchen are downstairs. It can easily accommodate 4 people (2 separate beds in 2 rooms). In kitchen, there is almost everything for daily use: refrig, electric stove/oven, microwave, toast, kettle, and all the utensils, plates, teapot, etc. It is very useful and handy if you want to prepare your own food.

It is quiet because it is located far away from major city. It is also bad because it is so far away from major city ( 2 hrs from Lisbon, less than 1 hr from Faro). Without a car, it is almost impossible to reach there. Even you eventually reach there without a car, you will for sure be stuck inside the resort.

Even though there is a swimming pool, it is not heated. When the temperature outside is cold, it is impossible to use it. Other amenities like tennis court, mini golf, and chess if you like.

For those who do not speak Portuguese, a GPS is a must. Without it, it could be very hard to navigate the local area. Not many locals speak English, it is almost impossible to get directions from them. It can easily cause big family dispute during driving without a GPS.

The room is not cleaned daily, probably every other day. So keep it clean by yourselves is very important.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our rental unit was huge--actually larger than we needed. They unfortunately did not include basic needs. The website said each kitchen would include a coffee maker and blender. Neither were provided nor available at request. The advertised hair dryer was not in the unit, but we had to get one from the front desk and pay a 20 euro deposit. They did not even provide a simple roll of paper towels in the kitchen nor a box of tissues in the bathroom! There was an in-unit safe, but they charged 2.5 euro per day to use it!
No units offered an option for queen nor king master beds. Twin beds were very hard with tiny, flat pillows.
We ate dinner in their restaurant twice, and were very pleased with the food quality and service.
All the staff were very nice and helpful. The resort management, however, needs to bring the unit basics and amenities up to par. This was a very big negative for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene02_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for three nights between Xmas and New Year and the villa was fine. Obviously it was very quiet as there were few tourists around and many restaurants were shut for the holiday. The resort itself is well situated for the beautiful beaches nearby. I can imagine it is so much nicer in season, but we enjoyed our short stay. It would have been even better if we'd had fitted sheets and a duvet on the bed and some basic things like tea and sugar to welcome us.

Room Tip: Get a villa near the entrance and looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Apartment was spacious - 2 bedrooms, good sized lounge, large patio, even 2 fridges. The kitchen was missing a few basics - no wine glasses (we used tumblers!), no coffee maker (got one soon after arrival), only one sharp knife etc.
However, for the first week of our fortnight, the bar/restaurant was closed, which was disappointing. Once it opened, it proved to be a popular focal point at very reasonable prices.
There's no shortage of bars and restaurants within walking distance. During the daytime, if you want to do more than sit by the pool or on the beach, then a car is a must - there are plenty of places to explore, driving and parking is easy, but it's easy to get lost (an up-to-date map needed!).

Room Tip: Rooms 40 - 45 seem to be in an optimum position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auguri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I hate to be negative, but it really needs to be said like it is. This could be a very nice resort. However ....... although the villas are spacious and nicely designed, the kitchen, show/bathrooms are worse for wear. The sofas worn and very uncomfortable with no cushions to make them less so. There were only single beds in both of the bedrooms. There were no loungers on the patio and in the first unit we had been allocated there was not even a proper patio set - just 4 child size flimsy, uncomfortable plastic chairs. Also in that unit the TV didn't work, also the coat hangers totalled 5 each for the 2 wardrobes. After requesting a different unit, without any fuss (the reception staff and the cleaning staff were excellent) we were allocated one nearer to the pool and reception. However, this one didn't have a kettle, only wine glasses (no tumblers at all) and even fewer hangers - so I transferred the very basic kettle (no switch), one tumbler and some hangers from the original unit! We were dragging around like displaced refugees with our belongings on a trolley for the first couple of hours. The restaurant was closed (told it was just for a week due to electricity problem) and nowhere to get a drink. Then to add insult to injury, there wasn't even any sort of welcome pack so that we could at least make ourselves a drink. Since there isn't an on-site shop, this entailed walking downhill to the small mini-market (excellent fresh bread daily). The pool was freezing - only saw three use it, very briefly, during the whole week. Although we had seen the hot tub being used. on the day we went to use it, that too was not working. So Ponta Grande management, get your act sorted out - this must have once been a lovely resort and probably not too long ago. At the moment it gives an impression of being run down for some sort of take-over. You are being very unfair to your wonderful staff who must have days when they dread going into work (everyone we listened to were full of complaints and either been moved or were waiting to be moved) although they always remain helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#57 of 154 in Albufeira
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Joinal Villas Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
2.8 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Property: Ponta Grande Resort
Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing