We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponta Grande Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Topazio(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sol e Mar(Albufeira)
US$111
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$182
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bayside Salgados(Albufeira)
US$45
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$319
US$193
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clube Albufeira Resort(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
69
62
27
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
62
27
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssao rafaelold townalbufeira marinagames roomfully equipped kitchenair hockeyminute walkcar hirelarge terracelovely beachbread rollsbed villacrazy golfmain townshop on sitegale beachtennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I want to start by saying the staff were great, really helpful and nice people. I can't fault them really but unfortunately the resort wasn't the best it could be.

On the plus sides the units are large and I like the layout of them, big windows at the front and nice sized external area to sit in and eat in. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were all a decent size and the overall feel of the place was quite positive. The pool was ok and it has a little hot tub next to it and a kids pool. The bar wasn't to my taste, quite tacky and overly touristy with lots of footy shirts hanging up but the prices were decent and as I said the staff were nice.

Overall the place needs a bit of a spruce up, there were barely any sockets in the rooms, the doors felt like they were made of paper and sounded like it and the showers were poor. The kitchen had few bits and pieces but could have done with things like a chopping board and decent knives. I was a bit gutted we didn't have a BBQ outside and the chairs and tables out there were total garbage to put it bluntly. I didn't think it was dirty though, it was always kept clean but in some cases I'm pretty sure the cleaners must use the scourer a bit too much as the shiny coating seemed to have been removed from all of the taps!

This was, in fairness, quite a basic place and I perhaps expected too much but the location was fine as we had a rental car and wasn't far from the beach and I found the overall experience to be a good one. I would say to anyone who hasn't been to Portugal that the prices are a bit of a joke for certain things, mainly if you hire a car beware of the hidden costs and insurances you might not need.

Room Tip: It looked like some of the units were being refurbished, try to get a new one
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Review
The units given on this RCI exchange were very poor and basic. Large kitchen was good , apartment size was large but the bathrooms were both awful and not very clean- toilet seat was badly damaged and could not have been cleaned properly, there was thick black mould across all grout and mastic between tiles, shower curtain was dirty. The patio furniture consisted of a round rusty table, 4 multicoloured hard plastic chairs and a broken umbrella. I complained on arrival at reception, next day to customer services and on day 3 in writing on the comments form before any action was taken. Thus is definitely not a 4* resort. They offered us one of their 'best apartments ' however on inspection the bathrooms were equally dirty with just a few more homely comforts such as rugs and cushions, we declined and asked them to change toilet seats, clean mould and provide a 2nd key for our guests which they declined on the first day.- all of which they did. There was a 50cent charge for a call for a taxi which are needed if you do not walk too far. Buses not good ( taxi to Old Town between €6-8)
The cleaning of the apartments (2 times) was also poor, they did not wipe over either the coffee tables or patio. tables and did not sweep floors or patio.
Around the pool plenty of sun beds but very few parasols, hot tub available. The pleasant bar area has been turned into a Sport Bar complete with football shirts and scarfs !
The staff are friendly but sone not very helpful and often fave inaccurate information so do not rely on thus. I emailed twice before the visit but did not receive a reply
This is a pretty resort which could be good but behind the nice exterior there are a lot of improvements to be made before I would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjl4163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at a nearby hotel recently for four nights, but had drinks every afternoon at this resort. The bar staff were very accommodating and friendly. A glass of house wine was only 2 euros. We weren't sure what it would taste like at that price, but it was really good. We had a few snacks, including a lovely tuna salad, which was really tasty, served with some delicious black olives. We would certainly recommend at least dropping in for a drink and a snack as the complex is really pleasant, with friendly bar staff. There was a great football bar and restaurant there too. Definitely, we will call in here again when we book up our next holiday in the Algarve.

Room Tip: We only visited the bar area, but would highly recommend. The bar staff were so friendly and the location is nice and relaxed
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Boldon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This has an Excellent bar and also a very excellent restaurant, it is well worth a visit and revisits.
Bar staff are very friendly and helpful, likewise the restaurant staff. It has entertainment on some nights when the restaurant ends its shift.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ColinMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I got this resort from RCI.com.

The resort is located in a quiet neighborhood, very close to beach ( 10 min walk, less than 5 min drive).

The room is spacious, 2 stories, more like townhouse in US. Two bedrooms are upstairs, family room and kitchen are downstairs. It can easily accommodate 4 people (2 separate beds in 2 rooms). In kitchen, there is almost everything for daily use: refrig, electric stove/oven, microwave, toast, kettle, and all the utensils, plates, teapot, etc. It is very useful and handy if you want to prepare your own food.

It is quiet because it is located far away from major city. It is also bad because it is so far away from major city ( 2 hrs from Lisbon, less than 1 hr from Faro). Without a car, it is almost impossible to reach there. Even you eventually reach there without a car, you will for sure be stuck inside the resort.

Even though there is a swimming pool, it is not heated. When the temperature outside is cold, it is impossible to use it. Other amenities like tennis court, mini golf, and chess if you like.

For those who do not speak Portuguese, a GPS is a must. Without it, it could be very hard to navigate the local area. Not many locals speak English, it is almost impossible to get directions from them. It can easily cause big family dispute during driving without a GPS.

The room is not cleaned daily, probably every other day. So keep it clean by yourselves is very important.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews