We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #80 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Two bedroom terraced villa, reasonably spacious. Good sized pool but tired furniture and when busy not enough sun loungers. Tiles falling off pool sides. Annoying music played from 9am. Bar covered in football scarves & football on TV all the time. Restaraunt very average but inexpensive. Pool good for kids, lovely beaches & good restaraunts nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexsnapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I cannot recommend this resort at all. While the location is near a fantastic quiet beach there isn't very much else around. You need to take a taxi to the town. The grounds themselves are nice enough but trying to get any service, even as basic as food or drink is like an episode of fawlty towers. The pool is freezing even in the height of Summer. The staff have a dreadful attitude & not at all helpful. No facilities for children apart from a run down games room with a few arcade games. Would not pay to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrburges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were traveling as a family of 4 and stayed at Ponta Grande resort this month. We were a bit anxious after reading the negative reviews. When we checked in, I was really honest and told the front desk lady about my concerns from the reviews. I asked to see the rooms before I paid. She was very understanding and showed me two rooms. We picked the first one (apt 16) and it was very clean and comfortable. From the second room she showed us, I could see what the other reviews were saying about old bathrooms, rust in kitchen, etc. The hotel was convenient to Praia Sao Rafael, one of the best and quietest beaches in my opinion. It was also short driving distance to everything in Albufeira. We rented a car, a must if you're staying at this hotel. We never tried the pool nor the restaurant so can't say much about those facilities. The hotel staff were very helpful with everything that we asked.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We used points from our Club La Costa to stay at what can only be described at best as 1 star accomodation. The Villa (no 18) was dated and furnished with what looked like furniture rescued from the tip. Included the 1970's TV.

We complained about the condition and was told that we could not be moved as the resort was full but spent most of the time by the pool with hardly anybody else there!

The toilet seats in both bathrooms were worn, broken and dirty, the downstairs shower cubicle was rusty, broken and dirty, with many tiles cracked. The upstairs bathroom was slightly improved by the fact that the shower was over a narrow bath. Although the grubby shower curtain did not retain the water spray from the shower leaving a flooded bathroom at least twice a day after each occupant (4 of us) took a shower.

The food in the restaurant was poor quality and the service was slow.

The pool was clean as were the surrounding areas, although the beds and parasols have seen better days with many beds broken. No pool towels were provided until we complained and then the fun started.

We were visited by Mr Richard Brice (the English complaints man). We asked to be moved to a CLC resort. He asked us if we would like to visit to have a look around although he couldnt move us there as they were full. We had no hangers and he bought us a bag of mixed hangers from his house as his wife had been clearing out. He could take us to the supermarket but when he saw the V ERY rusty fridge he thought we probably wouldnt want to put any food in there. The list goes on and on. Oh and compensation offered, 4 free beer tokens. A pint of beer each. And to add insult to injury, when we tried to exchange them for 4 pts, we were told, buy 1 pt get one free only.

Most of the electrical sockets in the Villa did not work, the appliances were in terrible condition and we were frightened to inspect the beds! The air condioningunits did not work either.

All in all a terrible resort, well below normal CLC standards.

One saving grace was the lovely receptionist Claudia who recommended some wonderful restaurants and was plesanr at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barbara1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I want to start by saying the staff were great, really helpful and nice people. I can't fault them really but unfortunately the resort wasn't the best it could be.

On the plus sides the units are large and I like the layout of them, big windows at the front and nice sized external area to sit in and eat in. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were all a decent size and the overall feel of the place was quite positive. The pool was ok and it has a little hot tub next to it and a kids pool. The bar wasn't to my taste, quite tacky and overly touristy with lots of footy shirts hanging up but the prices were decent and as I said the staff were nice.

Overall the place needs a bit of a spruce up, there were barely any sockets in the rooms, the doors felt like they were made of paper and sounded like it and the showers were poor. The kitchen had few bits and pieces but could have done with things like a chopping board and decent knives. I was a bit gutted we didn't have a BBQ outside and the chairs and tables out there were total garbage to put it bluntly. I didn't think it was dirty though, it was always kept clean but in some cases I'm pretty sure the cleaners must use the scourer a bit too much as the shiny coating seemed to have been removed from all of the taps!

This was, in fairness, quite a basic place and I perhaps expected too much but the location was fine as we had a rental car and wasn't far from the beach and I found the overall experience to be a good one. I would say to anyone who hasn't been to Portugal that the prices are a bit of a joke for certain things, mainly if you hire a car beware of the hidden costs and insurances you might not need.

Room Tip: It looked like some of the units were being refurbished, try to get a new one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Review
The units given on this RCI exchange were very poor and basic. Large kitchen was good , apartment size was large but the bathrooms were both awful and not very clean- toilet seat was badly damaged and could not have been cleaned properly, there was thick black mould across all grout and mastic between tiles, shower curtain was dirty. The patio furniture consisted of a round rusty table, 4 multicoloured hard plastic chairs and a broken umbrella. I complained on arrival at reception, next day to customer services and on day 3 in writing on the comments form before any action was taken. Thus is definitely not a 4* resort. They offered us one of their 'best apartments ' however on inspection the bathrooms were equally dirty with just a few more homely comforts such as rugs and cushions, we declined and asked them to change toilet seats, clean mould and provide a 2nd key for our guests which they declined on the first day.- all of which they did. There was a 50cent charge for a call for a taxi which are needed if you do not walk too far. Buses not good ( taxi to Old Town between €6-8)
The cleaning of the apartments (2 times) was also poor, they did not wipe over either the coffee tables or patio. tables and did not sweep floors or patio.
Around the pool plenty of sun beds but very few parasols, hot tub available. The pleasant bar area has been turned into a Sport Bar complete with football shirts and scarfs !
The staff are friendly but sone not very helpful and often fave inaccurate information so do not rely on thus. I emailed twice before the visit but did not receive a reply
This is a pretty resort which could be good but behind the nice exterior there are a lot of improvements to be made before I would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjl4163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at a nearby hotel recently for four nights, but had drinks every afternoon at this resort. The bar staff were very accommodating and friendly. A glass of house wine was only 2 euros. We weren't sure what it would taste like at that price, but it was really good. We had a few snacks, including a lovely tuna salad, which was really tasty, served with some delicious black olives. We would certainly recommend at least dropping in for a drink and a snack as the complex is really pleasant, with friendly bar staff. There was a great football bar and restaurant there too. Definitely, we will call in here again when we book up our next holiday in the Algarve.

Room Tip: We only visited the bar area, but would highly recommend. The bar staff were so friendly and the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Boldon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#57 of 154 in Albufeira
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
4.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#42 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £39 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing