We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ponta not so Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This place is a mixed bag but mostly I would say it does not deliver. Very understaffed and no real customer service. It is quite remote from the main action in Old Town or the strip so u definetly need transport. God forbid you would ask them to to book u a taxi...if i hear 'none avaialble' one more time!!! Does not give that area a good chnace at tourism as no-one wants to feel stranded with no way of getiing in to the main restuarants or bars. They did ot even have any bus timetables but just walk down to VS hotel (100 meters) and they couldnt be nicer. I would give this place a wide berth...talked to a few other tourists there and they expressed similar frustrations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cangs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Ponta Grande Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

We are just back from a visit to Sao Rafael in Albuferia, this is our second and for some of us third time to Albuferia, but our first time to Sao Rafael area. Sao Rafael is bout 7 mins in a taxi from the Strip and bout 5 mins in a taxi from the Old Town - thats if you can get a taxi!! When requesting that the receptionist in the Ponta Grande resort call us a taxi we found said receptionist (Ricardo) would stare blankly at us, pick up the phone and call someone, (for all we know it could've been his mate) put down the phone and say "No taxis available - its complicated!" This went on over a few days until we realised he was just a very unhelpful man who couldn't be bothered helping us. He wouldn't even give us a timetable for the local bus into Albuferia, and again this was "complicated". Thankfully we managed to get a taxi ordered for us no bother from the staff in The City bar Sao Rafael, where after a phonecall a taxi would arrive in less than 5 mins. If you are soon to visit this area, be advised to stay away from the Ponta Grande, especially if Ricardo, a tall balding man with glasses is on the desk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lyn2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

i stayed here in dec 09 with my fiance.we loved the place and got on well with staff. we loved it so much we came back and had our wedding reception there on 20 may.it was thier 1st wedding and they handled it really well. i would recommend it to other brides who want a wedding that is not too formal and a bit more relaxed. a lot of our guests stayed here during the week of the wedding and had a wonderful time

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdohertydonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

For a 4 star resort i would expected more!
The villas were cleaned only once a week, the kitchen was not properly equipped, the bathrooms need to be redesigned (or at least cleaned properly) and the furniture was really cheap (for a 4 star resort). No cable tv!!!
There was some heavy wind during my stay and the tree next to my villa was always beating on the ceiling, so we couldn't sleep very well. Despite our efforts to solve the problem the staff didn't cared.
The resort is far from Albufeira so you'd better have a car to move around. Also, the beach is not that near from the resort.
There was one good thing, though... free wi-fi access at the reception lobby which allowed me to work on my laptop.
I've been in 3 star properties with better service!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We, as a family of four stayed at the Ponta Grande Resort at the end of October and the place was practically deserted. Of the 60 townhouses on the complex, there couldn't have been more than 10 or so occupied, from what I could see, which meant that most of the time, the large pool was empty. We had a villa with a pool view, and the most people I saw in it at any one time was 3. While we were there, it seemed the number of people on-site trying to sell apartments on the complex outnumbered the holidaymakers. There always seemed to be 6-8 "estate agents/timeshare" people sitting around the outside bar area, and showing people around one of the townhouses that was obviously set up to show.

The reception area is clean and bright, and the reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and are actually the best feature of this place. However, despite the tennis court being totally unused for the week that we were there, they would not let my young sons play for less than 15 euros an hour... my sons offered 10 euros of their pocket money, but it was refused... preferring to see the court unused than to accept a fair offer from a couple of kids, out of season!

The townhouse itself was a disappointment, if I am to be truthful. Advertised as a 4 star property, I was expecting more, but it was very basic and I would just about give it a 3 star rating. Everything that you need is there, but it was just a bit run-down. You have to leave a 60 euro returnable deposit at reception at the start of your stay, for the tv and aircon remotes and to cover any breakages. There is apparently free wifi access in the reception lobby, but I didn't know about this, otherwise I would have taken my netbook, rather than having to rely on using the one computer by the bar area. There is also a games room downstairs with a couple of pool tables, air hockey, a couple of driving simulators and pinball machines.

The resort is a couple of miles out of Albufeira old town, (which suited us) and I would recommend hiring a car to get about. The lovely Sao Rafael beach however, is a gentle 7 or 8 minute stroll and, whilst I can see it getting packed in the high season, was very low key at the end of October, despite us being blessed with wonderful weather in the mid to high 20's everyday!

There are a few restaurants closeby, within a few minutes walking distance, but a we never used them, as a glance of their menus showed them to be quite expensive. Far better value for money is offered in the plethora of restaurants in the Old Town, and my personal favourite was O Tunel, on the steps of the tunnel by the Beach. However, a real gem is Ze do Peixe Assado, on the other side of the "Strip", which is well documented on this site.

All in all, we had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday, but it was the freedom of the hire car that made it so. I would stay at Ponta Grande again, but I know what to expect.... not 4 star, but 3.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfc_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

just got back from a weeks holiday in Ponta Grande with my wife and three boys which we all thoroughly enjoyed .
Good points -
location is excellent - 10 minute walk to lovely beach
houses are a good size and well maintained
swimming pool is excellent
we had breakfast included which we had by the pool and it was of decent standard
restaurant on site - nice italian restaurant - bit pricey but when we stayed there it was almost empty every night

bad points
lack of sun loungers -
signs around the pool say that you are not allowed to , but unless you get up at 7 oclock and put a towel on a bed you have got no chance . Not enough are provided . I asked at reception but no joy - we didn't even have any on our balcony so I had to join in with the early morning scramble . a minor point but it really does affect your enjoyment

lack of staff - there were 2 waitresses who were excellent but they were completely overworked
lack of facilities - there is a games room but during our stay at least half of the machines were out of order .There is a small play area but the place could really do with an area for the kids to play football etc. -
overrun with sales reps - everyday the place is swarming with sales reps giving people tours of the place and cluttering up the bar and getting served before everyone else

all in all I would definitely recommed this place but at the moment I would rate it as 3 star .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

I stayed 6 days with my wife and my two children, aged 10 and 5. The villa is spacious and clean. The price was affordable. The location is very good, very close to two of the best beaches (Sao Rafael and Coelho beaches). However, the rooms have been cleaned only once in six days ... from a 4-star hotel I would expect a daily service. Internet access was quite expensive. Also, we had to pay a deposit of 60 euros for borrowing an hairdryer and the remote control of the air conditioning ... again, this is something I would not expect from a 4-star hotel.
Note for pasta lovers like me: the kitchen is fully fitted, but the colander is missing

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Guesthouse
Sunshine Guesthouse
#9 of 29 in Albufeira
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#25 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £90 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing