We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing setting for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oura-View Beach Club
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing setting for a family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent a week at this lovely place, last week. I have to say that the place is well-managed, and the grounds around the magnificent pool area are kept extremely clean. We had our three grand children with us, and our 6th floor, 2-bedroom apartment (with 2 x bathrooms) was just wonderful. Great service from ALL the staff, but especially Margarida Vicente and her team, who were available throughout, and who were so amazingly helpful at all times. Excellent amenities, and a location/setting with the restaurant, swimming pool and sandy beach which must surely be hard to beat in the category of 'child-friendly' holiday places. The local area has undergone some 'burger and chips' development over the years, as one would expect, but there are still some excellent PORTUGESE eateries, and pastelarias, within easy walking distance! And the Beach Club is well away from the sometimes noisy bars and restaurants on the main road. If you have children, and want an away day, just use the 'mini-train' service which runs every 20 minutes, and which is less than 10 minutes from the Beach Club. This is a 4-stop service, taking you to Albufeira, and back, for a very modest cost. There is even a free shuttle service between the various sister-hotels. a most ideal location, with all the amenities within a couple of hundred yards of each other, and a truly super service from the staff. A really wonderful place, and one we will most likely be revisiting.

Room Tip: There are various room-types, and this will not be a problem at all for any family. Or indeed, a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManooP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    366
    180
    62
    43
See reviews for
342
425
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilsaran, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay here and can't wait to go back. We stayed in a studio which was on the 6th floor level outside the hotel. This meant no walking up or down the hill. The room itself had a well equipped kitchen with everything you needed from dishwasher to microwave. The bed is a sofa bed which meant there was plenty of space in the room as all you had to do was pull it out but it was a little uncomfortable to sleep on at first. The rooms were cleaned every day. The staff are friendly and helpful. Check out is 10am but you were able to put your bags in a room and were able to shower if you had a late departure. The pool area is beautiful with plenty of sun beds. The pool itself is massive. There is also access to the beach from the pool. The strip is only 2 minutes away from the hotel where there is plenty of restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Overall we had a pleasant week but the resort apparently hasn't been refurbished for around 20 years and it shows.

Our apartment was light and spacious and reasonably well equipped. However, the seating area was very uncomfortable as the sofas are actually single beds and there is no back support so you end up leaning against the wall. The kitchen was clean and adequate but very small for an apartment which is meant to accommodate up to seven people. We were impressed at having maid service and clean towels every day (except Saturday).

The apartments appear to have good solid walls, unlike so much holiday accommodation, and we slept very well in the large comfortable beds and weren't disturbed by neighbouring holiday makers. The block is in a no-through road so there was very little noise caused by people walking past at night.

The balcony in our apartment (317) was totally unusable. It was too narrow to allow four of us to sit round the table and it was in shadow all day and evening so we gave up which was a shame. Other balconies beneath us were much larger and more usable and we saw people sunbathing and eating outside - we felt short-changed.

There were two bathrooms which were large but shabby with chipped and cracked tiles and old sanitary fittings. The biggest problem though was our hot water via the shower. There is a warning notice advising people to check the temperature before using the shower, but we found that there was a temperature surge after a few minutes which was dangerously hot and which probably occurred when someone elsewhere flushed a toilet. My husband was scalded by this, and if the shower had been used by a parent showering a child it could have very bad consequences.

We reported this, and the fact that none of the extractor fans worked, to the reception staff, but were told that the engineers "turn off the switch every morning so there is not enough power for the extractors"! We heard nothing more about the scalding water so assume the problem was not addressed - you have been warned!

Internet which is included did not work at all for the first two days, and thereafter was unreliable and intermittent.

The resort is well located and we enjoyed the local restaurants, the pool and the beach. We also visited Albufeira which is a typical holiday town, and Loule which is currently undergoing extensive roadworks and road closures.

In spite of the negative tone of much of this review we did have an enjoyable week with our friends, and probably did get what we paid for as it was not expensive to rent the apartment, but a little investment could vastly improve these tired and outdated apartments.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask for a room with a deep enough balcony to make it usable, and check that it gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sowtonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
615 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a great mily break in May for 2 weeks - my wife and I plus 2 small children aged 4 and 1.

Had a great time - rooms good quality and big, service excellent and food excellent too. No complaints all round.

Tip - go for rooms higher up which have better views. We were on 6th which wa perfect.

Care - quite steep and lots of steps so care for wheel chairs or elderly. We found it fine with the children though.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on higher floors which have better views, eg 6th. Care if elderly or wheelchair - lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here from 18th to 25th May 2014.
Premises are clean and tidy and reasonably well presented.
On site entertainment is average.
Certainly not really a place for a solo visit, but did meet some nice people while there.
Room was pleasant enough (studio apartment), but have to say the bed was the worst I have ever slept in. Very hard.
If you wanted to stay in touch with the outside world it was almost impossible, as the internet connection/wifi was useless from Tuesday onwards, yet you could go off site and get perfectly good reception elseswhere !
I would say the area is more for the younger generation, but that's just a personal view. Plenty of bars and restaurants on the strip and better value than the on site restaurant and those down below by the beach, especially if you want veg etc with your meal, as this is all extra !
First time I have ever been charged to use electricity while away on holiday ! So was a bit miffed about that, even though it was only 15 euros.
So while, not bad, it wasn't brilliant,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

On arrival the man in reception was only fantastic very friendly even though we arrived after midnight gave us maps of the resort and information about tours . our room was 706 which was a studio had a king bed, flat screen tv all uk channels,/mini kitchen had the hob, oven, microwave+dishwasher. Large balcony+very Private.
Breakfast was a buffet and was fantastic but over priced €7.80 per person which I didn't understand as the other petchey resorts are €4.95.
WIFI free at the lobby very slow and looses connection or charge €7Daily / €21Week in Room again slow and have to go to balcony to work (Restraunts outside offer Free Wifi and its faster. The free shuttle service was fantastic every 15 minutes, and to the old town. All the staff were very friendly and upbeat The only negative I had was Wifi speed very slow, the breakfast more expensive than other petchey resorts and also was not impressed that my credit card number was wrote down for the security deposit at check in. The maintance and upkeep of resort was fantastic and well maintained and for the very small little issues I would still rate 5 star and would return.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have private balconys with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bride2be-lanzarote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My partner and myself stayed at the Oura View Beach Club, March and April. We had a great time, our room was wonderful with sea views. All the staff were fantastic could not fault any of them. Antonia "nosso amiga" from years at the Oura Praia greeted us just like that, as an old friend. You felt like you were coming home. The bar staff were great with us serving us meals and drinks. Happy hour was spent outside with lots of peanuts and drinks from Marcio and Rui and the wonderful company of Sylv and Mike (Miaow). We met lots of lovely people and enjoyed the quiz and won it at times on a Thursday at the Oura View with the delightful company of Linda and Colin Hick hick. Many many bottles of wine won and consumed out on the balcony of the Oura View looking out over the sea. See you all next year. Cheers Ian Brotherhood

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#63 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
2.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oura-View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oura-View Beach Club

Property: Oura-View Beach Club
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Oura-View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oura-View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Oura-View Beach Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing