We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. - Great Hotel”
Review of Lageado Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lageado Sol
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here recently and really enjoyed the break. The Hotel is well positioned behind an excellent Supermarket and 5 minutes from The Strip. Very quiet area.

The hotel is very secure, entrance by key or Reception. Salvatore and staff are very helpful and caring.

The pool area is very private and comfortable with mattresses on the beds. The snack bar only opened on our last day and was great. There were few guests in the week we were there.

Albufeira has expanded since our last visit and has lot to offer. We were surprised at the low supermarket prices, much cheaper than Spain and excellent quality.

Taxis from the airport are expensive, but you can pre book via internet much cheaper.


We would definitely go back to Albufeira and recommend this hotel for great value.

Room Tip: If you are fit the top floor views were great but not recommended for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lageado Sol the 1st week in May this year, I have to say the apartment was large and specious and had everything we needed. Salvatore was on hand when we arrived and he was very helpful giving us directions to supermarkets, the strip and the old town. The pool was lovely and quiet and the apartments are very well located about 5 min walk to the strip and about 20 min walk to the old town. The only downside was the pool bar was not open during our stay. Other then that I would recommend these apartments for a lovely quiet break away.
Alan and Joan Dublin Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor which had plenty of windows and a good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_odonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself, my girlfriend and another couple traveled to Albufeira for a one week stay recently. After scouring the various hotels and apartments in the area, we agreed on Lageado Sol - inexpensive, close to both the strip and the old-town, and with broadly favourable reviews.

On arrival at the complex we were greeted by Salvatore, the manager. He seemed welcoming and enthusiastic and guided us - in great detail - through his rules and guidelines. He advised that the reception area was not manned after 6PM but he would be contactable in case of an emergency.

Our studio was relatively spacious with three sofa beds, a dining table, well equipped kitchen and balcony. However, offered in size, it certainly lacked in character or vibrancy - black plastic coverings over each window ensure daylight is kept to a minimum and even the artificial light is dim enough to qualify as a sombre Victorian playwright's hideaway.

Location wise, the apartments are pretty conveniently located 5 minutes' walk from the Albufeira strip, while the more scenic Old Town is 25-minutes by foot, or about €5 in a taxi.

Our first cause for concern arose when we noticed the door to the balcony was not shutting properly, resulting in wind forcing it open during the night. We addressed this with Salvatore whose initial reaction was somewhat snappy, as though it was a personal criticism. He pleaded that 'there would be nothing to worry about even if the door was open' but promised to send a maintenance man to inspect it once the weekend had passed.

The weekend came and went without incident and on Monday afternoon, our first of three visitors arrived. Salvatore and a pest control expert, without knocking on the door or any prior consultation, entered the apartment, seemingly surprised to find us there. He explained that the man came twice annually to make his inspections - perfectly fine, but a knock would have been nice.
Onto visitor(s) number two - this time, two cleaning ladies. Once again, no knocks or enquiries. Intriguingly, they bleached the already spotlessly clean floor to within an inch of its life, but didn't change the bedclothes or towels, which would certainly have been more welcome. This, by the way, was the enduring theme - for four of our remaining five nights, the bedclothes weren't changed once, but rest assured the floor was the cleanest in Portugal. Probably the Western world.
Our final visitor for the day was the previously promised maintenance man - once again, no knock on the door. He came, he saw, he conquered and all was well.

The same evening, leaving the complex for dinner, we were approached by Salvatore, who advised us that he noticed us using certain sunlounger cushions incorrectly. Apparently, specific chairs have specific cushions and the effects of devilishly mixing and matching, as we had done, would lead to unspeakable consequences.

As our stay progressed, the complex began to get busier with an array of midnight arrivals from the UK. Unfortunately for them, with reception unmanned after 6PM, this results in a 20-30 minute wait outside until someone arrives to let you in. This didn't affect us personally, but it's something to be prepared for if you have the audacity to arrive after sunset.

With two nights remaining in our stay, we took a trip overnight to nearby Praida da Rocha to visit family. On our return, Salvatore was - to put it mildly - inquisitive. He asked on several occasions if there was an issue; in less of a courteous and more an intrusive manner.

On reflection, staying at Lageado Sol was not a thorough unpleasant experience - it is a clean complex, close to the area's main nightspots, with a quaint and relaxing pool. What brings it down, however, is the passive-aggressive and invasive nature of its management. To best summarise Salvatore, he is exceptionally helpful with some questions and exceptionally impolite with others. As I mentioned above, he views any criticisms of his apartments as directed personally at him.

If you're booking a last-minute holiday and Lageado Sol becomes available at a low price, you could certainly do worse. If time is on your side, however, do a little more digging and you'll certainly do better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Eoinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here last year with a friend very nice and quiet hotel, not that far from the strip which can get very lively (mostly with dutch) very few english people! old town isnt to far away either and the weather is scorching through the day! can get abit cooler at night time however still very humid! also the sea is freeeezing and im not joking its like the sea at home. however very nice place and would deffo go back again. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackkmorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location is very good short walk to the strip and supermarket on the corner. Apartment was good and had everything in it. Salvatore was very helpful and informative. Apartment was very clean. However, the beds were not that comfortable. The bar was never open for the entire 8 days were where there, we went at the end of September, we like to have a drink before we go out and like to meet people who are staying and have a chat at the bar, this we could not do. Salvatore makes a point of telling you that the towels are white and that he likes them kept this way, ok can understand that guests can do silly things whilst on holiday but to be honest we were afraid to actually use the towels in case we got them dirty, hubby cut himself shaving and got blood on the towel, we then had to try and wash the blood out of the towel,we actually bought a cheap towel to use for me in case I got make up on the towels whilst drying after getting washed. If he is that bothered about the towels he should not use white towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Manxpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really enjoyed the barque and the pool weather was lovely and would go back again and all good for family would tell people about it near to shops and staff was good bar was great to thanks very much and enjoy zoo marine the best and went on a boat trip was good to enjoyed the bull fight was good thank god thy didn't kill the bull would go back for the weather and everthing else just need a double bed in one off the rooms and soft mattress

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a late season week in Albufeira. This being our first trip to Portugal, we hired a car at the airport and used the apartment as a base to tour from, exploring the coast all the way west and east. We didn't need to use the pool or the bar so can't comment. The room was clean, in good decorative order, well furnished and equipped. The range of cooking equipment was the best I've seen in an apartment. Nice to have ceramic crockery instead of that Arcoroc glass stuff that is so commonly provided. The beds were very comfortable and there were extra pillows and blankets (which we needed) One of the real bonuses was the Hotel's quiet location. it is tucked away in a quiet mainly residential area, behind a big supermarket. We had a great sleep every night of our seven night stay. There was no noise in the building and no noise from the street. We didn't bother with the 'Strip' (too old) but it is a 25 minute stroll down to the Old Town, where we ate a couple of times. Head for the escalator as this does save some effort.

If we go back to Albufeira we will definitely stay here again. There are just 26 apartments, some studio and some one bedroomed. Special mention to manager Salvatore, who couldn't be more helpful and patient with our many enquiries.

Room Tip: Even if there is only two in your party I think its worth the extra cost to have more space in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vilanova Resort
Vilanova Resort
#131 of 154 in Albufeira
1,163 reviews
4.1 mi away
No photo provided
Summer Villa
#2 of 2 in Guia
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
3.2 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lageado Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lageado Sol

Address: Lageado-Areias S.Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Lageado Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lageado Sol Hotel Albufeira
Lageado Sol Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing