We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lageado Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lageado Sol
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just spent 10 nights at the Lageado Sol Hotel in Albufeira. Very friendly staff, Salvatore was there to welcome us and went through the hotel rules even showing us how to lock and unlock the front door, a bit OTT but he was informative on how to get to the strip and the old Town. Rooms are Basic but very clean, we had a studio room (B9) with three sofa beds so just pushed two together to make a decent bed. This is a quiet hotel in a residential part of Albufeira and we did have an issue with a few guests treating it like an 18 to 30 hotel which was promptly dealt with by Salvatore when he came on shift, as the reception is not open 24 hours. Maybe it would not have happened if it were.
Pool area is great but only had a few decent sun beds; the other sunbeds are fairly uncomfortable so there is a bit of a rush to get the decent ones. Another bad point is that the pool bar is not open all the time and does not do snacks, but Michelle the bar tender is a laugh and looks after you and seems to enjoy himself better than half the guests.
The Hotel is 5 minute walk to the strip and about 25 minutes to the Old Town both places are great for food and drink depending on what sort of nightlife you’re after. The little super market beside the hotel is fantastic. Taxi about 5 Euro to Old Town or you can use the fun train 4 euro each for all day.
Met a lot of great people in the hotel and everyone was so friendly so for this we would definitely come back to the Lageado Sol

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapleleafs909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    83
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
63
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

myslef and my hubby have just returned from Lageado Sol after a 5 day break here,the apt are very well situated,only 5 mins from the strip and its shops and only 25 min walk into the old town(though got the little train back as it is quite a steep hill coming back).
Salvatore was there to welcome us straight away and was very friendly giving us good tips and directions,only though his instructions on how to use a towel and how to unlock a door is a bit much when all u want to do is get your room after a sweltering travel. We were then introduced to Michelle who runs the bar and he greeted us warmly informing us that he would look after us for our stay and then gave us a free welcome drinks while we waited for our rooms. We had a studio and were a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews over their size,but we were pleasantly surprised,there were 3 sofa beds in there,a coffee table,tv with remote,dining room table and chairs and a well equipped kitchen. All in all we had a great holiday the only thing that spoilt it for us (and other guests) was the lack of respect from some of the other guests,dont get me wrong im not a grouch and believe that everyone is on holiday to enjoy themselves but when u have about 9 youngsters shouting from one floor to the other ALL nite long partying it is very tiresome and made for some bad feeling in the hotel. As the recepetion is not manned 24 hrs Salvatore didnt know about this till he walked in at 9 the following morning and saw the mess the reception was he,to give him his due though , quickly sorted it out and was more than a little stern with the offenders and it didnt happen again,not from that group anyway .All in all we had a great stay and met some great people while we where there,my advice to Salvatore and his staff,have reception manned 24hrs to alleviate any trouble and have the bar close a bit earlier than 5.30am!!

Room Tip: we had room B5 which had a lovely view over the pool and got the sun till about 6pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here recently and really enjoyed the break. The Hotel is well positioned behind an excellent Supermarket and 5 minutes from The Strip. Very quiet area.

The hotel is very secure, entrance by key or Reception. Salvatore and staff are very helpful and caring.

The pool area is very private and comfortable with mattresses on the beds. The snack bar only opened on our last day and was great. There were few guests in the week we were there.

Albufeira has expanded since our last visit and has lot to offer. We were surprised at the low supermarket prices, much cheaper than Spain and excellent quality.

Taxis from the airport are expensive, but you can pre book via internet much cheaper.


We would definitely go back to Albufeira and recommend this hotel for great value.

Room Tip: If you are fit the top floor views were great but not recommended for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lageado Sol the 1st week in May this year, I have to say the apartment was large and specious and had everything we needed. Salvatore was on hand when we arrived and he was very helpful giving us directions to supermarkets, the strip and the old town. The pool was lovely and quiet and the apartments are very well located about 5 min walk to the strip and about 20 min walk to the old town. The only downside was the pool bar was not open during our stay. Other then that I would recommend these apartments for a lovely quiet break away.
Alan and Joan Dublin Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor which had plenty of windows and a good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_odonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself, my girlfriend and another couple traveled to Albufeira for a one week stay recently. After scouring the various hotels and apartments in the area, we agreed on Lageado Sol - inexpensive, close to both the strip and the old-town, and with broadly favourable reviews.

On arrival at the complex we were greeted by Salvatore, the manager. He seemed welcoming and enthusiastic and guided us - in great detail - through his rules and guidelines. He advised that the reception area was not manned after 6PM but he would be contactable in case of an emergency.

Our studio was relatively spacious with three sofa beds, a dining table, well equipped kitchen and balcony. However, offered in size, it certainly lacked in character or vibrancy - black plastic coverings over each window ensure daylight is kept to a minimum and even the artificial light is dim enough to qualify as a sombre Victorian playwright's hideaway.

Location wise, the apartments are pretty conveniently located 5 minutes' walk from the Albufeira strip, while the more scenic Old Town is 25-minutes by foot, or about €5 in a taxi.

Our first cause for concern arose when we noticed the door to the balcony was not shutting properly, resulting in wind forcing it open during the night. We addressed this with Salvatore whose initial reaction was somewhat snappy, as though it was a personal criticism. He pleaded that 'there would be nothing to worry about even if the door was open' but promised to send a maintenance man to inspect it once the weekend had passed.

The weekend came and went without incident and on Monday afternoon, our first of three visitors arrived. Salvatore and a pest control expert, without knocking on the door or any prior consultation, entered the apartment, seemingly surprised to find us there. He explained that the man came twice annually to make his inspections - perfectly fine, but a knock would have been nice.
Onto visitor(s) number two - this time, two cleaning ladies. Once again, no knocks or enquiries. Intriguingly, they bleached the already spotlessly clean floor to within an inch of its life, but didn't change the bedclothes or towels, which would certainly have been more welcome. This, by the way, was the enduring theme - for four of our remaining five nights, the bedclothes weren't changed once, but rest assured the floor was the cleanest in Portugal. Probably the Western world.
Our final visitor for the day was the previously promised maintenance man - once again, no knock on the door. He came, he saw, he conquered and all was well.

The same evening, leaving the complex for dinner, we were approached by Salvatore, who advised us that he noticed us using certain sunlounger cushions incorrectly. Apparently, specific chairs have specific cushions and the effects of devilishly mixing and matching, as we had done, would lead to unspeakable consequences.

As our stay progressed, the complex began to get busier with an array of midnight arrivals from the UK. Unfortunately for them, with reception unmanned after 6PM, this results in a 20-30 minute wait outside until someone arrives to let you in. This didn't affect us personally, but it's something to be prepared for if you have the audacity to arrive after sunset.

With two nights remaining in our stay, we took a trip overnight to nearby Praida da Rocha to visit family. On our return, Salvatore was - to put it mildly - inquisitive. He asked on several occasions if there was an issue; in less of a courteous and more an intrusive manner.

On reflection, staying at Lageado Sol was not a thorough unpleasant experience - it is a clean complex, close to the area's main nightspots, with a quaint and relaxing pool. What brings it down, however, is the passive-aggressive and invasive nature of its management. To best summarise Salvatore, he is exceptionally helpful with some questions and exceptionally impolite with others. As I mentioned above, he views any criticisms of his apartments as directed personally at him.

If you're booking a last-minute holiday and Lageado Sol becomes available at a low price, you could certainly do worse. If time is on your side, however, do a little more digging and you'll certainly do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Eoinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here last year with a friend very nice and quiet hotel, not that far from the strip which can get very lively (mostly with dutch) very few english people! old town isnt to far away either and the weather is scorching through the day! can get abit cooler at night time however still very humid! also the sea is freeeezing and im not joking its like the sea at home. however very nice place and would deffo go back again. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackkmorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location is very good short walk to the strip and supermarket on the corner. Apartment was good and had everything in it. Salvatore was very helpful and informative. Apartment was very clean. However, the beds were not that comfortable. The bar was never open for the entire 8 days were where there, we went at the end of September, we like to have a drink before we go out and like to meet people who are staying and have a chat at the bar, this we could not do. Salvatore makes a point of telling you that the towels are white and that he likes them kept this way, ok can understand that guests can do silly things whilst on holiday but to be honest we were afraid to actually use the towels in case we got them dirty, hubby cut himself shaving and got blood on the towel, we then had to try and wash the blood out of the towel,we actually bought a cheap towel to use for me in case I got make up on the towels whilst drying after getting washed. If he is that bothered about the towels he should not use white towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Manxpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.3 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#47 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#42 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lageado Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lageado Sol

Property: Lageado Sol
Address: Lageado-Areias S.Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lageado Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lageado Sol Hotel Albufeira
Lageado Sol Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing