We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pine Cliffs Residences. We were in S11 block which is one of the furthest away from the hotel, but for us - two adults and two thirteen year olds, it wasn't a big problem. In fact it was very peaceful around there.
The hotel 'train' runs every half an hour and in 30 degrees heat, we were thankful for it, although my husband reckoned it rattled his fillings out, it was so bumpy!
The Sheraton Hotel and Residences site is big, but very well kept. We didn't see anything out of place. Our two bedroom- two bathroom suite was perfect. Nicely furnished, a good size and spotlessly clean.
The Residences pool is the nicest, in our opinion and breakfast, taken right beside the pool, was good.
There are just a couple of things to point out. We had to go to the hotel doctor one morning, our daughter's friend had a poorly eye. We got very good service, but I was probably a bit naive and didn't expect a €45 charge on my bill at checkout.
The only other niggle was waiting times for taxis - around 40 minutes one time. Seems like we should have pre-ordered them, but even so, that's a long time.
That aside, we had a lovely, relaxing holiday and definitely would like to return to Pine Cliffs again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Guest,

At Starwood properties we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Avoid the Gala evening (start of August each year) or just avoid altogether....

We for some reason booked to stay for 2 weeks here at a cost similar to 2 weeks 5* in the Maldives or Mauritius. We stayed 2 weeks at Easter at the 4 seasons Mauritius and this somehow worked out more expensive than this and more than last years 2 weeks in the Maldives so we were expecting good things (it was also nearly double the price we paid last year for a detached Villa with Pool at Martinhal in Sagres – ok but too windy). We stayed in a 3 bed residence (S6) which is a ground floor apartment with flats on either side and 2 levels above - the flat above was very noisy and we could frequently here furniture being pushed about through the night... not sure what was going on up there?

The beach is about a 20 minute walk away, which is too far for small kids although there is a train (sauna on wheels), which takes you half the way, but still 10 minutes half of which down long steps.

As the previous review mentions the pools do get busy but we always managed to find a small spot somewhere... until the last week….

We booked with Scott Dunn and received a letter 3 weeks before we left informing us there was a Gala on the last night we were there (Friday) and that the residence pool would be closed the day before (Scott Dunn was only told by the hotel a couple of weeks before that)... what actually happened was on the Tuesday there was constant banging as they spent a few days erecting a giant stage next to the pool, then closed it for the Thursday and Friday completely making it impossible to get near a pool. After getting fed up with constant hammering on the Tuesday we ended up just leaving the resort for the last 3 days completely and heading down to Vale do Lobo or Zoo Marine to escape. Then booming music 100m from our apartment until 12.30 the night before the kids get up at 6.30 to fly home … great. The fact we were paying such high nightly rates for the room and were not informed of the Gala was completely unacceptable. We complained and asked for money to be refunded for the last two nights and were basically ignored. We spoke to Joao in guest relations who even took our mobile number and then didn’t even bother to call us back. Last 4 days of the holiday would have been ruined if we hadn’t have left the resort completely. We thought of going home early but it would have been another 1k to change the flights as we’d done the online check in before we left UK.

Scott Dunn kids club was good although we didn’t use it all that much ... last 4 days etc. Great trips out to water parks etc for the older kids though.

Nice short 9 hole golf course although they still charge 43 euros for 9 holes even to guests.

They charge for annoying things like water in room E5 or internet in room.

Shower in bedroom completely flooded the room every time we used it, reported it several times but again no response.

Even a call to remove some cat poo from the lawn outside our villa took 3 days and 4 phone calls….

At this price level there are so many better resorts and Pine Cliffs just doesn’t even come close to the standard expected. Attitude of the staff was pretty much tough luck there’s a Gala on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diversandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the issues experienced in some services during your stay and please be ensured that all efforts are always made to guarantee our guests’ satisfaction.

In order to improve, we invite you to discuss your comments further with us at the following address 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

it may be expensive but you get what you apy for. we have been here 4 times and each time it excells. any problems however small are dealt with extremely well and the staff are lovely. the sunset from the clifftop bar is fantastic.

the residences are a pure home from home with lovely surroundings and daily maid service, they have allof the items required for a homely stay and ground floor access to the gardens is worth taking. the only issue i have is the daily cost for internet access which seems excessive for something that many consider an everyday neccessity in present times.

the beds have to be the most comfortable i have ever tried and the buffet breakfast is lovely.

Room Tip: garden access near to one of the pools if your with children is worth trying to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonybillingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Overall a positive review. We had a lovely family holiday in beautiful Portugal.
I shall get the small grievances out if the way...
1- I am an avid coffee and tea drinker and have yet to stay in a hotel that would see this as a problem apart from here. Firstly I was delivered a kettle with no cups etc. Secondly I was delivered tea for two and charged 13 € !! May I add this was refunded when I complained. It was not easy keeping two cups in the room with out housekeeping staff removing them. There was no water provided in the room either which is surely unusual for a 5 star hotel.
2- pools are generally cold we used the pool furthest from our room as it was the warmest.
3- Didnt eat in the hotel often as felt it was over priced compared to some lovely little restaurants nearby.
4- Tried to hire a bike with a trailer but was told to return on various dates and it was never there. In hindsight I doubt I would of managed to pedal far in the heat !

The rest is all good ! The staff at the golf clubhouse area where we went daily were superb, very friendly and attentive they included Comer (apologies for spelling) who went on a round trip to find our misplaced teddy ! Thank you so much. Also a thankyou to Anastacia who my 5 year old wanted to marry ! The mojitos were amazing. All the bar staff and the pool attendants here were very friendly too.
Beach is fantastic, clean and has charm it's just shame the beach bar is overpriced for a drink.
A big thank you to Daniel at the golf academy where both my boys had a great few days from 4-5pm. Again the staff here are great and I liked the fact my children's names were remembered here when there must be lots of youngsters coming and going.

Rooms are kept clean and beds made and towel changes daily by a good housekeeping staff.
We met some nice people on our holiday walking around the resort. There are alot of families with children which suited us.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in a future visit.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We liked our first trip to pine cliffs, it out punched a tired Villa Vita on may fronts (except restaurants) and it was surprising that certain Bars and restaurants (Aldar) were closed. We stayed in the residences in s2 for twenty nights and the room was excellent as was the pool and kids club. Less impressive was the availability of a cocktail - Negroni Martini and White lady are an undiscovered country in many places. Food is reasonably priced and Piri Piri and Yakuza were the highlights as we're the supermarket over the road and the pizza takeaway opposite Yakuza as the onsite pizza from Corda Cafe were disappointing - possibly frozen? Nice touches included an onsite photographer. Having said we would stay here again, if you go for the residences get s1-4 the others are a good 15-20mins from the hotel!

Also avoid Gala night. Our pool area was over taken by the building of a stage for Kool and the gang and the pool is bing closed from Thursday after breakfast to Saturday after breakfast. No Hint of offerring extra trains to the hotel, or discounted breakfast in the room for those on a breakfast package. We have endured the creation of the sound stage for the last 3 days and it's a like it or lump it approach so the hotel can sell tickets at €550 or €280 a head!

Overall we will probably return, but do ask if there are nay Gala events planned that will shut pools. On a 20 day stay its not critical - those here for 7 nights have an absolute right to feel annoyed and let down.

We will be back I suspect - at least until Villa Vita renovates all of its tired rooms!

SPG MAN

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank The_37_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Please email us at 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com, so we may discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Having read some of the other reviews we booked with two young children. I must say that reading the reviews before really helped. I completely agree about the food in all the restaurants being pretty poor. If you stay in the Residences avoid going anywhere near the hotel other than to go to the Japanese restaurant. Breakfast time is chaos stay down at the residences breakfast area the food is better and the service 100 times better. Avoid the Deli shop on site, perhaps other than for ice creams. The supermarkets outside the main gates are cheap (there are two very near the entrance) and the quality of meat from their butcher is great.

The pool near the residences is very busy at peak times but it wanes throughout the day. The gym is good. Wifi other than at reception is expensive and slow, really not necessary for such a hotel. In room TV/video also pretty low spec, cable cuts out frequently, poor reception and poor choice.

The apartments are very nice, we didn't have any problem with cleaning etc. It is alot of walking if you need to go up to the main hotel or the beach. We did it once and that was enough. We only used the train once and that was extremely hot and uncomfortable.

In all a great hotel, we loved it. A few limitations, particularly poor quality expensive food and expensive low speed wifi.

Room Tip: Near the residence reception so you have a short walk to the train stop if you try to use it, breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londontripman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Like some other reviewers I want to be objective with my review of Sheraton Pine Cliffs. We are a family of five, 2 adults & 3 kids (6, 5 and 1 yr old). Just back this week from our two week vacation and we won't be going back. We 'did' have a nice time but this hotel has a lot of flaws and it just didn't make the grade.
1. Service - There was none! You would arrive at the restaurants and the staff did their best to ignore you standing there, no help at breakfast buffet, we always had to find a table and baby high chair for ourselves. The staff just didn't seem to want to be bothered by us pesky guests. On a number of nights we waited an entire hour for our food order to arrive, not good when you have 3 hungry children on the verge of meltdown! Its very expensive to eat and drink here and the poor service just makes that a bigger issue.
2. Kids Club - Yes there is one but at €90 a day for two children we didn't bother with it, very dissapointing as it was a big reason we chose this hotel. We have stayed in other Sheratons where the kids clubs were free and you could drop in as desired. Far too expensive and can't see where it is justified.
3. Rooms - We had interconnecting rooms because of the kids and while the rooms were fine, the balconies were tiny and not very welcoming for a family of five. It should be obvious to a hotel like this that families need space and rooms with bigger balconies would suit families better. Parents often need to escape to these in the evening when kids have gone to sleep but there was nothing inviting about our pokey balcony with a view of the side of the hotel. Also, very windy and lots of ants to keep us company.
4. Pools - We stayed in July and the pools were FREEZING! I have never seen so many pools with so few people in them, not for the faint hearted. We headed to the one and only heated pool down by the golf club most days and thankfully the kids could frolic in the water there. Got very busy though and yes lounges are held for ages by blue towels even though nobody is actually using them...hate that!
5. Taxis- Taxis booked through the hotel. Rip Off. Simple.
6. Surroundings - If you are happy to stay on the complex for your entire vacation then this is for you. There's nothing outside the gates other than a small supermarket and a few budget restaurants. Its missing somewhere to walk and no buzz going on. We took a few taxis rides to get out and about.
7. Beach - the beach is nice and has a lovely beach club on it to wine and dine. Service slow here too. You take a lift down to the base of the cliff and then walk for a while down a lot of steps and along a boardwalk to reach the beach.
8. Reception Staff - Not really interested in what the guest wants or needs.

The setting of the hotel is lovely, and its well maintained but they've let themselves down in a lot of areas. Must mention the O Grill restaurant though, this was the exception... fantastic food and hurray! great service, we are just sorry we didn't eat there every night. We won't be going back, not because its awful but because you have an expectation with a Sheraton and this one didn't live up to it for us. We also want more than just the hotel and its complex, the area lacked anything of interest to explore but again, that's just our personal preference.

Room Tip: Demand a view otherwise you could be looking at the side of the hotel over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We do regret to learn of the inconveniences upon your recent visit.

At Starwood properties, we are continuously looking to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment; therefore we would like to discuss your comments through the email address 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
8.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,721 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £75 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing