We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Swizerland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Were in October 2012 for the 5th time in a row in Pine Cliffs and to me it seems to get better and better (especially the service has improved noticably in quality (personal touch), and it was already very good to begin with).
For an excellent family holiday this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwizerlandRoisindubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference and loyalty to our Hotel & Resort. It is very rewarding to receive such compliments about the service provided and we are very happy to acknowledge that you have fully enjoyed your recent stay with us and that everything was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    223
    72
    24
    22
See reviews for
475
135
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have been staying here for the last 10 years every August and can't fault it, it is the best solution if you have small children or teenagers as you can either eat at the hotel or cook your own food in the excellent kitchen in the apartment which includes a dishwasher, cooker, microwave,washing machine/tumble dryer and of course a large fridge freezer. The house keeping is also excellent so you really feel that you are on holiday as you don't have to clear up after everyone... I would like to see an improvement with regards to the mattress provided for the sofa bed as it is very thin and uncomfortable, we may have to bring a blow up mattress this year unless one can be provided? If you have young children I can recommend the children clubs as you can leave them for 1-2 hours or all day if you wish. Excellent swimming pools with beach towels provided. On the whole if you are looking for a family holiday then this is the place to go in Portugal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course on the 2nd floor to ensure you don't have noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's rewarding to see that you keep choosing our resort for your family holidays and it is motivating to see that our facilities are up and keep exceeding your expectations. We also appreciate your kind remarks regarding our mattresses that well be taken in consideration to help to improve our general guests satisfaction.

Thank you for being a truly Ambassador of our resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Pine Cliffs Resort is a wonderful destination for a family holiday. It is very convenient from Faro airport (about 30 minutes) and is in a spectacular location right on the cliffs overlooking a beautiful beach. The accommodation and the resort itself are extremely well kept and the grounds of the resort are immaculate. Accommodation is either in well equipped townhouses or hotel rooms (we had a lovely three bedroom townhouse). The restaurants serve a very good range and standard of fare and if you want to eat al fresco, no problem, the surroundings are lovely either in the gardens or on the beach itself. If however, you want to cook, there is a well stocked supermarket right at the resort gates. There are great facilities and clubs for the kids and a very well kept and picturesque golf course. Hiring clubs is no problem at all. The beach itself is reached via a glass elevator down the cliff side and is just beautiful with a nice beach bar/restaurant for a lazy seafood lunch. Our favourite spot though was the cliff top champagne bar where sipping a cocktail as the sun sets is about as relaxing as it gets. We loved it and hope to go back. Extremely easy travel from the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms seem great but they are doing some interior renovations on the townhouses so ask for a ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to provide you with some relaxation moments.

We thank you for nice comments on our resort services and surroundings. We specially appreciated your nice comments regarding our restaurants and Mirador Bar. It is highly motivating to see that we are able to provide you with the service that you expect and deserve.

We are thankful for your recommendation and we look forward to host you back in future

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have just returned from a New Year break at Pine Cliffs. Our apartment was gorgeous and very spacious. We are a family of 5 and our 3 sons who are 21, 19 & 14 loved it here especially the private beach and the tennis. Dad and the two eldest had a couple of rounds of golf and while it is very expensive the course is exceptional. Our only gripe would be that nearly all the restaurants were closed and so was the shop and there was nowhere to just have a drink or an ice cream. Some restaurants opened for new years eve but the prices for a three course meal per person were very expensive. We used the little supermarket outside the gate and this was fine and prices were much better as a coke in Corda Cafe was over 4 euros!!. We were also a bit annoyed to have to buy a swim hat for over 4 euros a person to swim in the hotel pool?
Having said all that we would go back as we had great weather and the Resort is fabulous and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Residences are lovely but a 15 min walk away from everything and we were on the middle floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Minihexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guests,

We are glad to know that overall you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our Resort.
Please accept our apologies if some of our facilities/service did not met your expectations.
We are very happy to learn that you would like to come back and please consider the Guest Relations department at your disposal to assist you on your next stay.
Best regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We were looking for a place for a late summer holiday and found this place. The apartments are very spacious. The staff are super friendly and helpful. My only criticism is the transportation around the resort. They should give free bikes to the guests. The beach is great, the restaurants are quite average but the breakfast is good. We would consider going back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest,

It is very rewarding to receive such compliments about our ambassadors and facilities and we are very happy to acknowledge that you and your family had an excellent holiday at our Resort and that the Residence Suites met your expectations.

Your remark about the transportation within the Resort was worth of our best consideration and we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

We will be expecting you and your family for a future visit in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Yet again those of us who for personal reasons have had to take our Silver Week in the Vacation/Golf Apartments have received an email less than two weeks before our stay.

"We would like to inform you that due to unavoidable works, the Sheraton Algarve main hotel building has been be closed from 18.00Hrs of yesterday, and will re-opening at 14.00Hrs, on December 26, 2012."

This means that the breakfast & dining facilities in the hotel are not available; part of the enjoyment was to see the hotel decorated for Christmas inside & out, and the alternative arrangements are just not up to the same standard. This never used to happen; we suspect it is really a cost-saving exercise; although we unfortunate ones are not getting a saving. We will make sure not to book a week in December next year; that is if we haven't sold our week before then.

Mrs Sheila Nolan

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinandSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Mrs. Nolan,

Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Kindly be informed that although the Hotel is closed until December 26th, all the alternatives were arranged in order to offer our guests the same quality of service we usually offer and that we are proudly known for.

We would like to invite you to meet our Guest Relations Team upon your arrival so we can discuss your comments personally, as at Starwood properties we are continuously looking to improve our overall services and meet our guest best expectations

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort and should you require any assistance please let us know.

Sincerest yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed in the residence apartments as we were travelling with two kids (3 and 18 months). They are probably the nicest self-catering apartments we have stayed in, really roomy, spotless and with everything you would need. I saw the golf suites while we were there too, the newly refurbished ones are really nice but they lack the luxury of the residence. We were in a block overlooking the pool (S4) which was fine for us. If you had kids who didn't sleep too well during the day then I would imagine they are probably noisy in peak times, this wasn't an issue in September. This would be a great block to ask for garden access if you had kids old enough to run up and down to the pool while you sat on the terrace.

The O Grill had great breakfasts, so much on offer. I also found it the best quality for lunch in the resort, prices were fine for food. It was the prices for drinks that were a bit annoying but then this is always the way in the 5 star resorts. I made a couple of trips to the supermarket across from the entrance to stock up on water and other drinks. It takes about 10 minutes to walk there from the residences, but you can use the little shuttle train if you want.

The Porto Pirata is a great facility for kids. You can use the playground with them yourself or leave them to be supervised by the staff there for a 3 hour session. My kids loved it there and went in most days. They did lots of crafts, had a snack there and the girls were great for putting on sun-cream or supplying hats when they were forgotten! Claudia and Elsa (I think!) in particular were really friendly.

The beach is really lovely and worth the little trek. The lift down to it is a novelty in itself for kids. You have to leave your buggy at the bottom then and its another few minutes walk down steps to the actual beach. At the beach there are changing rooms, towels and a cafe. Again in September we had no problems getting loungers with umbrellas but I heard it can be really busy in the summer.

Many of the restaurants are closed by mid September which was disappointing but understandable. O Pescador was really nice (except the dressed crab) but it is very pricey. We paid approx €150 for 2 starters/2 mains/1 dessert/1 glass of wine and some water/minerals. I wasn't at all impressed with piri-piri. I left most of my main and I wasn't even asked if it was ok. It probably didn't help that there was a kitten having the time of his life around my table (I am not a cat fan) and was getting encouragement from the staff. There was also a resident cat in O Grill and O Pescador. They kept being fed by people so I can't blame them for hanging around but I think the staff could do a bit more to discourage them. Cafe Corda does take away pizzas which were really nice.

The one thing that I didn't like was the charge for travel cots. Ok you can get them down from €13/day but still I feel that travel cots should not have a charge at all and it would be great if they could change that.

We all really enjoyed this holiday and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your contribution on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the Pine Cliffs Residence Suite was suitable for your family and provided you with the space, comfort and luxury expected.

Your compliments on the O Grill Restaurant, Porto Pirata and the beach facilities are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories. We also would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received from Claudia and Elsa from Porto Pirata.

We regret to learn about the inconvenience experienced with the cats at the Resort and your disappointment with the travel cot charge, for what we would like to present our sincerest apologies. Your comments are of great value to us and we fully appreciate the points you have raised.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for a future visit and we look forward to it.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing