We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing - kids and junior club v poor, food average, property dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - kids and junior club v poor, food average, property dated”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

stayed at pine cliffs over Easter. Sport facilities are good AND EXPENSIVE but it feels like they do not trust their clientele at all which is very surprising given the cost. Tennis courts really expensive per hour, towels need to leave a card to ensure they get them back, can only get 1 towel per person. Kids club and junior club is beyond uninspiring and a rip-off. Supervised football 14 per head, every activity has to be paid for. Equipment in the arcade shabby, table tennis bats broken etc. when we asked , we were told it was run by an outside company , too much info, client just wants it sorted.

All the restaurants are dark, 2 are in the basement which makes no sense considering people are getting away to the sun.

The shops are quite useless, I didn't see anyone in them while I was there and it looks like they bought the stock 20 years ago.
It's a shame to waste the facilities here as they are fantastic but a decent overhaul could double the occupancy,

Not a patch on the equivalent hotels in the US or Caribbean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We genuinely appreciate your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

We truly regret to learn about your disappointment and we are sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations, for what we would like to present our most sincere apologies. Your remarks were worth of our best attention and we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our consideration.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our Hotel and Resort.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    215
    69
    24
    20
See reviews for
460
125
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the main hotel and not the residence. We were disappointed that there was no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. This was a real put off every morning. The resort is in a beautiful location and really beautiful. Staff are helpful and friendly. Again, there is a lack of vegetarian main dishes. We were half board and I didn't enjoy this aspect that Sheraton caters mainly for people eating meat or sea food. Staff are helpful so Chef would make veg dish for me but there was no variation. We have decided to go bed and breakfast next time for this reason.
Car hire is essential if you want to do sightseeing. We hired a car for 3 days and you can do this at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavitaP902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at TripAdvisor. Your comments are highly appreciated and were worth of our best attention.

Kindly be informed that although our rooms are not originally equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, we are happy to provide them upon our guest request.

While we are thankful for your kind words about our associates helpfulness and friendliness, we truly regret to learn that our vegetarian offer at the Restaurants didn´t met your expectations, for what we would like to present our most sincere apologies.

We hope to welcome you back for a future visit.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We visited as a family with small children and also grandparents. The apartments were lovely and very spacious, set in pristine gardens. Perfect for a large group of friends and also families. The apartments are also very well equipped - all kitchen items and bathroom essentials provided!

The residences themselves are about 40 mins from the airport and set in the grounds of the Sheraton hotel - stunning little complex!

There were lots of pools - outdoor and also one indoor, tennis courts, golf club, gym, kids play area and a very clean beach at the bottom of the cliffs. Unfortunately the outdoor pools were too cold to enjoy and the kids club was also also closed as our visit was mid march - I'm sure they would have been great additions to the trip if we'd gone later in the year. there's also a little train - which helps get you around the complex as its quite big - however again as it was off season this wasn't in operation. Nevertheless if we wanted to head out as a family in the evenings - a quick call to reception and a minivan would come collect us and drop us at other parts of the complex.

The staff here are also very nice and friendly - always great you with a smile and are happy to help with all requests. We even asked for a birthday cake for my dad to be delivered the day after we arrived and sure enough it arrived - and was delicious!!! :) The only negative re service was cleaning - they left it til very late in the day to come clean the apartments, often when we were back after a day of exploring - the complex was hardly busy so that kinda baffled me a little!

Other than that the only slight negative would be whilst this place is touted as being somewhere where you dont need a car - one would have been very handy as you could get a little stir crazy being stuck in the complex for too long. It could also prove to be quite expensive eating in the hotel all the time, fortunately there is a supermarket nearby for essentials and also some very reasonable restaurants nearby serving great food at reasonable prices.

If returning to this area I would defiantly book again as it was excellent value overall and the quality of the apartments is fantastic ... although next time I'd like to come when everything is open and the weather a little warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to acknowledge how much you have enjoyed your family holidays at our Resort and we are happy to learn that the Pine Cliffs Residence Suites fulfilled your expectations.
We truly appreciate your kind words about our Resort and we are glad to note that despite some of our facilities were closed for the season, all family had a good time and was well looked after by our associates.

Your comments about the cleaning service were were worth of our best consideration and we would like to thank you for the time you took to bring these matters to our attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused and on a future visit we kindly ask you to inform us when it would be the most convenient time to have your Suite cleaned and we will be pleased to attend and take care of your special requests or preferences.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to our Resort in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

This complex which includes a Sheraton Hotel, serviced apartments and villas is without doubt the most family- friendly place we have ever started at. We were guests of the new Residence apartments 6 times in the last few years. The apartments are very spacious (about 200 square metres for the 3 bedroom units), modern furnishings including flat screen TVs in every room. They all surround a beautiful 9 hole golf course. There are 5 outdoor pools and 1 indoor pool, an amazing tennis department run by a great north american coach called Britt, a pirate ship which hosts the under 8 kids club and afternoon activities such as archery and football for the over 8s. The beach (which you reach through a lift) is breathtaking with its white sand dunes and orange Cliff backdrop. There are various restaurants and a beach bar, a spa, 2 gyms. The service is impeccable and very friendly. The only bit which is not absolutely amazing is the price/quality of the food in the restaurants: it's good but just costs a bit too much for what they offer. If you like cooking then there are plenty of Supermarkets and a well equipped kitchen in the apartments.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaialondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your preference and continued support to our Hotel & Resort.

We were happy to learn that you and your family have once again enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that the Residence Suites fully meet your expectations. We highly appreciate your kind words about our associates and your detailed description of the Resort facilities and services.

Your comments about the price/quality of the food at our restaurants are much valuable to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and also we would like to present our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcome you and your family again at the Resort.

Kindest regards,

Guest Relation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This huge resort is probably one of the best place I went these last years. Perfect for golfers, nature lovers with beautiful trails along the south of portugal coast, and for family with children (especially off season).

The quality of the estate is just perfect, with 4* hotel services in very big apartments, and various dining option.

A place to discover once in a lifetime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf, no seea view available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaco_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted with your kind words about our Resort facilities. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we are happy to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay and that the accommodation provided, as well as the variety of culinary options available at our Restaurants met your expectations.

We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swizerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Were in October 2012 for the 5th time in a row in Pine Cliffs and to me it seems to get better and better (especially the service has improved noticably in quality (personal touch), and it was already very good to begin with).
For an excellent family holiday this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwizerlandRoisindubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference and loyalty to our Hotel & Resort. It is very rewarding to receive such compliments about the service provided and we are very happy to acknowledge that you have fully enjoyed your recent stay with us and that everything was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have been staying here for the last 10 years every August and can't fault it, it is the best solution if you have small children or teenagers as you can either eat at the hotel or cook your own food in the excellent kitchen in the apartment which includes a dishwasher, cooker, microwave,washing machine/tumble dryer and of course a large fridge freezer. The house keeping is also excellent so you really feel that you are on holiday as you don't have to clear up after everyone... I would like to see an improvement with regards to the mattress provided for the sofa bed as it is very thin and uncomfortable, we may have to bring a blow up mattress this year unless one can be provided? If you have young children I can recommend the children clubs as you can leave them for 1-2 hours or all day if you wish. Excellent swimming pools with beach towels provided. On the whole if you are looking for a family holiday then this is the place to go in Portugal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course on the 2nd floor to ensure you don't have noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's rewarding to see that you keep choosing our resort for your family holidays and it is motivating to see that our facilities are up and keep exceeding your expectations. We also appreciate your kind remarks regarding our mattresses that well be taken in consideration to help to improve our general guests satisfaction.

Thank you for being a truly Ambassador of our resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
2,110 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Starwood EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Pierre & Vacances, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing