We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Had a great holiday with our 6 year old and 3 year old, would not go without the Kids, very much a family resort! 2 bedroom apartment very well appointed with great spec. flat screen tv's, washing machine, dishwasher etc.. we were on half board and ate in all the restaurants, food and staff generally very good, drinks a little pricey but to be expected. Good selection of pools and a great beach, so able to avoid the crowds or find similar aged kids to entertain ours in the Pool! Kids loved the bumpy noddy train and the warm pool, highly recommend for a family holiday..

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank taffyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your family holidays at our Resort and we are happy to learn that the Pine Cliffs Residence Suite fulfilled your expectations and had everything your family needed for a relaxing vacation.

We genuinely appreciate your kind words about our associates, service and Resort grounds and we look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    215
    69
    24
    20
See reviews for
459
125
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from the pine cliffs.. Was expecting sooo much more - was really disappointed. Party of 2 adults 3 kids (5, 3, & 6months).. No real welcome at check-in, really abrupt and rude, no information on where anything is situated, bags dumped into the house. The house that was recommended by booking staff was completely unsuitable for young children, was dark, stank of must and was dirty ( we had to move) food very average and really pricy.. The houses had nothing - not even tea or coffee (typical in any 2 star hotel room ).

This may have been a 5 star resort back in the day but not anymore.. Yes the grounds are amazing, the pools and the surrounds are beautiful but the staff have missed the trick.. Also the exorbitant charges for everything are outrageous- kids scooters, bikes, buggies, DVD players all had to be rented at crazy prices.. Bottled water, cup of coffee 5 times the price. A real sense of charge, charge, charge..

Was really looking forward to this holiday with family -Expected 5 star, paid for 5 star and got a holiday inn experience - really disappointed..

Room Tip: Insist on a town house close to the hotel or request on the golf residence..
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor.

Although we regret to learn that our Resort didn’t met your expectations, we genuinely appreciate your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards. Your remarks were worth of our best attention and we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our consideration.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced and in order to improve our service, we would like to invite you to discuss your comments further with us at the following e-mail address 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel and Resort.

Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We had a gorgeous stay in this resort and we would definitely like to return. It was pure luxury and ticks all the boxes. It is so spacious , beautiful green areas, amazing beach and wonderful breakfast buffet, the rooms are nice too and staff are very nice. Peri peri restaurant onsite serves fantastic steak. The only negative was our visit to the hotels 'o grill' restaurant. We are a couple with no children and the restaurant concierge recommend their o grill restaurant to us. I was unsatisfactory for us because it was full of screaming kids , it was very hard to order meat or fish in the grill, the chef seemed to intentionally delay and ignore customers in order to minimize food served. Also there could have been another chef on. It was like a stampede trying to get served in the grill part of the restaurant. We ordered 3portions of prawns from the grill, we got one. The bill for out visit to the grill came to over 100 euro, it was really not worth it . The concierge misrepresented this restaurant to us and we were disappointed. Apart from this the hotel was really good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiesmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Supervisor at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having had the time to share your comments from your previous stay with us.
We were happy to know that almost everything was up to your requirements and also took notice about our Mediterranean restaurant, for which we would like to apologize for the experience. Kindly note that we have had excellent comments about our chef and food, in the meantime, due to school holidays the Residence Apartment areas are chosen by families which normally by convenience dine in that restaurant.
We do hope you can grant another visit to Pine Cliffs Resort and have a another great holiday in the near future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful location! Restaurants were great. Beach dining was truly wonderful! Dining at the ninth hole overlooking the cliffs at sunset was spectacular. In-room service for breakfast was great.
We had a two floor apt when there with our 20 month old and that was a bit tough. But enjoyed all that this hotel had to offer. This was a business and family trip. Indoor pool was perfect. Hot tub...had it all to myself one afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTillybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Supervisor at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you have had a most enjoyable stay at Pine Cliffs Resort.
We took particular notice about business and family trip which was great to realize that it met your requirements.
We look forward to welcome you back to Pine Cliffs Resort.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at The Sheraton we had high expectations, but were completely bowled over by the amazing apartments at Pine Cliffs. We hired two, two-bedroom apartments and they cannot be faulted for cleanliness or quality. The O'Grill is fine if you are half-board, but not good value for an evening meal if you are paying as there is very little variety and no option for a la carte. Staff are friendly and professional - even finding a dentist for me to experience the wonders of root canal treatment during the stay! We found the supermarket just outside the grounds a great source of lunch foods etc as the on site deli is limited and pricey. Such a clean, charming resort. Thoroughly recommend block S11 and the super tennis coaching staff.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mum-of-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Team at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Pine Cliffs Residence. We are happy to know that you have had a most pleasant stay and that you enjoyed fully the Residence, restaurant and all the nice gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at Pine Cliffs Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Pine Cliffs Residence apartments after a wonderful relaxing holiday. Our party included 3 children, ages 1, 4 and 10 and 5 adults, all ages were well catered for. We ate in the complex every night and the buffet restaurant / grill was an ideal place to eat as we could all have different meals. The only down side was the price!! We also ate breakfast here, which was delicious and the choice was fast! The restaurant could do with some more inside space to avoid guests having to freeze on cooler days!!
Due to the sea and the outdoor pools being a little cool, due to the time of year, we decided to take the children swimming in the health club pool, on entering the health club we requested towels and were asked if we had hats, we were not aware that this was compulsory for this pool, so were made to purchase hats at a price of €4.50 each. Due to the size of our party this ended up costing a total of €27. To all of our annoyance, on entering the pool we found several people without hats on.....if you going to have this rule firstly it should apply to all....and secondly a 5* hotel should provide these free of charge or maybe donate the proceeds to charity!!
The apartments were well appointed and very comfortable, we were in block S8, a short walk from the Grill, reception and out door pool. Again a few small things let the place down. There was no "welcome pack", we expected something similar to Center Parcs, e.g a sachet of washing up liquid, a cloth, and dishwasher tablet, but no such thing. Instead we had to purchase these items from the very expensive supermarket!!
All in all this was a great holiday, in beautiful surroundings, with lovely staff!! It was very unfortunate that a few small things were missed by a 5* resort!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggsy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having had the time to share your feedback at Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant holiday at Pine Cliffs Residence, despite some points less positive. Kindly be informed that Residence units are self-catering and should guests require extra items in the accommodations there is an extra cost. The indoor pool requires the compulsory use of swimming caps, which we regret to learn that some guest did not respect the rule.
In the meantime, we have forwarded your comments to the respective department in order to improve our services in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Left the children with granny and grandad and treated ourself to this break , was wonderful .Pine cliffs is gorgeous so classy.
The pool area is so relaxing gorgeous pool bar and restaurant it's idyllic.
I could live in the apartments.
We had a cliff elevator to the beach and boardwalk , the beach is impressive , long ,wide , with backdrop of red rocks. We walked it all the way to neighboring Vilamoura.
Pine cliffs grounds are lovely and are great for walking at nighttime.
Although we left our kids home I will still mention the playground that they would of loved , it's huge an looks great fun..
We looked at the rooms of the hotel as a future reference but to be honest whilst they were nice they are not a patch on the apartments.
We travelled very lightly with hand luggage only , so it kept the price of our flight down , we also got a good price for a transfer to pine cliffs with yelloww fish transfers these guys were great and very organised as we arrived 25 minutes early , a lady rep met us at the airport and as our driver was delayed due to our flight arriving early she just made a call and suddenty appeared another driver to take us with no waiting around .
Pine cliffs for us was a treat after a stressful period , whilst we don't want another stressful period we would like another excuse to visit again ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted with your kind words about our Resort facilities and the service provided and we are pleased to understand that the Pine Cliff Residence Suite unit fully met your expectations.

It is always gratifying to receive such praise and we are happy to learn how much you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the Resort grounds, swimming pools, bars and Restaurants, your comments are extremely valuable to us.

We hope you find many excuses to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TravelUp, Pierre & Vacances, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing