We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

it is a quite and relaxing place the golf is a amazing food is excellent and lovely the staff are kind and very helpful lovely place if you want a relaxing place.the food is lovely the restaurants have amazing views and lovely lobsters the fish is amazing and lovely it is my second stay in 2013

Room Tip: the suites are very nice if you have a big famly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thankfull for your kind words on our Golf course, food and our associates kindness and helpfulness. Your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you again this year or in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    223
    72
    24
    22
See reviews for
475
135
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Pine Cliffs two years ago and decided to go again with 5 year old twins + 16 month old baby
Both times the accommodation has been excellent, I wonder how much cleaning and maintenance they must do to keep everywhere looking so pristine?! Hotel breakfast was a treat every day and staff were helpful in bringing high chairs, telling us not to worry about baby screaming and throwing food around the place etc
Find that it's best of both worlds - great hotel facilities and dining if you want it but also fully kitted to cater for yourselves if you need to - easy to put kids' milk in the microwave rather than room service which we've had to do at other 'family' hotels! Also with a washing machine you can wash stuff properly if you want to. And daily maid service means it's a proper holiday for mum too.
Went to a few of the restaurants which were all great, expensive but worth it
Also went to a few of the local restaurants just outside of the hotel complex which were also good but obviously cheaper and a bit easier with badly behaved children!
Only hitches this time were:
kids all got a fever + tummy bug while we were there - there was another family whose children had this too - not anything that the hotel could do about it really
we wished that we'd put our wallets into the in-room safe as a few notes disappeared from husband's and my wallets - our own fault for being super relaxed at a place we'd been to before.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRPARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy to acknowledge that you have chosen our Resort once again for your family holidays and that you have fully enjoyed your recent stay with us, as well as the surrounding areas.

We appreciate your kind words, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services and we would like to invite you to contact us on 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com in order to properly address your final remarks about the missing notes in the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family for another holiday at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

As you may see from my other reviews, i am fairly easy to please, but if i am honest, i left the Sheraton a little underwhelmed.

The positives:

The food was outstanding, in every restaurant we visited, of which there are several, my family and i never had cause to complain once. The seafood restaurants food stood out above all, but to be honest, the food in each restuarnat was faultless.

The drinks reception was superb, lovely evening, and i would highly recommend it. If i'm honest, i thought it would be a time share pitch, but we were left quietly to ourselved to enjoy one of the best views i have ever seen. stunning!!

The golf course was in superb form, greens rolling well, and fairwars in immaculate condition

The negatives:

The staff were friendly enough when they finally came over to your table, but to call the service slow is a massive understatement. The staff really did not seem to have a clue about good service, there were even occasions when i had to adios my own plates!! Starters and mains were brought out within minutes of each other, with staff tutting when we asked them to take the mains away until we had finished our starters. The service was that frustrating, after the third of fourth complaint i lost interest.

My mother in laws air conditioning did not work from day one, they sent a mechanic to fix it, but after the third attempt in as many days, i think he gave up. I only found out on the way back to the airport that the ac was not fixed, otherwise i would have said something to the manager, i was informed that when my mother in law complained to reception, they told her there were no rooms she could transfer too, and did not even give her a complimentary bottle of wine.

I received a letter in russian from reception, when i went down to say i was english, i was told they would rectify it, and bring the letter back to my room in english, the following morning i opened an envelop with a letter in Russian!! i again went back down to say i was not russian, she appologised again and said she would sort it. i never received the letter, so no idea what it said.

The biggest complaint i had, and this really did let the hotel down, was the fact that we went full board. i would not recommend this to anyone. the hotel did not seem to have a clue what this meant. I asked at reception what restaurants we could use, and was told all of them. So over the week we decided to try them out. At almost every restuarant we went to there were problems with ordering. At one resturant one of the waitressess actually said (Sir you are full board, maybe you should try one of our 'budget restuarants'. I flipped, the full board option cost an extra £100 a day per person, so to be told i had to eat in a budget restaurant, as you can probably imagine, i was far from pleased.

the final issue was room service. after two days we wanted our towels changed, and following the request to put the towels on the hall floor, we put them on the floor as requested. Only to find the cleaners had hung the same towels up in the bathroom neatly folded. I was discussted, and to my suprise it wasnt just my room, two other rooms complained about the same thing. It got to the point where i left the towels outside the door of the hotel room!!

i have no doubt that the general manager will respond to this review, saying that should we go again, we should contact him etc etc etc. But we contacted the reception staff on serveral occasions to rectify the issues, and left very disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at TripAdvisor.

We regret to learn about the shortcomings experienced during your recent stay with us and that we have missed our opportunity to impress you whilst we had a chance to do so. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and we would like to invite you to contact us on 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com and give us the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay and personally apologize for the inconvenience experienced.

On a more positive note we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and we highly appreciate your compliments on our Golf course, the food quality at the Restaurants and that you had a chance to attend our Guest Cocktail during your stay.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and that we will have a chance to redeem ourselves. We are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.
Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Hotel last year, and after loving the whole resort, decided to try the Residence apartments this year and booked a Penthouse apartment. I requested a particular block on booking and they actually gave me the one I requested which was West facing ( I booked 1 year in advance).

Apartment is huge, clean, and fittings of a very high standard. Loved just chilling on the balcony and watching the sun go down.

Whole resort is excellent with lots of options.

Only gripe is the WIFI, I paid 210 euros for 2 weeks access for 3 devices ( for some reason there is no option for 2 devices , you can only pay for 1 or 3 devices), which in itself is not cheap, but the system keeps on requiring you to re log in on an annoying regular basis. I have never come across this anywhere in a hotel, as everywhere else i have stayed in the world on business or pleasure, normally once you have paid that's it. Management please try to see if this can be changed

Anyway won't stop me going again and will be rebooking again for the same time next year, and hopefully I can get the same block again with an early booking

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the Residences Suites fully met your expectations, as well as the location of your apartment. Your compliments are highly appreciated and your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services. Please rest assured that your remarks about the WIFI will have the best attention from our Management.

Thank you for your preference for our Resort and we look forward for your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the pine cliffs in June with our 2 little kids aged 3 and 20 months. This is a beautiful resort for families with very young children. The apartments are to a very high standard. The resort itself is quiet expensive. The staff are very professional and very accomodating and there is a fantastic range of restaurants and pools. Overall would return. The hubby really enjoyed the golf course too

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments on our associates, as well as your kind words about the Resort grounds and facilities and it makes us very happy to learn how much you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us!

We look forward for your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Pine Cliffs Residences. I am already planning our next 10 day visit! There are lots of positives for people like us with two small children - nearly 6 and 3. The flight was only 2hours 30 mins Luton to Faro. By taxi it's 30 mins to the resort and the time is the same. So we left the UK at 12.15, checked in, bought some drinks from the small on site supermarket and then were by the pool for 4.30pm. The apartments are modern, spacious and nicely furnished.

We booked half board and ate at the O Grill, jardin Colonial, Corda Cafe and Piri Pira restaurent. After reading plenty of reviews I agree the food at the O Grill could be better but it wasn't bad. The staff at the resort are very friendly and therefore I disagree with some of the negative remarks. I think if you are polite to people then they are the same back to you. The shuttle around the resort is very useful but always check times and be aware it could arrive a little early or late. The supermarket on site is very handy but if you dine at the Piri Piri restaurent you can send your hubby across the road to the supermarket whilst you enjoy a glass of wine!

We did use wifi in the room but at 9 euros for 24 hours I would se it foc in the Pine Cliffs Reception Area. So to summarise I would recommend the resort and whilst some things are more expensive it is a five star resort with excellent accommodation, lovely swimming pools and well kept gardens. Plus all the fellow tourists we met were very friendly and some nice friendships were made. If not sooner we will return next July!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted with your kind words about the Hotel gounds, food, services and facilities and it makes us very happy to learn how much you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are already planning your next visit to our Resort!

Your compliments on our associates friendliness and helpfulness are also highly appreciated and we are thankful for your recommendation.

We can’t wait to welcome you back again next July or in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

First impressions of this resort were great. It is picturesque, sprawling, green and spacious. Seems to have good family facilities.

Our apartment was beautiful and well appointed, the kitchen had everything we needed and more.
It was clean and tidy with comfortable beds and ample bathroom facilities for all our guests.

However...

As our stay wore on, we realised that not everything was ideal.

The buffet breakfast was good but there was no variety. The fruit offered was of varying standard - some days it was mainly tinned fruit - the fresh was not good at all.

Buffet lunch and dinner was poor - again lacking in variety. There was literally no vegetarian option, unless you asked for it to be made specially (and then with a 45-60 minute wait). Often we ended up eating the kids option of penne with tomato sauce as there was nothing for vegetarians. Even the meat-eaters in our party were not impressed by the buffet.

The piri piri restaurant was good but again no veg options. One evening i spoke to th chef personally (waiting 15 min patiently outside the kitchen to do so) to prepare some chicken for my kids, which he said he could do. 30 min later, kids practically asleep, the waiter finally agrees to check - apparently the chef hadnt prepared the order!? Took another 15 min to get the food.

The staff were repeatedly rude. Very dismissive attitude, constant retorts - not what you expect from a 5* resort. The service just was not there.

Some members of staff were extremely kind and helpful and went above and beyond to help us out in our requests for kids food, bookings for a party of 9, etc. Flavia at the Japanese restaurant was especially helpful, as was Miguel in the jardim colonial.

The reception staff were all rude every time any of us tried to make a request - on one occasion our taxi (that they had booked for us) was 1 hour late and still no apology or offer of help. We just had to wait for the car to turn up! Despite us calling reception a couple of times, nothing was done.

The concierge desk were helpful sometimes, but there was one lady who was just shockingly abrupt in her manner.

Overall, if you want good service and value for money don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank User0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards. We regret to hear about the several shortcomings experienced during your stay and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Costumer care is among our highest priorities and we took your remarks very seriously. Kindly note that our Management Team will have the best attention on your comments, should you wish to address any subject in particular, please contact us on 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel and Resort and make your next stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing