We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best for family holiday”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A great place to spend a vacation with the family. We were three adults and three children. Good food, large green spaces for walking and sports, tennis court, small golf court and the beach is very clean and full of nice people. The rooms are very large in hotel and huge apartments in individual houses. Many shows and evening entertainment for children and adults. The breakfast is very generous and varied. For the dinner there are many options inside of the resort and in the vicinity. Congratulations, we liked

Room Tip: The rooms in villas near the tennis courts are quiet then the rooms from the hotel terraces and bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavril Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your post on TripAdvisor, it is very important for us to receive your kind words. We are thrilled to learn that you and your family had a relaxing and wonderful stay with us. Your highlight in regards to our facilities and restaurants are highly appreciated.

We do hope that your memories of our resort will bring you back here in the near future and we look forward to welcome you.

Exceptionally yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    219
    71
    24
    20
See reviews for
464
133
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Residence in S block overlooking the pool and golf course. The apartment was well appointed, very comfortable beds (would have prefers duvet covers as opposed to 2 sheets sandwiching the duvet) and had everything necessary to have a great stay and self cater if required (well equipped kitchen, washing machine, dryer etc.).Our apartment was right next to the reception, supermarket (has the essentials but is quite limited) and gym. The resort has multiple pools, a good kids playground (with a bouncy castle and mini-golf), the golf course, driving range and tennis courts. There are organised activities (eg football tournament), kids club and sports tuition and access to the beach with water sports.
All in all very good, so why did I give it a rating of 'average', 3 stars? Well, we found the food experience in the restaurants mixed having tried the O'Grill (next to the pool), the Piri Piri (at the exit of the hotel) and the Beach Club (literally on the beach). I would definitely recommend the Beach Club, great location on the beach, perfect to watch the sunset and for the kids to play on the beach between courses. The grilled fish is good, the rest of the menu was Ok, but expensive compared to similar off resort beach restaurants (definitely try Passaro Azul short drive away - excellent). We found the O'Grill average at best and I would recommend steering clear of dinner where you are forced to have the buffet (not befitting a 5 star resort, mediocre and way overpriced for the quality of food). Piri Piri did not live up to its name. It turned out to be a steak restaurant with poor Piri Piri chicken (lacked taste), dry ribs and really poor quality starters. Portugal is about good, fresh food served simply - we did not feel these restaurants did service to the quality of food available. The restaurants were a little too 'international'.
Another gripe is the expense. Obviously you are captive on resort so you expect to pay more than other retardants, but charging EUR 37 for a bottle of wine available for EUR 4 in the supermarket just outside the resort is a little steep. The other annoying expense is the internet charge EUR 8 per day for one device! Totally unnecessary for a resort of this stature. You can get free internet access in the reception only, with a pitifully small coverage area. Starwood gold and platinum get one device free.

Room Tip: The apartments have juicers.buy fresh oranges from the road side stalls and juice away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor, your comments are highly appreciated and help us to improve our services.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments on our facilities and apartments are so much appreciated. Your remarks were worth of our best attention and promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best wishes,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been to the pine cliffs resort For at least 12 years in a row now and i have enjoyed every moment i have been there since the days i played in the Porta Porelta kids club with two giant pirate ships that my friends and i used to play on all day with the lovely sunshine and the sea breeze to the days now when i sunbathe on the exclusive beach with the long decking staircase down to the beach restaurant at the bottom. In the evenings there is a bar on the cliffside which overlooks the stunning beach in the sunset with the sun setting into the calm sea . The rooms are absolutely superb and i would recommend them to everyone and anyone ! The resort is very spacious and has an excellent choice of restaurants to go to but our family favourite is the Piri Piri . The food all over the resort is fantastic and there is such a wide variety of food each with a unique taste and texture. There are various pools on the resort so you never have to go to the same place everyday . for the evenings we travel to the local harbour called Villa Mora with a hagen daz ice cream pal our fabulous restraints and unlimited supplies of exclusive shops to browse around. I strongly suggest the resort to any family or couple looking for a place in the sun either to relax in or improve a sport in the sun like tennis swimming and even golf ! we have had lots of fun and i would definately go there again if i could !

Room Tip: All the rooms re spectacular but the block of flats nearest the tennis courts are quiet and have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comments regarding our property and how important is this place in your memory since you played at the Porto Pirata. It is very rewarding to see your loyalty, thank you very much
It is kind of you to highlight all the rooms and the food of our restaurants. We are truly proud of being a part of your life.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the experience you always have here with us. Your comments are much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you again and again in the future.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our third year at the Pine Cliffs resort, staying in a 3 bedroom residence garden apartment. The accommodation is of a very high standard and cleaned every day to a high standard. There is no complimentary Wi-Fi in the residences though you can pay for it - can't remember exactly how much but think it was approximated £10 a day. There are private patios with garden furniture outside. There are several pools - we tended to use the casa pine cliffs which was unheated but fine at the end of June / July - it would probably be very cold off season. It's spacious so you don't feel like you're right on top of the people next to you and there are plenty grassy areas around the pool for children to play tennis, football etc. We were half board. We had breakfast at O Grill every morning - staff are great and food is fabulous. In the evening we tended to use O Grill, Corda cafe or Piri Piri. O Grill was much better than previous years, great sea food cooked to order and plenty of choice for children. Corda is also family friendly but there is a real faulty towers approach to service!! Very disorganised, not taking bookings etc. When you did manage to sit down the food was always good. Steaks are fab at piri piri. Mirador is lovely for a drink at sunset with the famous pine cliffs views. Our main disappointment this year was the fact that the beach restaurant was not open in the evening. Evening meals there had been a highlight in previous years and we were told at check in that it would be open in a few days but kept getting told different stories about why it wasn't open - too quiet, too windy, private functions etc. the beach seems like a bit of a trek, particularly from the far end of the resort, but it's definitely worth it! Overall, we had a fantastic family holiday and will definitely consider going back in the future. I feel a bit mean giving three stars for service - many of the staff are fantastic, unfortunately this isn't consistent across the board (some are truly awful!!) hence the lower rating,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your feedback about your recently visit to Pine Cliffs Residences.

It is a thrill to read that you had a wonderful family holiday with us and your kind words on the customer service, junior club and the apartment are highly appreciated. We are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations

We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Pine cliffs residences are just lovely. We stayed in a garden access 2 bedroomed suite and the accommodation is lovely. There is a well stocked kitchen if you are self catering. The on site supermarket is limited and quite expensive but there are local supermarkets just outside the resort. Suites have a good laundry and are really comfortable. The overall resort is very spread out - we rented bikes for the kids and I would recommend this or to take scooters. There is a land train but it doesn't always run as per the timetable which is frustrating if you relying on it to get around in the evenings with the kids.

The food at resort restaurants is quite good, again expensive, but it is a 5* resort.

It is fairly close to faro airport but you need a car to explore local attractions such as zoomarine/vilamoura etc.

Ultimately the resort is a little on the large size for my husband and I but the kids love it cos of the kids pirate play area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ju713t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you and your family have enjoyed so much your stay with us. Thank you for posting your kind compliments on TripAdvisor.

Your comments were highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back again at our property where more unique experiences are waiting for you.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our second year in a row staying at this fabulous resort. We are a married couple with 4 kids under 6 so its not easy to find somewhere where its equally as good for the kids as it is for the adults. The residence is a step up from the main hotel villas (where we stayed the previous year) but well worth it. We also booked through Scott Dunn which had their own kids club which was superb - every day they took the kids somewhere different - beach, pool, go-karts, arcades etc. and all the nannies were fantastic. The facilities of the Pine Cliffs are superb - lots of great pools, its own private beach, fabulous restaurants, pristine golf course, tennis area, spa etc.. Really in 2 weeks there was no need to even leave the resort. I really can't rate this place highly enough - it's easily the ultimate family resort- I cant think of anything they could do to improve the place

Room Tip: Go for the residence - pricey but worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrL1975_belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your kind words and to know that you have enjoyed your second stay at Pine Cliffs Resort. Your kind words describing the facilities, activities and the residences are such a praise, we do not have words to express what we feel after reading such a great warm review. Thank you very much, it is very rewarding to receive your recognition.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your review towards our resort and we look forward to welcome you and your family to our resort again where more indigenous and unique experiences are waiting.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have no hesitation in giving Pine Cliffs Resort a 5 star review, we had a wonderful family holiday there in July. The apartment was fantastic, the kids club was really well run, there are loads of activities and the customer service is excellent.

We traveled with 3, 6 and 12 year old children. Just a few points that may help people with young families.

1. We initially booked a townhouse but this was not ideal for young kids as there are lots of stairs and most townhouses are not that close to swimming pools. We upgraded to an apartment which was more expensive but definitely worth it.

2. The resort is very large so a pushchair is good for getting around with small children. We hired an adult bike with kids seat for our youngest which may be another option.

3. We did not use the beach as it is quite a long walk with young kids with lots of steps and very hot in July. The beach is fine, just better for older kids.

4. The food and service is excellent but as pointed out by others the restaurants are expensive to eat at every day. Every restaurant we tried just outside the hotel gates was good and a lot cheaper.

5. The children really liked the Kids Club, the staff are very friendly, there are lots of fun activities and there is plenty of shade and water provided for little ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rord08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your feedback about your recently visit to Pine Cliffs Residences.

It is a thrill to read that you had a wonderful family holiday with us and your kind words on the customer service, junior club and the apartment are highly appreciated. We are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations

We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing