We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please take note management”
Review of Hotel da Gale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel da Gale
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Please take note management”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Firm believer in you get what you pay for and as we knew this was a 2 star hotel so we were not expecting a great deal. We had two rooms. One had a balcony with a nice view overlooking the bay. The beds were comfortable but the furniture and bathroom were shabby and in desperate need of replacing. The second room was on the inner section and although did have a window it overlooked a courtyard and was dark and stuffy throughout the stay. That bathroom was newer but the toilet seat wouldn't stay up and rested on the back of the person using the toilet! Breakfast time was 9am to 10.30am, which is quite late and therefore everyone came together and so it was a daily bun fight! The restaurant area was too small and cramped. The staff where efficient and did their best to keep up with demand. There was plenty of food, although not much choice but there was often a shortage of cutlery, crockery and glasses. Interestingly the orange drink was replaced one morning by fizzy Fanta! There didn't appear to be enough staff throughout the hotel considering it was full at the time of our stay. Our room was cleaned 3 out of the 7 days but that was mainly because house keeping called at 5-6pm when we were getting ready to go for dinner. There is notices informing guests towels and sheets would be changed ever 3 days but the sheets were not changed at all and we had to ask for fresh towels and toilet paper on day 4. The towels were well worn and some had holes. The swimming pool was nice but there was no sunshades and the whole of the outside looked unkept. The location is really good, and in fairly easy access to the beach, old town, marina and bus stops. It wouldn't suit everyone as it is uphill and there are a lot of steps. The lift was out of order all week. The Reception staff were brilliant and worked very hard. They are let down by management. They spend their whole time apologising to guests for things mentioned above and a whole lot more. It is such a shame because even though it is a 2 star hotel it didn't really deserve that rating and it wouldn't take much investment to make it just a little more comfortable, and therefore good value for money. Please take note management.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william010713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    52
    42
    103
See reviews for
41
115
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co.clare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and myself stayed for a week in July The hotel is very basic but clean and functional. The steps may be issue for some. The pool is good but but the bar only opened one night while we were there. Breakfast was a joke. The staff are nice the rate was good and over all it was okay

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the car park and skip but we did book late. So ask for One over looking t...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisaltur, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Hotel da Galé wants to thank you for your feedback about your holiday on our hotel.

We want to apologies if the bar as closed on your stay. Normally the bar opens at 4 pm until 12 pm.

I understand that our breakfast was very simple but we will improve them.

We hope you return to our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Hotel da Galé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Perfect for the price!!

Amazing view over the ocean, the most beautiful breakfast that I ever had with seagles trying to make me company!!!

Great beach hotel, amazing staff, very clean and tidy, I recommend!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gon_alo_A189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisaltur, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for the excellent feedback that you give to Hotel da Galé. It's very good to know that our clients are leaving very happy with our hotel and our services.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel da Galé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The only decent thing about the hotel is the frontdesk. The are really kind and offer a great service. But that's it, any other thing about the hotel is really poor (and it's not a cheap hotel).

First of all, we paid for a room "with sea view" and they interpreted this as "having a 45° view to the sea and some buildings covering it". Although we complained they said there were no other rooms left.

Infrastructure was also terrible. Rooms are really old and dirty and do not even have A/C (in a beach town, you can imagine it's really hot during summer). The elevator is old and you feel unsafe every time you use it.

Localization was not good either. Far away from the beach, the clubs and the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a room with view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoso9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My girlfriend & I spent 1 week at the Da Gale in September 2012, I will list each department and write a brief honest description.


The Room - We had a room without a balcony, so can only give our opinion of a 'standard' room, it was clean and very basic, It is suitable for backpackers or someone who is on a tight budget.
We were expecting a double bed but we were given 2 single beds pushed together, There was a a small television, a wardrobe and a very small table all serving their purpose, The sheets and pillows were clean.

The Bathroom - was dated and quite grim, the shower mat was grubby and needed replacing, the sink was okay but the shower needed a good clean,

The Navy Bar - it rained a couple of nights we were there and thought we could go and sit at the bar on the upper floor and have a drink... the bar wasn't open once whilst we were there.

The Breakfast - if you like bread (not toast), jam, cereal & terrible coffee you will love the breakfast at Da Gale - its all they serve.

The Area - we read that the hotel was 50 meters from the beach, IT IS NOT!!! it is approximately 450 meters from the beach, the walk is fine but from the beach to the hotel it is all up hill, defiantly not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

The Staff - the reception staff were neither poor nor great, there was nothing wrong with what they did or said. the cleaners were friendly bur they did not clean the room everyday like we were told they would, it was more like once every three days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 1 week in September 2012. Very nice views, lovely area and amazing weather. The hotel had a nice little swimming pool and was very peaceful. The hotel was kept very clean and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. However on the downside the location of the hotel was at the top of a steep hill (ok for us, but would be no good for elderly or families with pushchairs. The breakfast was very basic and the same everyday we had it (bread, jam, hot drinks, orange juice, cornflakes, apple or orange). Our room had no facilities but did have an ensuite bathroom. All in all had lovely holiday and would recommend it only as a B & B and hotel.

Room Tip: Room 606 is right below the breakfast area and one of the main corridors for getting up to the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

my husband and i spent 1 week at hotel da gale in albufiera in sept 2012. its situated in the old town of albufiera which is beautiful, and only 5-10 min walk from beach and town. the hotel its self is very basic, but its clean and the reception staff are so friendly and helpful. dont bother with breakfast, its only cereal, apples, oranges or bread and jam provided, and there is no hotel bar, but there is a lovely roof top swimming pool, its only small but nice and clean with a stunning view and was quite quiet so we often had it to our selves. we requested a room with a sea view, which we got, but the view was in the distance, but it was there, (its the thought that counts). this hotel is no good for elderly, disabled or guests with push chairs as there is a huge flight of stairs at both entrances. all in all this hotel was basic but clean and was in the perfect location. the holiday its self was perfect so we couldnt have asked for more and highly recommend old town albufeira for any age, couples or families, but maybe only stay at this hotel if you can manage the stairs and dont mind your accomadtion on the simple side. (ps. if possible request a room not right oppersite the lift as that was a bit noisy in the night!)

Room Tip: we had room no.203 which did have a slight sea view but as we said above was right oppersite the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#126 of 154 in Albufeira
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#130 of 154 in Albufeira
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#109 of 154 in Albufeira
180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#62 of 154 in Albufeira
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Gale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Gale

Property: Hotel da Gale
Address: Largos dos Lusiadas - Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel da Gale 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Gale is a small beach hotel. Its style is very Portuguese, it has 60 double and triple rooms, with or without balcony, and almost all have a sea view. All rooms have their own private bathroom with bathtub, a telephone, safety box and cable TV. The top floor is home to the Navy Bar, with its panoramic view. This is where we serve breakfast and create a friendly relaxing atmosphere right through to until midnight, with background music to soothe you as you gaze out to sea and across the marvellous Albufeira coastline. ***************************************** E uma pequena unidade hoteleira de praia de estilo bem portugues com 60 quartos (duplos e triplos), com ou sem varanda, quase todos com vista para o mar. Todos os quartos tem casa-de-banho privativa com banheira, telefone, cofre e TV por Cabo. No ultimo andar temos o nosso "Navy Bar" com uma vista panoramica, onde servimos os Pequenos-almocos e criamos uma atmosfera simpatica e relaxante, ate a meia-noite, com musica ambiente para o servir, vislumbrando o mar e a maravilhosa costa de Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Gale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Gale Albufeira
Da Gale Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Da Gale Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing