We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Um - don't expect anything and you won't be disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Gale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel da Gale
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Um - don't expect anything and you won't be disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Got home 2 days ago - Very budget hotel. I would agree with all the reviews below good and bad. I would say its a base and if you don't expect anything other than a bed and a 'shower' then thats what it is. Very dated in need of a complete overhall. We had a nest on the balcony with 3 dead chicks fallen out of it. The toilet seat fell off completely on check in??!! The breakfast was hit and miss. Cornflakes where just ok, bread was just ok (some days) orange drink was disgusting!

The hotel is at the top of a very steep, cobbled stoned hill. Hard walk every day.Followed by 66 steps to reception!!!! (back entrance) But if your fit(ish) you'll be fine. It is more of a back packers place really but again its cheap so go with open mind. Pool - um...small but functional. Met a great family from Ireland and a couple from Milton keynes who were the only ones who spoke to us the whole week. We had fun with the kids but it didn't meet with approval of other guests oops.

Would I stay again?? Not by choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in 410. Good view and close to pool and reception. So I'd say high floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summersmile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    50
    40
    100
See reviews for
40
106
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clean rooms
New towels
Helpful staff
Nice view from balcony
Breakfast- Cereal, milk and the rolls were nice. Beautiful view from the bar
Perfect location- Few minutes walk from the beach and only 5 minute taxi to the strip.

Bad points
Foul smell from the bathroom
Water was only hot on occasions
Dirty floors- Rooms were cleaned but the floors clearly weren't brushed once all week.
Breakfast- Why bother putting a bowl full of fruit out if every single piece was bruised and clearly a few days old?.. only giving people something to complain about. The orange juice literally tasted poisonous. Didn't try the coffee but I heard a lot of people complaining about it.

Overall my expectations weren't high because it was ridiculously cheap and I had read all of the previous reviews so I was prepared. The hotel is not as bad as some are making out. If your looking for a cheap hotel that you basically only use to sleep in and get ready in before you head out for the day then its perfect. Wouldn't recommend staying here if your gonna be spending your days lounging inside or by the pool because it is very basic and the pool is very small.

I would stay here again no problem if I was on as tight of a budget as I was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I understand that this is a budget hotel but I think a hostel would have been far better. We had booked a room on the upper floor with sea view (as recommended by Trip Advisor Reviews). We were given the key to our room (203). Attached photos which explain the view from this room. It was right next to the steps that lead to reception. Not very nice sitting on the balcony right next this public thoroughfare. The room itself was very dirty. As soon as you opened the door, there was an awful smell. The pillows provided were the size of sofa cushions. We immediately went to reception to ask to be moved as this is not type of room we had booked. The male member of staff said nothing could be done and was quite rude. Then one of the cleaners who had overheard our complaint called another member of staff. She said we couldn't be moved until Sunday as all rooms were full (arrived on Friday). We accepted this. We moved to room 308. This was marginally better but still not on the upper floors as booked. This room was still dirty. Towels not changed for the rest of our stay (4 days) the cleaners simply put them on the balcony to dry. Overall, the female staff on reception were pleasant and helpful, however the male staff were not. They were rude, abrupt and not helpful! We went for breakfast in the hotel. We never went again! All that was on offer was bread rolls, and cereal. There was a hot drinks machine and some juice, however, there were no glasses or cups and no staff seemed willing to help. I could go on about how awful this hotel is but it would turn into a novel. One final thing.... my partner had their mobile phone stolen from the hotel bar (which seemed to open when the staff could be bothered). When we reported this to reception, there was no interest and no offer of help. We reported to the police and the officer said that it wasn't the first time things had been stolen from this hotel. PLEASE look at photos as they explain a lot. I urge you not to book to stay at this so called 'hotel'

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are a young couple who went to Albufeira to celebrate the wedding anniversary. We had a tight budget so we booked Da Galé with some caution.

What we can say about the hotel? Was a wonderful surprise!

It is a pleasant place, quiet, careful staff, rooms with outdated furniture but very clean daily by the maid. We also had wi-fi in the room because we had a room in the last floor, so we could use the facebook and talk with our friends.

For a 2 stars is a great hotel. We can't ask for more!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

No warm welcome on arrival! Room check in was delayed extra half hour. Not shown to room and not easy to find. Dirty and extremely horrid smell in bathroom. Poor state of repair. Dirty bath mat we left on floor. Shower is a handheld attachment and horrid shower curtain. Window would open but not held in place properly so dangerous. Have some photos of bathroom to evidence but can't see yet where to upload these! Room very basic. Beds uncomfortable ..very hard but clean sheets. One coat hanger and one electric socket. We Complained but were told unable to change room. Had to buy disinfectant and incense sticks to be able to sleep in room. Went out all day until late. Clothes still smell. Breakfast in a very shabby room (carpet needs throwing away as does tatty furniture) was bread butter/jam and cereal. Horrid orange drink and often no coffee and poor tea bags. Queue for breakfast as always short of cutlery etc. staff only came when things needed replacing. Pool/terrace was unkempt with rubbish left for days. Unsafe for children. Wouldn't recommend using. There is a small safe in rooms which costs 2€ a day but rooms would be easy to break into so we kept valuables with us. Could hear people coming back to hotel all night as our room near steps! Management reply to these emails to say they making changes but look through reviews and it's been same for years. They also say complain whilst at hotel but we did and so have others! No response. Some of the reception staff rude and generally unhelpful. Stunning views? Who cares...free from the hills in Albufeira. Lots of fabulous 3* hotels that we saw and costing not much more but we went on a late booking. Surprised Da Gale got a 2*! Free Wifi in reception and up on terrace.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was an ideal location for our holiday, 10 min walk to the beach, 10 minute walk to the old town and 20 minute walk to the marina (double this time on the way home as the hills are steep). The only moan I have with this hotel is there is never any hot water, how many times you complain, you still don't get it - if you don't mind showering in cold water you are fine. Rooms are very basic, cleaned every 3 days, but watch them as the maids are lazy and you have to ask for new towels. For a cheap holiday, this is great - but if you require a little luxury please don't go....
We took our parents which are over 70, they found it very hard to get from the square, beach and marina - we just paid for a cab which was about 5euro

Room Tip: We were in room 310, this was a big balcony, medium room, small bathroom (great seaview) - parents h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAlfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel, we expected a basic stay as the price was so low. When we got there we requested to pay to upgrade to a room with a balcony, no problem we was told but as it was late at night we was told tomorrow. The next day we dutily went back to reception and explained again we wanted an upgrade, to be told no there was nothing available. Ok we said and requested double sheets as our room had twin beds and we had pushed the beds together, reception told us there was no double sheets as the hotel had no double beds, this was obviosly a lie as we had seen double beds in open rooms also a fellow guest had a double bed.
But saying all that, our stay at De Gale was lovely, the hotel was clean enough, the breakfast might have been basic but it was fresh and lots of it, no matter what previous reviews said, the bread rolls were soft, 3 huge baskets full of various types, and I was in a foreign country I wanted their food not a good old english cooked breakfast, plenty of restaurants that sell that if you want it. Housekeeping did come every day,made our bed, emptied waste bin, folded my gown nicely.
Staff pleasant, we did have an issue with hot water but maintenance was brought in then the water was steaming hot.
As for the steps outside the hotel, just think of the last time you ascend them then you,ll be saying you,ll climb them again just to stay on holiday and, hey, they are not that bad after all lol.
All in all, a fantastic holiday, nice place to stay for what you pay and you cant expect 5 star facilities in a 2 star hotel. Staff did their best so what more do people want

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisaltur, Gerente at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we thank you for your feedback.
We hope that you will understand that it is impossible to update a room when we don't have rooms available.
Regarding the situation of the double bed, we want to inform you that we do not have double beds. We have available twin beds for all the rooms.
We thank you once again for your comment.
Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Residencial
Colina do Mar Residencial
#91 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#133 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#151 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Gale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Gale

Property: Hotel da Gale
Address: Largos dos Lusiadas - Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel da Gale 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Gale is a small beach hotel. Its style is very Portuguese, it has 60 double and triple rooms, with or without balcony, and almost all have a sea view. All rooms have their own private bathroom with bathtub, a telephone, safety box and cable TV. The top floor is home to the Navy Bar, with its panoramic view. This is where we serve breakfast and create a friendly relaxing atmosphere right through to until midnight, with background music to soothe you as you gaze out to sea and across the marvellous Albufeira coastline. ***************************************** E uma pequena unidade hoteleira de praia de estilo bem portugues com 60 quartos (duplos e triplos), com ou sem varanda, quase todos com vista para o mar. Todos os quartos tem casa-de-banho privativa com banheira, telefone, cofre e TV por Cabo. No ultimo andar temos o nosso "Navy Bar" com uma vista panoramica, onde servimos os Pequenos-almocos e criamos uma atmosfera simpatica e relaxante, ate a meia-noite, com musica ambiente para o servir, vislumbrando o mar e a maravilhosa costa de Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel da Gale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Gale Albufeira
Da Gale Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Da Gale Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing