We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel standard - perfect location!”
Review of Algarve Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Algarve Gardens
Ranked #140 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ok standard on the hotell/apartment regaring the price. Simple but clean and perfect with the balcony in the evenings and afternoon after the beach.
Perfect location, close to the beach, and walking distance (30-45 min on the beach) to nice little villages and cities.
Just what I needed this vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here on the 15th of June for 5 nights for the money we paid it was worth it, I had read a lot of bad reviews on here about algarve gardens but its nowhere near as bad as what people make out! We stayed in the bungalows they were cleaned everyday and fresh towel provided daily and ok for somewhere to lay your head the only bad thing were the pillows and they were bad!! We could use all the hotel facilities as it was part of the alfamar hotel, found the staff friendly for what we needed them for, the beach is gorgeous stunning fews and beautiful sand the only thing is it was a very quiet resort there are a couple of restaurants just outside the hotel which were ok and reasonable prices there's a supermarket for all your essentials and about a 10 minute walk left past the supermarket is a square with a few bars and restaurants me and my partner are in our thirtys and found it a nice and relaxing holiday bit of walking to be done but if the sun is shining who cares u can also walk down the beach to the right and u will come to some stairs and that leads to the square we usually took this route home, the appartments on the site did not look to clever Bit dated but if its just somewhere for u to lay ur head don't worry!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

went to the algarve gardens thinking we were staying in the bungalows when we arrived we found it was the apartments. they weren't spectacular but we didn't mind as at the end of the day it was a bed to sleep in and once it was cleaned everyday that was fine enough for us we are not fussy. we were charged a euro a day for the safe which was reasonable but you also had to pay a 30euro deposit and i wouldn't mind but the safe is the most unsafe safe ive ever used if you turn the key wrong at all it will break and anyone can get into them. the first night there we asked the hotel to ring us a taxi and they rang us a private taxi that cost us 30euro to get 10mins out the road all because they get commission for ordering them. any time we had a question for the hotel staff they were rude to us. all because we were two young couples staying in the apartments when i witnessed them treating the older guests staying the hotel like royalty i think they are highly unprofessional and i wouldnt reccommend anyone to stay there. simply because of the way we were treated room size location didnt matter it was the rudeness. but if your looking for somewhere far out this 10mins taxi from the strip and old town. we were also told we could use all amenites but we couldnt use indoor pool just outside one and all other amenities werent available!i would recommend the bayside salgados its a bit out but not too far and far nicer staff a bit of fun to be had also. its bad we left our hotel paid 30euro taxi to go to another hotel that saying something!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Read some of the reviews before departing and was a bit dubious . Went 7th May for 7 nights. Mix up at airport for transfers ,so always book the pick-up and drop-off for the Alfamer Hotel .
Picked keys up at reception ,nice friendly staff. Found apartment 'difficult at first as a big complex ,but easy once you get to know it. Reception hall of the apartment block is quite nice and very clean,with leather sofas to sit and relax.
Apartment is yes very dated ,yes kitchen is small,yes needs a complete upgrade .BUT it was spotless clean and the cleaner came in everyday and kept it that way . Beds only had one pillow ,but we asked for more and got them within 30 mins ,beds are a bit hard but we got used to it,bed linen was clean as was the towels. There was no kettle ,we asked for one and we had it straight away.
Kitchen is tiny with only 2 electric rings to cook on . Full size fridge with small freezer box. Used the supermarket over the road for shopping ,and it was only slightly dearer for stuff than the big supermarket in Albuferia.Good selection there.
Over the rd also is a nice bar/cafe/restaurant . £3.65 for a large beer and a 50cl bottle of matues rose wine (thats the smallest wine you can have ,but you can always take the rest with you)!. Meals were also quite cheap .Further down the rd are a couple of other bars also. Trips booked at the hotel if you want one,but cheaper to cross over the rd and take a short walk to a booking agency .
Buses to Albuferia leave the front gate of the complex every hour and cost 7 euros return.
The hotel is lovely ,and you can use the facilities and sit around the gorgeous pool .Access to the beach is through the hotel and it is absolutely stunning .Next access to the beach which is a public one is around 2 miles walk away.
Bar prices are a bit high ,but worth it .
If you fancy a good beach walk ,go on the beach and walk to the right . Prob about 5km walk but does not feel that long and you come to Villamourie. Gorgeous marina with amazing seafront restaurants ,definitely worth a visit.We got a taxi back for 11 euros.Had the best meal ever there.
Because we paid so little for the apartment and it was just somewhere clean to put our heads down at night,and use it as a base to other places,we were able to use the money saved and eat out and visit nice places.
We enjoyed this holiday as much as we have the 5* places we have stayed.

Room Tip: They are basic clean apartments on the grounds of a 4 star hotel and sports resort (used by athletes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank alisonmurphy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Me and my partner have stayed here 3 times and will continue to go every year from now on, we are mid 20's and realistic people who when we pay £60-80 each for a room for a week know what to expect, we also dont go on holiday for a great hotel room we go for location and for that this place is brilliant, step out of the hotel and you get 3 choices, left for the glamour of vilamoura, stay where you are for one of the best beaches in europe or go right for the quiet of sleepy olho's d'agua. Our contact with staff has only ever been taking keys and dropping them back off, I wont lie we dont do a 130 point check on our hotel room, if the toilet flushes, the waters hot and is cleaned daily we are happy and it always has been for us. Shop around and you can stop here for a steal so well worth putting the time in as I would be angry if I spent £400+ to stay here as much as we do love it. Elderly may struggle with location. GIVE IT A GO :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We researched this place after finding an awesome deal on icelolly.com. A lot of reviews were pretty bad about the hotel and facilities, but we paid £350 each for 10 nights and even though we were staying in the 'cheap' apartment blocks, they were cleaned every day by the maids, had everything we needed for cooking and 2 fridges (one was our beer fridge for the €1.60 litre of SuperBok!)
It was about a 10 min walk to the main hotel which was access to the gorgeous beach, and had a wee shop for drinks/cigs/crisps. If you went the other way, it was 2 mins to a pub and shop and if you walked left along the road, past the shop, you come to 'Rua Do Pinhal'. Turn left there and you get to the square, which has a good amount of bars and restaurants.
Albuferia is about 30 mins on the bus (which costs €2.40 I think). The strip is good but expensive!!
We also went to a waterpark - which was brilliant and had a live birds of prey show... but cost €65 for two!
Awesome ten days - would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Snowpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Cannot add anything to the review from 'Claireoverthere'. Stayed first week in September 2012. When we were walking towards the studio apartments some other holiday makers said, "We call them Beirut!" Such a shame as area quite beautiful but NOTHING to do. Luckily we'd read online before we went that there was a small square with restaurants approximately 10 minute walk away. Found the square by chance, 20 minute walk away at Praia de Fallucia. Glad only stayed for 1 week - mattrasses and pillows should be burnt. Obviously Alfamar Hotel only keeping adjacent Algarve Gardens on as a sideline. Be cautious if trying to escape by booking an excursion. Spent 8 hours on a half day tour with only approximately 2 hours actually off the coach.

Room Tip: Go to Villamouri of Lagos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#129 of 154 in Albufeira
567 reviews
3.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#55 of 154 in Albufeira
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
7.6 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Gardens

Address: Rua da Falesia | PO Box 2159, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £11 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algarve Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algarve Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Gardens Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing