We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Algarve Gardens
Ranked #140 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed 1 week at Algarve Gardens. Part of a large group of 127 persons, attending a soccer training camp. Had full board at Alfamar hotel, which is a part of the same complex. The food was good, the pool and Beach facilities at Alfamar were great. Sunbeds at the beach 10 Euros a day, very expensive.
Back to the negatives. Bungalows at Algarve Garden were in desperate need of an update. The mattrasses in the bed were very hard and uncomfortable. Not good for people with back problems. The interior of the bungalows were outdated, with rotten wooden doors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having stayed at Algarve Gardens in the studios several times before, we have just returned from a weeks holiday but this time in a one bedroomed villa. The villa allocated to us was very conveniently situated to make for easy access to the Alfamar Hotels facilities. As with other properties at Algarve Gardens, the décor is dated and in need of an upgrade but unlike the studios previously visited, the kitchen in the villa was equipped with a kettle, toaster, microwave, and large fridge. As always, a daily maid service ensured an adequate supply of clean towels, toilet rolls, a clean in general and a change of bed linen. The beds were comfy enough and the locale was quiet. For those wishing budget accommodation but with 4star hotel facilities on hand, you can't rally go wrong. Staff are friendly and helpful, in particular the bar staff, and we will no doubt be returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great coastline and nice new built way down to the seashore. Hotel facilities are sloppy. We stayed in the neglected apartment area. Managment should make big investments. Nevertheless many thanks to the personnel. They sent my bathing trunks to my home address. I forgot it in our room in a hurry at departure.

Room Tip: Don't book apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank German G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

not for shoppers or all night dancers.........try London, Paris........Ibiza, etc
only for Paradise and Peace lovers....
beautiful beach, great care from staff, hard working people that try to make our dream holiday.
thank you all at Alfamar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mih54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I will just make this brief don't bother with this hotel! Pool miles away and no sunbeds, rooms old and manky (mould in bathroom), no aircon, no mirror in bedroom or near a plug socket, rude bar staff, broken patio doors, door handle kept falling off, miles from anywhere. Go somewhere else you won't like it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Recklessreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went here for a 7 night stay at the Algarve gardens, we should have had a studio flat which was what we booked but after getting there by car as we hired a car at the airport and we got lost getting to the hotel so after 2 hours of driving around looking for the hotel we final made it there. lucky for us that we took so long getting there that they upgraded us to a 1 bed apartment which was great. The apartment was great, we got shown to our apartment and was told what the hotel had to offer and about breakfast and what time that was which they did breakfast from 7.30am to 10.30am which was fine for us as we was up around 7am everyday. The beach and the main hotel was about a 10min walk and was a pleasant walk in the nice sunshine, the food they did for breakfast was great, I really enjoyed the fruits and the croissants and scrambled eggs that was very nice.
The apartment was very spacious with a double bed and there was a small kitchen with all the amendments and a balcony with a table and chairs, the lounge was a nice size with a dinning table and AC, although at first we didn't think that there was a kettle, so we was boiling water in a metal mug then 2 days into the holiday we found a kettle which we found funny, but we still used the mug to boil our water, it didn't bother us that much, the bed was not to bad to sleep on even though there was only 1 pillow each but we was fine with that, the chambermaid came in everyday and made the bed and cleaned and put fresh towels in everyday.
The hotel staff themselves were very friendly
All in all a great place to stay and we would recommend to friends and family and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you are thinking of booking here as a cheap but cheerful choice DO NOT DO IT! We visited over the August bank holiday weekend and just expected somewhere basic to use as base. All we wanted was somewhere clean with a pool, didn't expect all singing all dancing for the money we paid but this was beyond a joke. The main hotel is probably a fair 3 star but the separate blocks where we where allocated are 1 star and on par with some of the hotels i visited in India! Dark, dingy, moldy bathrooms, broken patio doors, no air con, pillows like pieces of paper, 2 single beds, door handle constantly falling off. It was like a dark sweaty hole. I couldn't get ready to go out without melting. Only mirror is in the bathroom not near a plug socket. No redeeming feature regarding the rooms except that the maids do visit on a daily basis but everything is so old it just didn't look or feel clean. The pool is about a 5 min walk from the blocks located in the main hotel, not too much of a problem except that there is nowhere near enough sunbeds for the amount of people and hotel guests obviously bag these first. Most people were laying on the grass, I can do this at home its not what I come on holiday for. As a consequence we didn't use the pool once, so class this place as having no pool as we had to walk to the beach. The hotel is also a little out of the way so be prepared for a walk or a taxi for any sign of life.
On the plus side....the beach itself is actually great and we had a fantastic holiday away form the room, if you have never to Albufeira make sure you visit both the Old Town & Vilamoura, bit of a taxi ride away maybe 10/15 mins but wont break the bank, lots of entertainment and great places to eat. Also the strip is a good laugh for party lovers if you are looking for some cheesy fun.
If you are stupid enough to go against my advice and you do book the place then some top tips are that beach towels are available from the main reception for a refundable 10 euro deposit and the rooms have no hairdryers which can also be borrowed from the hotel. Bring a mirror so you can get ready in the room with patio door open due to the lack of aircon. There is a decent cafe for lunch and drinks just past the blocks much cheaper than the pool bar for daytime snacks.
Great place, bad hotel but we didn't let it spoil our fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as near to the main hotel as possible when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#129 of 154 in Albufeira
567 reviews
3.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
7.6 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Gardens

Address: Rua da Falesia | PO Box 2159, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £11 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algarve Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algarve Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Gardens Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing