We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”
Review of Algarve Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algarve Gardens
Ranked #139 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Me and my boyfriend are both 25 we had our orginal holiday got messed up by the whole excel thing. So we had to rebook another holiday of which we came across these apartments on the internet. We liked what we saw and the price so we booked. We then read the reviews and slightly regretted our choice. But after reading them and visiting the resort i have to say we had a fantastic time. We arrived around 10 in the evening and was dropped at the reception at the hotel where we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were given a map to find our apartment. I looked at it slightly puzzled which the lady noticed and smiled and got a very nice man to take our cases and show us the way.
When we arrived at our apartment block we were taken right to our door and he made sure we got in ok. The apartment itself was better than we expected it was clean and more than big enough for the two of us. My only critisism of it was that if you were going to completely self cater then there was only two hobs and no oven so cooking would be limited. I cooked once and coped fine with everything but we did eat out the rest of the time but that was always the plan. And the bathroom was not very well ventilated causing mildew on the ceiling but all in all in was absoultely fine for us.
We found a very nice and friendly bar across the road from the apartment called Dreams bar we went in there every night good atmosphere and good price for drinks also has a tv for anyone wanting to watch any football but still a nice quiet atmosphere.We were told about a small square of restaurants as there are only two restaurants on the road up to the resort that was good advise and had some really good places. It was up the road away from the resort then take to first road on the left and follow this past a hotel the stella maris and its just past there on your right it takes about 10-15 mins to get to not far and its worth it.
The beach is amazing and walked along the beach in both directions. If you walk to your left for about 40mins you will come to vilamoura marina it is a longish walk but it is worth it we went there a couple of days out of our weeks stay and it was beautiful. Good choice of restaurants and some small boutiques and gift shops.
We also got a taxi into albuferia one day taxi cost about 13 euros and we asked the taxi driver to pick us up again at a fixed time he was very good and helpful we booked him from the hotel reception.
All in all we had a brilliant holiday and we would definately go again.We had fab weather all week, loved the beach and the place, we liked the quieter area rather than being to near the town we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnsyecfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2008

On arrival at the "resort" we attempted to check in at the main resort, which having been interrupted by other residents leaning over and speaking to the staff, who rather than asking them to wait their turn, stopped what they were doing and proceeded to have a full blown conversation, took the best part of half an hour. We were directed to our "studio" apartment with the aid of a shoddy photocopies map, and eventually found our apartment which was on the third floor of a councilesque block of apartments ( with no lift ). A seperate kitchenete and bathroom with adjoining bedroom isnt exactly "studio" in my books. The room itself was very basic and dated, the furniture damaged and worn. Electrical sockets in the kitchen were damaged and waiting for a child to stick something sharp into. But there was a balcony at least.

Hotel staff were abrupt and often seemed disinterested in dealing with you in an sort of reasonable speed. The hotel restaurants were both self service and overpriced for what you were paying for. The beach itself is a few minutes walk from the hotel and was indeed very nice. The main problem we found was in the evenings.

There are, asides from the hotel restaurants, only 2 snack/bar/pubs open in the evenings ( one of these doesnt open until 8.00pm ) and the menu's are very limited. Dont even think about cooking in the apartments as the 2 hob cooker is not really suited to anything more than boiling water for tea ( no kettles provided ) or cooking basic meals. But on the plus side in addition to the aforementioned snack/bar/pubs there are a couple of cafes that do a nice range of lunchtime snacks. Most of the staff speak a version of English but the resort itself seems mainly catered for non - UK holidaymakers, going as far as to say this is a resort built around the private bungalows for the Portugese to enjoy a weekend away from the city.

Completely by accident on our way back from Albufeira itself we noticed there were a few restaurants at other closer resorts, the nearest being around a 15minute walk - but in my mind why should you really have to walk to another resorts restaurants?

If you want a quiet beach holiday then this is recommended. If you dont want to go somewhere where you feel as if you are the only English speaking people there, or if you dont want to have to walk to another resort ( try getting a taxi...! ) then you would probably want to go to the other resort in the first place. Although by the end of the week when the fire alarm was set off by "accident" we were finding the entire thing so farcical that it was something you had to laugh at - Portugals Fawlty Towers but without the amusing staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank woozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Me and my boyfriend are both 24 years old and booked the algarve gardens as a last minute holiday at the beginning of October 2007. As it was booked last minute we didn't have overly high expectations but were extremely happy with the spacious villa style accomodation we were welcomed by.

The one bedroom villa contained a big living area with separate kitchen downstairs with a double bedroom and bathroom upstairs with balconies off both levels. The Algarve gardens residents can use the impressive facilities of their 4* sister hotel on the same site at no extra cost.

Although the resort is situated about €10-15 taxi fare from the centre of Albufeira, you couldn't be closer to the beach, it was literally a 2 minute walk from the front door of our villa to the clean impressive beach.

In general this hotel/villa complex were perfect for a nice relaxing autumn break in the sun with it's quiet surroundings but with the nightlife, bars and restaurants or the historic old town a short journey away by bus ot taxi.

Would thoroughly recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jenni20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We arrived at the Algarve Gardens after a great flight and transfer. Check-in was no problem and we were given a map to find our room, "only 2 minutes walk" according to the reception staff. After 20 minutes of searching we eventually returned to the reception to ask for directions to our room. Our rooms were actually located in what can only be described as blocks of what looked like student flats. We had walked past these already, but with no indication of what number rooms were in here we continued walking. Don't be led to believe you will be staying in one of the pretty little bungalows. These seemed to be either privately owned or reserved for Portugese people.

The room, if a little dated was ok, but I dont think the floor had ever seen a brush or a mop. The kitchenette had a fridge, 2 hobs and cutlery/crockery but no kettle.

There are 2 local minimarkets which guests can use, I just off site across the road and one within the grounds. Neither of the minimarkets were well stocked and some of the fresh fruit and veg looked far from fresh. We opted for cereal and bread and ate breakfast in our room.

The pool area is very nice and is spread across a large lawned area with palm trees for shade. There was a distinct lack of sunbeds and unless you were up at the crack of dawn it was fairly difficult to get one. The beach was also very nice but sunbeds and canopies are expensive at 15 euros a day (for 2 beds and 1 canopy).

The eating facilities at the resort weren't great. At lunchtime there is a snack bar serving some hot meals along with salads and sandwiches. The snack bar is self serve and maybe a little overpriced. The main bar and small bar by the beach also served sandwiches. Although we did not eat at the hotel in the evening, the restaurant serving dinner also appeared to be self service. We found a few small restaurants just down the road from the hotel which were nice, 36 euros for a 3 course meal inc wine for 2 people.

We spent the majority of our evenings in Albufeira which was not a problem for us as we were only there for a few days but I can imagine that if you were spending a week at the hotel you would spend a lot of money on taxis (approximately 10-13 euros 1 way to Albufeira). There is a bus stop just down the road from the hotel which goes into Albufeira but this stops around 7pm.

The main problem that we had with this hotel were the staff, one man in particular who seemed to work evenings on reception was extremely unhelpful. On our first day we were told by one of the ladies working on reception that if we wanted a taxi to Albufeira to come to reception 30 minutes before we wanted to leave and they would call one. Our first evening we did as the lady had said and went to reception to ask for a taxi to be called. The man on reception said the taxi company was busy and he would not call them. we asked if we could call one now to pick us up in an hour or so, the reply was a frosty "No". We eventually got the number for a taxi company from the receptionist and called them ourselves. The person on the other end of the phone did not speak much english and after the call we were none the wiser as to whetehr a taxi was coming or not. We decided to wait outside reception and although our taxi never arrived we did manage to get one which was bringing guests back.

During the taxi trip the driver said that the hotel would only ring minicab companies to collect their guests and they do this because they get commision on the bookings. The taxi driver was very nice and recommended some nice restaurants in the Old Town and we took his card so we could get a taxi the following night. We did struggle to get through to the taxi company by phone the next night and eventually we stood outside the hotel on the main road and flagged one down.

Overall the hotel appealed to us beacuse it was so close to the beach but there is not much else around. Although we did not use the sports facilities they did not seem to be in good condition and not once did I see anyone using any of them.

Hope this has been helpful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank angelface6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank annaT9179UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Jakob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.9 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 153 in Albufeira
470 reviews
7.6 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#88 of 153 in Albufeira
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#128 of 153 in Albufeira
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#125 of 153 in Albufeira
200 reviews
3.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#64 of 153 in Albufeira
745 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Gardens

Address: Rua da Falesia | PO Box 2159, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £11 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algarve Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algarve Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Gardens Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing