We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silmar Apartamentos
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Budget Apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

30 EUROS to sleep 4 people for a night, clean, refurbished, big central location, secure WOULD RECOMMEND.

Check out Fabio at the Havana Bar opposite - what a cool dude and very helpful bless him. We arrived there not doing our homework and fell foul of not booking in first at the main hotel 1.6km away....the keypad buttons at the Silmar Apartments didn't seem to connect to anyone, the help line number didn't work on the booking either...

Our group was 8no from work, all men...we'd booked 4 apartments (twins), we spotted 'Fabio' working on his patio and I went to ask him for assistance, nao problema!! He pointed us where we needed to go and then decided to allow my colleague and friends to sit under his umbrella's and served them some lovely cold Sagres (beer). That was at 2pm and he opened only at 6pm....very accommodating and of course cheaper than the old town or 'strip' as his bar caters mainly for the locals..top tip...Carlsberg bottled beer 75 cents ;)

Anyway once found the hotel to check in and pick up our keys, back to the apartments....I was a little skeptical as to what i'd booked from the outside but for 30 euros all you need is a decent bed as you're out all day!

Opened the doors and pleasantly surprised with size and finish, well worth trying - its not 4 star luxury but matches a premier inn with ease. Little off the central hub of things but short walks, cheap taxi's etc sorts that.

One last thing to note, if you're a light sleeper then Fabio's Havana bar might keep you awake, its not offensive music but he does stray open until 2am...just one for you to consider, if you're sleeping on the sofa bed in the rear rooms then probably not an issue, front bed rooms may have an issue.

Pool good too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Silmar is part of the Cerro Mar Atlantico / Garden where you have to pick up your keys, and around a mile from the apartments. On arrival we had to wait for five hours before we could get in, but enjoyed the pool at the Cerro Gardens, however, there was no offer of a lift and when asked the shuttle was not available, they offered a taxi which was robbery at just under 7 euros!! The apartment itself was clean and good cooking facilities but the view was poor, pool was small, although we had it too ourselves most of the time. There is a bar opposite, the Havana, sometimes the patrons were a little noisey leaving but the bar itself was extremely friendly and welcoming. There was a hill to walk to the old town, [and back, but you get used to it] and at the bottom of the hill was a local restaurant Alfredos which was good value, and a "local bar" opposite, again really friendly. The walk to old town was helped with the escalators, but is worth the visit, but we were advised to be careful in some bars as drinks could be "spiked" by wouldbe thieves who would take advantage of your "state".to steal valuables.
On the whole, we had a great family holiday, had good weather, some memorable nights out [Especially Johnny Hoopers] and had some really nice meals, people are friendly but as with most places watch your valuables. We would go again, and stay in the same area but would look for better views to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for two sets of keys as there is a security gate and door key to apartment, can be awkward when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlunDavies2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

When originally booking this, my friends and I were a little apprehensive due to the little feedback to be found on our beloved Trip Advisor, so let me reassure what a little gem this place was! We found that any questions or queries we had i.e. early check-in etc (which they couldn't do by the way), they were very efficient in responding to any emails we sent. The customer service was outstanding.

We had a newly refurbished one bedroom apartment with more than enough storage for all four of us and our copious amounts of belongings. The bathroom was newly replaced and a great size. The kitchen was brand spanking new, with untouched appliances other than the fridge/freezer, which was spotless anyway. The furniture was comfortable and the whole apartment was very spacious, we couldn't have been happier. You couldn't have had any cleaner, with the daily service of the maids including fresh towels.

The only drawback was there was no reception here and that we had to check in at the Cerro Mar Garden Hotel about ten minutes away, but then they dropped us to our apartments when they were ready, with a substantial tour on the way by our very friendly and informative driver, Francisco.

There was a pool which could be considered small but we found it was sufficient for the number of apartments and given the heat, there was ample room for all residents which comprised of a mixture of families, couples and groups of friends.

Location wise, it was a ten minute walk downhill into the Old Town and the fabulous beach. There were some spectacular coastal views here to take in before descending down the escalators (that was a first for me) in the vast array of restaurants, shops and bars in the Old Town of Albufeira. There is also a lively square with nightly entertainment suitable for all walks of life, young and old.

When returning home if you didn't fancy the steep walk home a taxi averaged about 3/4 Euros.

The apartment was about ten minutes in a taxi to the strip which probably cost about 5/6 Euros.

For value for money, you couldn't have asked for anything more! Great apartment in a great location! Would definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BreifneSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

washing machine leaked all over kitchen on first day, not repaired.
heater broken, only given a little fan heater to replace.
no double bed as requested two single beds shoved together but had single bed sheets and blanket and as room not warm not much romantic cuddling.
pillows atrocious i'd say about 10 years old we've terrible neck and back pain.
check in at another hotel about 10 mins away in taxi, no reception in apartments as advertised, they wanted us to return keys to hotel on morning of our departure at 6am, we declined as we would have had to get a taxi, so we left keys on table in apartment, they did not take kindly to us doing this.
otherwise location great but not the romantic holiday we had worked hard all year for and to make our birthdays a special one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supercats2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#49 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#150 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silmar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silmar Apartamentos

Property: Silmar Apartamentos
Address: Rua Fernao de Magalhanes lote 13, Albufeira 8200-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silmar Apartamentos 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Silmar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silmar Apartamentos Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing