We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just got back from the Balaia Atlantico (15-22 June 2012) and we had a fantastic stay. The apartments are large, spacious, well maintained and clean. The decor is modern Mediterranean and the sofa beds were comfortable as were the beds in the bedroom (though firm). While we were there the bathroom door handle fell off but the staff were great and a maintenance person was sent up straight away and had it fixed. Reception staff where always very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. Pool bar menu was a little limited but we didn't mind as we tended to make our own lunches in the day (get a taxi to the Modelo Shopping Centre and use the Continente supermarket there- it's a lot cheaper than the mini markets), and we liked to have a drink in the Lobby Bar while waiting for our taxi in the evening- 2€ each for a small beer and a white wine. On that note the hotel do charge 50cent for calling taxi's and a taxi to The Strip in Albufeira is 4.50€ and the Old Town is only 7.20€. The hotel runs a courtesy bus service as well that runs 5 times a day to three beaches- Olhos de Agua, Praia da Oura and Praia da Pescadores (The old town). If you like watersports then head to Oura beach. The last courtesy bus goes at 5pm, and if you go to the beach after 3pm sunloungers and parasols are half price so this is what we did, plus it was definitely hotter between 3-5pm than at any other part of the day. We did eat in the hotel's buffet restaurant twice for breakfast as we enjoyed it and for 8€ it really filled us up for the day- only negatives being that the fruit juice wasn't great and there was no bacon. There is a gym at the hotel that we didn't use but it was popular and manned at all times while it was open. We also never used the hairdresser or Beauty Therapist on site so can't comment on those. Hotel mini market was very basic and overpriced like all mini-markets but you can get a good selection of British broadsheets and tabloids each morning. Having read some other reviews of this hotel I cannot understand what anyone is complaining at- it's an absolute steal for the price though we both agreed we wouldn't do the all inclusive option at the hotel as it was too restrictive and there are some amazing reasonably priced restaurants in Albufiera (We'd strongly recommmend 3- Sizzling Stone at the Oura end of the strip,plus Cabana Fresca and Tasca do Viegas on Praia da Pescadores/Fishermans Beach in the Old Town). Other top tips we could pass on for the hotel is to bring a dish cloth/sponge and salt and pepper with you as the hotel don't supply these. Finally, the hotel had a mix of British, Irish, Spanish and Portuguese couples and families. Most of the Spanish and Portuguese guests were All Inclusive so hotel entertainment was very much orientated towards them. All in all a great stay in a hotel very much deserving of its 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

this is a good hotel but away from life the shuttle bus is ok during the day mon to fri but weekends and evening no.
we found a great bar restaurant 2 mins away not easily found but down the road at the side of the hotel look for nestle flags this is a local bar serving really good food and drinks at a greeat price 4 meals 4 rounds of drinks 45 euros just further along where the supermarket is (good shop) there is a good restaurant. Old Town there are lots of good places to eat, the Tunnel cafe/bar serves good wholesome food at good prices .
We will be definetley going back but nearer theee old town

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have just returned from two weeksat this Hotel, The rooms are of a high standard, Well furnished etc, What lets this Hotel down is its location, There is nothing of much interest within 15/20mins walking! You have to get a cab everywhere, or use the free bus from the Hotel, But it only runs a specific times. And does not run at the weekend at all !! But it is something!! Entertainment is very poor for a all inclusive Hotel, Only a Piano in the main loby in the evening,!! there is nothing for children to do in the evenings, But to run around the loby area, to the anoyance of some people, But hey they have nothing else to keep them occupied, The outside pool bar is rubbish to say the least, they advertise evening entertainment! but only two or three times a week, The free Wi-Fi but it only worked on the Saturday we arrived, but was not available after that at all!!!! They have a Wi-Fi router in the rooms but you cannot use it as it is password protected and they will not give you the details etc!! WTF!!! We will come back to Portugal again as we loved the old town etc, But will Definitly not be staying at this Hotel. The cleaning staff etc were all very courtious and helpful. Lovely Hotel Shame about its location, They need to sort out it severe lack of day time pool entertainment & lack of evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion our services did not live up to your expectations, and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here end beginning of October last year. Hotel was clean and quiet. It is a bit out of they way but it's not too expensive for a taxi back from the centre. This was book last minute and we got a good deal, i would not recommend going all inclusive, we were self catering and decided to eat at the hotel one night - the food was not nice at all, not worth the money we paid. Breakfast was OK though. The pool is clean with lots of sun beds. This was a great location as my boyfriend and I just wanted a quiet week away together. You can relax around the pool during the day and head into town at night.

It is not close enough to any shops or restaurants in walking distance, if you don't know your way around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion our services did not live up to your expectations, and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We are just back from 8 nights at this lovely hotel. From reading the negative views on tripadvisor, i was not expecting what we actually got! The hotel itself is FAB. its very modern and the staff are immaculately groomed. In the restaurant they even wear bow ties. We booked through alpharooms and opted for All Inclusive. Be warned, different travel websites offer different AI packages. When we got to the hotel, we were AI Plus which meant all drinks, snacks etc were included. I read that some people said if you were AI, you paid 50% dfrinks price in restaurant. This is not the case if you are AI Plus so make sure you know what package you are paying for.

There were 4 adults, two 4 year olds and a young baby. i was worried about the kids as some people said it was no good for kids but i dont know why. Our kids had a ball. There is a lovely playground right beside the snack bar which is fully glass so we could sit in there and watch them play in the lit up playground in the evenings. And likewise, we could lie by the kids pool and watch them play during the day. There is also crazy golf which they did one day in the kids club. The kids club is not a fully fledged kids club like you would see in the bigger hotels. but for us, we didn't want our kids to be gone with strangers all afternoon. They could do colouring in the snack bar for an hour and mini golf. If you are looking for your kids to be entertained by the staff all day this is not for you. But, for us, it was about us spending time together so the minimal activities were great. The playground and kids pool were a God send.

The food was very good and very varied. There were one or two nights where the selection wasn't great for me personally but the type of food you can expect are rice, baby potatoes, pastas, salads, fish (we had swordfish, salmon, hake, spicy seafood curry which was to die for, whiting, cod) meats (we had lamb cutlets, chuck steak which was fab, turkey, chicken to name buta few). I will say about the meats that they usually were quite tough but one or two nights the meat was excellent. There is no kids menu as some reviewers have said,but for us our kids are happy to eat pasta, rice and veg and meat so there was never an issue. There was always lovely cakes for dessert also and icecream. The AI drinks were the usual local beer, wine and spirits. I wasn't crazy on the white wine but my mother loved it!

The apartments are absolutely gorgeous. The are very spacious and clean, perfect for a family of up to 4. ALl apartments have a pool view and you can also see the ocean in the distance wich is really lovely. I will say, the lighting is quite poor in the bathroom and the bedroom. The lighting is all spots and no main light mains that shadows are cast and its difficult to see. WOuld this put me off??? Not at all, but i can see how it would for some people. Also, the pillows were sooooo lumpy which did annoy me.

The hotel is out of the way so i definitely would not recommend it if you like to be in the centre of things. However, if you are looking for a hotel which is modern, clean and quiet. this is the place for you.

I will definitely be back to this hotel next year if not the year after.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the pool so which ever room you get, should be ok. The pool is on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparklyirisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

Sorry about the pillows - I'll fix that before you return!

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here end of may, lovely hotel very big rooms all with kitchen dining table not that we ever used it as we were all inclusive, all rooms have a po view which is a real plus, if I stayed again I would ask for a ground floor as you can walk straight to the pool. Only negative about this hotel is there was no evening entertainment well there was if you call a man playing the piano entertainment! Not do good for young children however didn't put us off as we made our own entertainment. Hotel is away from main town you can catch the free bus from the hotel or a taxi is 8euro.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

we stayed here after booking last minute. The complex was very quiet, in the week we were there only 5-6 rooms were in use. The rooms were well presented , fixtures were generally good and furniture was in good condition. We were self catering and the kitchen had most utensils we required. The maids serviced the rooms daily to an excellent standard. The only complaint i had about the apartment was the music that was playing through the speakers hidden behind the curtains. It took us 3 days to find out how to turn it off. the complex was very quiet so most facilities were also limited. It was to cold for the outdoor pool but there was a small indoor pool and jacuzzi, which we made use of on several occasions. But don't forget to take a swimming hat.
The complex was out in the sticks and was about 10 minute drive to the main drag of albuafuria but it is a great place for a quiet get away. We did have a hire car which made things easier. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbitdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
3,045 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
1,086 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
836 reviews
1 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
72 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Address: Lote 101 Caminho de Vale Navio | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#48 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £22 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaia Atlantico is a natural oasis surrounded by the unique beauty and contrasts of the Algarve countryside, among the over 5 km of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. License No. 849 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 4.50 / each at the front desk. For reservations with Breakfast, Half Board, Full Board and All Inclusive, guests should inform any special dietary needs or allergies before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Aparthotel
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing