We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quinta da Balaia(Albufeira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Balaia Mar Hotel(Albufeira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Aqua-mar(Albufeira)
View Hotel
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
122
251
173
90
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
251
173
90
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busself cateringpool barold townshop on sitesmall indoor poolfree bus servicetennis courtshonest reviewgames roomfab holidayout of seasonsun loungersall inclusive packagezoo marinemini marketeach evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We picked this hotel as you need to hire a car to get about from there and as we didn't intend to sit by the pool for a week this location suited us fine. I could not fault the service when we checked in/out and when we asked how to use the cooker rings we were told immediately over the phone. Value for money, it is not cheap but the apartment was well equiped and if you needed to cook this was possible.

The lounge/kitchen was large and light but I think the beds were far too small, these days most people have kingsize beds and when you have to sleep in 2 singles it is not very comfortable - an hotel we frequently use in Spain has 2 double beds in a Superior room which is great, the bedroom was very dark and I was unable to put makeup on in there and my partner always dressed in the lounge. Saying this there were lots of Portuguese families there and when the children went to bed it was really quiet and a quiet night was had by all.

As for cleanliness, I think the towels should be changed more regularly - we had clean towels to start and then they were changed once when we were there for a week. Being honest I only change the bed at home once a week so that doesn't bother me. The walkway from the hotel to our room was very dirty there were cigarette ends and hair there the day we arrived and it was still there when we left and the glass panels on the steps were very dirty - I think it can all do with a good clean.

All in all I would return to this hotel as I like peace and quiet to sleep and not too many Brits around

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here for 14 nights and thought the place was superb. It's a bit of a way from Albufeira, or any local shops for that matter, but the hotel does thoughtfully put on a shuttle bus taking you to the beach and the main town. We never used it because we had a hire car (almost essential to be honest) but the timings looked pretty good with about one an hour throughout the day.

We stayed in a 'Family Room' (201) which had great self catering facilities, which we used. The nearest supermarket was Pingo Doce, about 10 minutes drive away towards Albufeira. Just head right at the 'Worms' roundabout. I find it cheaper than Modelo. There's another little supermarket in Areas De Sao Joao which is probably just as close.

It was a very quiet area at night. We never heard a peep out of anyone else. Our room had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. It was cleaned daily to a good standard and was nice and big with good air conditioning and a radio sound system piped into every room. The water pressure of the shower was incredible. It even has two sinks, so no more arguments over who gets ready first.

The blackout curtains in the bedroom were excellent and kept our little one asleep for a bit longer in the morning. It costs a rather expensive €6 Euros per day to hire a room safe. Our room was an end room, so the balcony was bigger than normal and a great place to sit out at night and down some of Sir Cliff's wine or some of the 60p specials from Lidl!

Most hotels struggle to have more than one English language channel on their TV network. At the Atlantico not only did you have BBC World, but BBC ONE, TWO and CBeebies!! With no time difference, it was great to settle down to some familiar telly at the end of a hard day basking in the Portuguese sunshine.

There was a wired internet connection, but I'd read it was an exorbitant €15 Euros PER HOUR. Algarve hotels seems pretty backward in this respect with in-room internet access. There was no free Wifi either.

We didn't have any food or drink at the hotel. The little shop in the hotel seemed very well stocked but you pay slightly over for the convenience. Staff were friendly and got the job done.

The pools were excellent. One big, one small. Towel hire is about €1 Euro a day. There is a mini-golf course and a play park as well. We heard some of the live entertainment in the evening, which seemed good fun with lots of grey hairs getting down. There was a Kids Club which cutely even had Portuguese lessons, but we didn't have time to try it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Got a deal for £91.00 flight and hotel, so did not expect the hotel to be upto much, when seeing hotel i was shocked how nice it was. it was our 1st trip to portugal and we had a great time, tell the truth for me was one of the best little breaks i have had.

Would i go back, yes with out a thinking twice. great for family's and couples getting away from it all, as its location is about 15 min out of town so you will get peace.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viking121Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The hotel was about 10 minutes from the center of Albufera, a courtesy bus was provided and a taxi costs between 6-8euros. The accommodation was excellent well laid out modern and clean with microwave, cooking utensils and full cooker. The pool area was fantastic large swimming pool and 2 smaller kids’ pools. We had a 6 year old child with us and the complex felt very safe. The entertainment at night was amateurish but as Albufera has plenty to offer we didn’t find this a problem. Poolside snack bar and onsite supermarket were expensive with limited selection. Tip would be to get the courtesy bus into the town center to the Mondelo supermarket to stock up on juice, fruit, and lunch stuff and get a taxi back. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis100Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This hotel has good architecture, nice furniture in the apartements, not so bad location (8 kms to the nearest beach), and could be a very pleasent place.
The problem is that this is the worst hotel I ever stayed in terms of cleanliness. There is dust and human hair all over the place!!! The walls are dirty. The day we arrived we only had the towels and pillow covers by the end of the day! The hotel was 70% full and they hadn't enough towels!!! Although the hotel is recent things are not well maintained and look old and worned.
We asked for some info at the front desk, they promeised to call our apartment, but never did...
Also the access to the apartments is exterior and very cold and windy...
Forget the internal swimming pool, it is tiny and coses at 5 p.m.!
We had a very competitive price, but the service was realy lousy...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-Almeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews