We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
kent,uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“awful time”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

my husband and i stayed here. It was awful. Claustrophobic bedroom.Beds rock hard. People banging doors all night. Family next door cooking something in their room stank our room out for days. Would never go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank june w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    40
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed for 10 nights 4-14 June S/C in Studio room 210 - first floor above the restaurant overlooking the pool (sun from 1pm to 7.45pm - perfect). This room was (like all other parts of the hotel) as clean as a whistle,spacious,LCD tv/DVD, free A/C, comfy chairs/beds, great kitchen with all mod cons and a small but perfect shower room (hairdryer and great power shower consistently hot at all hours). The restaurant Cantina was excellent - both food and staff - a real credit to the hotel. Cleaners and reception staff also deserve a mention, all were first class. Pool area was small but great, no hassle as far as sunbeds go but may not be the case during high season. Small pool kiosk for snacks/beer etc. Oceanus was nice inside with nice indoor pool/bar but did not like the large outdoor pool/bar - too busy/lots of kids etc. Olhos de Agua itself was a delight - small,quaint but not overly quiet. Loved Gallean Bar (their spelling), great locals - had a "lock-in" with them to all hours ! Azul Fish restaurant and Azul Beach bar both great. Soft Cafe, near Velamar was great place but on the busy road. Cabana bar was one of our favourites, very close to our hotel and no steep hill again, lovely staff here. Fratellis was good but overrated imo. Cabrita disappointing / Calerhios similar - tinned veg i kid you not. Everything was close by - dont go by google map. Supermarket 50yds around the corner and there's a fab little cafe right next door with fab coffee. We LOVED Olhos and this hotel - one of our best ever trips - dont usually go back to places BUT we will be back here. Portugese people were fantastic. Go and enjoy. Norny - Ireland. PS Try the nice small bar at the promenade (LHS) when looking out to sea and walk the Falesia Beach all the way to Vilamoura Marina, sip cold beers at Vigos and bus it back to Olhos b4 7.30pm (walk took 1.5 hrs along this stunning beach). Lastly ALL the local beaches were a delight - clean and not lined end to end with sunbeds. Best wishes and thanks to all we met - great hotel/people and holiday - we miss it already.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank norny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Lovely small aparthotel. It has everything you need for a nice relaxing holidays. Room - spacious, comfortable and very clean. Don't be put off by some of the pictures making the rooms look like from the 70s. Rooms are modern and nicely decorated. Our room had a street view but we never heard any noise from the outside and the view was pleasant enough.
Staff - friendly and helpful.
Swimming pools - you can use 2 outdoor swimming pools, one belonging to Oceanus Hotel. We never had any problems getting a sunbed - but we stayed there at the end of May.
Food - breakfast is served at the swimming pool snack bar, you can choose either British or continental breakfast. Food was ok but personally I would have preferred a buffet. The breakfast was tasty but a little bit basic. Snacks served during the day were tasty and reasonably priced.
Internet - free Wi-fi available at the reception of Aparthotel and Oceanus Hotel.
Neighbourhood is nice and quiet. Few nice restaurants near the hotel but if you are looking for a nightlife you will need to get to Albufeira, €5 by taxi to the Strip.

Really nice aparthotel, very good value for money and if you're looking for quiet, relaxing holiday it is in the perfect location. Would definitely go there back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank killa_brazilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

great price great place great staff what more can you say

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ste51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just got back from staying in the Olhos d'agua aparthotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. Great pool area, there was enough sunbeds no matter what time of day you went. The beaches are lovely, we walked along the beach to the next resort, Vilamora, it took about 1 and half hours. There is no need to hire a car to get around, we used the local bus and taxis. The best meal out was at Ambrosia, fab fish and great waiters.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank potter931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed from 22nd to 29th may and had a fabulous time.Remarkable value hotel built around 24 years ago so the specifications regarding room size and facilities are far more generous than if it was built today.Recently refurbished so you have a real result.Very clean as it is cleaned 6 days a week and towels 3 days a week.Staff are very friendly and efficient.We are regulars to Olhos dagua and usually rent a villa but from now on this hotel will be our first choice.The only improvement i would suggest is that in common with most other hotels and apartments in the area umbrellas are provided on the balconies as they are unusable at the really hot times of day.I did suggest this but was informed that they used to be provided but were stolen in the past.Presumably to use on the beach but perhaps a deposit scheme would rectify this.If you are pondering whether to stay at this hotel-don't,just go for it and you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sugarsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My boyfriend and I got a very cheap deal through travel republic for a one week stay at these apartments. We stayed from 17th-24th May and throughout our stay the reception was closed so you have to check in round the corner at Hotel Oceanus. We had a studio room with no balcony which was situated on the ground floor with windows over looking the road but were quite high up from the rood so no one at street level could see in. The room was spotless apart from a few beasties we found in the cutlery drawer which put me off from using the cutlery for the rest of our stay but we ate out everyday anyway so it wasn't a problem. Towels got changed every day apart from a Sunday and the tv has a couple english channels.

5 minutes down a steep hill to the beach where there are a few restaurants and bars. The beach was lovely and never too crowded. The walk back up the hill wasn't too bad... good for the fitness but my boyfriend and I are in our 20's so I could see how some of the elderly would struggle.

7 euros in a taxi to albufeira old town and about 4-5 euros to the strip. There is a small supermarket round the corner from the hotel which we bought all essentials from but there is a larger one a few minutes down the road but we never needed to visit. Friends bar on the way down to the beach on the hill was one which we visited a few nights... lovely place, very nice and modern and served good cocktails!

I wouldn't stay here again only because Olhos D'agua is quite quiet in contrast to the centre of Albufeira but if quiet is what you are looking for then the Aparthotel Olhos D'Agua is great for a cheap break away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSmith1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falesia Garden by 3HB
Falesia Garden by 3HB
#6 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartamentos Atlantico by AVA
#97 of 128 in Albufeira
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua

Property: Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua
Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated Aparthotel located in the beautiful town of Olhos d'Agua, close to the beach, supermarkets, restaurants, bars, buses and taxis. Its 41 apartments are equipped with kitchen, sleeping area, living and dining area with TV... Hotel restaurant and a bar and conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Olhos d`Agua Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Olhos D'Agua Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing