We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location,relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location,relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed for one week in May and had a studio apartment , but this was large and spotlessly clean- only drawback was twin beds. Kitchen was modern but we only used it for breakfast. The apartments are well situated close to a number of very nice restaurants - all lovelyand very reasonable and there are 2 supermarkets close by - the smaller is only a few metres away. Outdoor pool was cold but plenty of sun beds and guests could use the outdoor and indoor pools of the hotel next door.
The beach was 5 mins walk away downhill.. Very nice time in quiet resort and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrlaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    40
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Excellent modern, clean apartments with every thing you need for a relaxing break. Great location only 5 minutes stroll to the beach and restaurants, and supermarket also very close. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Able to use pool facilities of the sister hotel, useful as they have a larger pool good for swimming.

Olhos d'agua itself is lovely, yet small. Plenty of restaurants although also easy to get to larger albufeira by bus. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheffieldRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt, ( also in a studio when volcanic ash came back! much smaller preferred the 1 bed) lovely modern kitchen and bathroom, huge balcony! Only downside (which I was surprised I hadn't read on this website) was they only do twin rooms (or so we were told they made is clear that all the tour companies are told about this) I booked a double room with an external website and chose double but on arrival was presented with 2 single beds!!! Thought it was a bit weird when they said they had no doubles! the beds were quite firm which I think someone else has mentioned in their review and again you need your own beach towel for pool! Apart from that everything else was fab, room service 6 days a week, towel changes 3 times a week, modern fully equipped kitchen, bathroom had hairdryer (v important save you bringing one!), lovely pool area, 2 mins walk to big supermarket, 2 mins to bars/restaurants. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

There is a tourist office around the corner called Expose and they were brill!! The beach is a 5 minute walk down a big hill on your right as you leave hotel.It's small but very cute. You can walk further along the road after turning right to another lovely small beach. On the main beach there are restaurants etc. we loved I Fratelli (Italian). AMAZING steaks! They are super friendly and there is a brilliant buzz in the place. Had a pizza there too and it was lovely. Visited the Cabana bar a few times left out door of hotel near supermarket, also v friendly. Olhos De Agua is a small quiet resort, well kept and exactly what we wanted!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacko82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel is located in the quieter area of Albufeira, which was what we wanted. The rooms are spacious and clean. The kitchens are also ideally equipped for self catering, but I must mention that they don't have ovens. A small supermarket is less than a minute from the hotel, and food is very affordable. The local restaurants are also affordable, average price of a meal for two is around 30 euros.

The beach is only 5 mins walk from the hotel. Its a small beach with a nice rocky terrain that can be explored to a certain extent. There is also a tourist ticket shop nearby that sells tour/excursion tickets to places like Seville (16 euros), Lisbon (17 euros), Lagos (9 euros) and Gibraltar. We went on the Seville tour which was very enjoyable.

Overall the area is ideal for a quiet, relaxed holiday and the hotel is good value for money (considering we paid 31 euros/ night) , and you have the choice to eat out or self cater. I would however recommend the latter if you'll be there for 5 days or more. Lastly, wireless internet connection is available and free.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P_Fogg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We weren't sure what to expect from the hotel. We have booked bargain hotels beforehand and not been too impressed. This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. The staff are incredibly friendly and speak very good english. The rooms were huge and so clean, so modern. We were very impressed. The sea is a very short walk away with a lovely small quiet promenade. The prices in the local restaurants are generally very cheap. A 20cl beer was 1 euro in one restaurant and some meals were as little as 5 euro. The downsides to the trip were minor, old town albufeira isn't really within walking distance which we would have liked and the outside pool like a lot of foreign hotels was unheated so was absolutely freezing. The breakfast isn't a buffet and they just hand out some rolls and croisants which is enough to fill you up but I do prefer a buffet style. I will definitely go to this hotel again but probably wouldn't have the breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Really enjoyed the stay here. Was fantastic value for money, the appartments were very clean and tidy. Great for spending lazy days around the pool.
We stayed in a studio room that was basic but was very clean and did the job. The appartments are very quiet, hardly any noise at night. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasent.
I would say the appartments are perfect for couples, not so much if you are looking for a more lively holiday. The resort itself was a bit too quiet for our liking but was only a short taxi ride into Alburefia town so it was a good base. Overall great value for money and would definately go back, couln't really fault it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We had a tough set of criteria for our hotel, as we couldn't afford the lap of luxury, but also weren't prepared to slum it, since this trip was for our wedding anniversary.
We picked this one after reading reviews on this website and elsewhere, and weren't disappointed.

The room was clean and spacious, with a balcony and a small kitchen attached. We didn't try cooking but it looked perfectly possible (twin electric hob, microwave, and kettle). Downstairs the hotel had a pool table, and free wi-fi in the lounge. The swimming pool was reached via the front door of the hotel, was quiet, refreshing (unheated obviously), but not the same as being on the beach!

The location was great, being outside Albufeira away from the busiest tourist areas (I think it was about 3 miles by road), but less than 5 minutes saunter from the local beach. The beach itself was quite busy at the weekend, but by no means impossible to find a spot, and quieter on the weekdays. You could hire a pair of sunloungers for the day for I think 15euros.

The local restaurants we tried ranged from fine (on the waterfront) to amazing (a little way back, called "Restaurant Olhos d'Agua" but also with a yellow sign saying Nicola (?)). We didn't try the one actually in the hotel, but another at the back of the hotel block was also excellent.

Two points you might like to know: The first, slightly weird one, is that the hotel wouldn't provide towels for the pool. (I guess it's because people take them down to the beach.) They would, however, sell you a towel for 15euros. This is the same price as in the local shops, so if there's more than one of you this gets quite expensive. Secondly, the beds were very firm. If you like firm mattresses (which I do), it's great - but these might have been too much for some people. Other than that, if I were going back to Albufeira, I'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate24_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#117 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Falesia Mar
Luna Falesia Mar
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas d'Agua
Villas d'Agua
#5 of 11 in Olhos de Agua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel
#6 of 11 in Olhos de Agua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua

Property: Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua
Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated Aparthotel located in the beautiful town of Olhos d'Agua, close to the beach, supermarkets, restaurants, bars, buses and taxis. Its 41 apartments are equipped with kitchen, sleeping area, living and dining area with TV... Hotel restaurant and a bar and conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Olhos d`Agua Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Olhos D'Agua Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing