We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for 2 young couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #97 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Everything was perfect, the rooms the staff the pool. Everything.
It's a quiet hotel in a quiet location away from albufera strip(taxi €10) only 5 min walk away from nearest beach.

I would recommend booking transfers before hand taxis were €40/€42 to/from faro airport. Yellowfishtaxi .com do it for €30 each way.

We rented out bikes to establish ourselves and the surrounding area and are glad we did, great scenery and its lovely just rolling down one of the many hills.

Make sure you visit villamora marina. About €15 in taxi but its worth the trip lovely bars shops and restaurants. (Christiano Ronaldo has a yought here) you can rent out speed boats jet skis banana boats. They do the whole lot.

All in all Stella Maris is a great place to stay. We will definitely be back, You shouldn't be dossapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripafterhiliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel apartments a few weeks ago. Staff were very friendly and informative. The apartments were really clean and the poolside was pristine. Only ate at the hotel one night and the food was excellent and very good value. The night before we were coming home they had a new two piece band playing in the restaurant who were tremendous and note perfect and who were able to play songs at request. The beach is only five minutes away and the scenery is breathtaking. Great quiet resort, highly recommended. Phil Bangor Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet part of the hotel overlooking the baby pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for your positive comments.
We couldn’t be happier to know that you had a very pleasant and relaxing stay with us.


We would be delighted to welcome you again,

Kind Regards

José Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this holiday it went so well and at little cost
Firstly we had a jet 2 flight from Leeds our local airport the flight is only 2 hrs 30 minutes so very short travel time.
We booked a transfer on line as my husband will not stand one of the shuttles where you wait for lots of flights to come in and then they drop you all over the island. We used a private company nicely named yelloww fishtaxis com , they were only 30 Euro each way , and gave a free bottle of wine , they just met us in the Airport with our name on a yellow plaque , dead easy to find and recommended.
The hotel was very well priced so we expected budget standard , but no it was well located near the most gorgeous beach ever called Falasia , if you like beach walking this is your resort .. There are conveniences close by , supermarket , bars etc although not a huge amount. But enough. The main Town Albufeira is 10 minutes away by taxi we went once but mainly stayed local as it was so nice .
The rooms are large , ok the beds bit hard but do you ever like your hotel bed really?
The balcony we had was big and got the sun .
We found a lovely cake , scone coffee shop up a little dirt track , called Quinta do Mel , you must try it lovely country location.
If you want a relaxing holiday then this could be your resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

just got back from staying in albufeira today and have to say what a great hotel to stay in....
lovely location 5 minutes from the beach.. nice and clean and appartments are really big and comfortable... staff were brilliant big shout out to daniel who worked in the bar..
food was great service was great and the overall experience was great...
the main town and strip aint much cop so it was nice staying in the place we were, had everything we needed... looking forward to going back next year for a well relaxed break...

Room Tip: we stayed on top floor round the back.... all you could hear was tree's swaying.... bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phild38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Honestly this review is a bit belated, but it is better late than never. My family had stayed at Stella Maris for one week in May 2011 during our trip to Portugal. It is only 10-15 minutes walk from the beautiful Praya de Falesia. We were staying in 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very nice. The area around the hotel and the hotel itself were extremely quiet. The staff at the reception was quite friendly.
Because we had a car, so we didn't have any problems getting around. There are few very nice restaurants in the walking distance from the hotel as well as a grocery shop.

One inconvenience I found was that the laundry was only available as laundry service, which is quite expensive, and a longer stay would have been problematic from this point of view. The wireless internet connection was a bit spotty, but in general it worked. We actually haven't used the pool once (who needs a pool when there is such a beautiful beach nearby).

The bottom line - Stella Maris is the great place to stay and if we are in the area again, they will most likely be our first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yellowprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in. Very peaceful, quiet, decent facilities. Breakfast is limited but does the job. The rooms are bigger than I expected, especially the kitchen. Terraces are lovely. Staff friendly and helpful. Pool is good and gym is well equipped (it's next to the tennis courts). The internet wasn't working the entire time I was there which was frustrating and I found the beds and pillows lacking in comfort. Hire a car or a bicycle to get around. Those looking for a bar/night life will want to venture elsewhere.

The beach is about a 15 minute walk away and is stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in an area quite away from the 'strip'. It's a good 10-15 minute taxi trip to that area so it's probably not the best place if you are looking for nightlife.

Having been in October, we found it quite empty with one poor, over-stretched waiter doing everything from serving your evening drink in the somewhat, cafetaria-esque bar to serving your breakfast the next morning.

If you are looking for a quieter vacation then there are a few restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance.

Our only gripe, but not one which warranted a complaint, was that we were given a room at the back of the hotel which didn't catch much sun. As a result the atmosphere felt a little damp - so a suggestion for the hotel is that when they are underbooked in the colder months that they ensure people are given rooms facing the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GroverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We will take in mind all aspects wich were cited in your review , in order to improve our service in the future.

We thank you for your helpful opinion and we hope to welcome you again at Stella Maris.

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.9 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
501 reviews
4.1 mi away
Belavista Avenida
Belavista Avenida
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#128 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
819 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £26 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing