We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #99 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of June/beginning of July 2013 in a one bedroom apartment. We were in room 304 which was at the back of the hotel overlooking the childrens play pool. There was an air conditioning unit in the bedroom and one in the large living area too - this was a great bonus as at least when we were in the apartment it was lovely and cool. The kitchen was well equipped should you want to cook and the bathroom was a good size too.
We had an extra bed in the living area for our son but to be honest there was no need for it as there was also a sofa bed! Other reviews have said that the rooms were sound proofed - maybe at the front of the hotel as ours wasn't (the only grumble that I had during our stay was the noisy neighbours above us moving what sounded like every piece of furniture at night)
Our room was serviced every day and I cannot fault the level of cleanliness throughout the hotel.

An added bonus at the hotel was their rule about not reserving sunbeds around the swimming pool - well done! I just hope they keep to this rule in the high season. Staff do allow you to 'reserve' your beds when you go for lunch but not to reserve them in the morning.....They are more lenient when it comes to playing with beach balls etc in the pool.

All the staff within the hotel were very helpful and could answer any question that we had. We didn't eat in the hotel but breakfast did look fresh and was popular (there is an offer to book your breakfast cheaper when you arrive rather than book online!)
The bar was well stocked and again nothing was a problem for the staff - we ate at the hotel only at lunchtime a couple of times and the food was good.

Three times a week, the hotel puts on a shuttle bus to Albufeira (there is a charge for this) but if you don't want to go on these nights, a taxi is only 12 Euros and the Old Town was lively with plenty of places to eat.

Vilamoura is a walk along the beach (it took us 1 hour 15 mins in the heat and paddling in the sea) but it was a lovely walk and after a visit to the marina - we walked it back too! Again, a taxi is only 12 Euros and we went to the marina one night too.

Around the apartments is very quiet (one reason we chose Stella Maris) but above the tennis courts which can be seen from Stella Maris we found a lovely cafe to eat and they also do cocktails in the evening too! There are a few restaurants to also choose from across the road from the cafe and a small supermarket - plenty to choose from to stock up for your holiday! Our favourite was the Pizza place - we went there twice! (All this is within 5 minutes walk!)

Day trips can be booked at Stella Maris reception and we booked the Jeep Safari (excellent!) and also a Glass Bottom Boat Trip leaving from Vilamoura (not so good....)

Overall, we had a great holiday and Stella Maris was a good choice - not ideal if you are looking for a busy, action packed holiday, but ideal for families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and such thoughtful comments. Your opinion is very important to us and we hope to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

José Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our studio was spotless and a lot bigger than we had expected. The balcony overlooking the pool was very spacious. The hotel is 5 minutes away from Falesia beach and there are also a few restaurants close by. The hotel puts on a shuttle bus into the Old Town Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays which we used. We never had trouble getting a space by the pool. If you like walking you can walk along the beach to Vilamoura which is very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChaR701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We (2 adults, 2 kids 3 yrs, 20 months) stayed here for a week, at the end of June.

We had booked a family apartment. An extra bed/travel cot was provided as requested. The apartment itself is very nice. Kitchen is well equipped (no pot scrub which would have been handy! but not a negative) Beds were fixed daily too. The rooms are sound proofed - which is a brilliant, when you have a crying baby! There are 2 air conditioning units well situated.

This is an excellent hotel for a family with younger children. The complex itself is very elegantly layout. Big tv room downstairs. Restaurant/bar looked busy - but i did not use these so can't comment.
The kid’s pool is around the back of the complex - away from the hazards of the 'adult pool', this is a big plus in my books. Lovely playground too for smaller kids. Towel can be hired at the desk - all hassle free. The complex is kept very clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and were always very pleasant in my dealings with them.


It’s a little out of the main town - but all well signposted if you hire a care. For younger couples wanting a night life, it may not be first choice. It a quiet/peaceful resort. The beach is a bit of a walk away (we drove in less than 5 mins) Prepare for steps to the beach and steep hills on the way to the beach!

There is an area/marquee for massages. This looked lovely - and I’m sorry I did not book one!

In the area there are some restaurants and supermarket for the basics. These are only a few mins walk away. Road outside the resort is quiet too - so all quiet safe.

All in all , it’s a great place to stay. I'd highly recommend it for families with smaller children. The complex should look at holding a kids club - definitely an opening there for it.
Would highly recommend the resort. Thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: book a 2 bedroom suite, if you have kids - For the extra space! Bring a pot scrub if you are usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this Aparthotel in April and have just returned from a week there. I cannot fault anything about this Aparthotel. We had a studio apartment which was immaculately clean and very well furnished, far better than some equally priced apartments I looked at. The staff were just so friendly, welcoming and helpful and they went out of their way to help. We did not eat at the hotel but saw the breakfasts and dinners laid out each day which looked fresh, appetising and healthy. The pool was immaculate also and sunbed hoarders are discouraged. All of the clientele at this hotel were friendly, fun and well behaved...no noisy nights or drunken yobs just nice families on a lovely break. There are some lovely restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The beach is around 800 metres from the hotel. If there was one drawback for us in our late 50's early 60's it was the walk and access to the beach. Up quite a steep hill, then down a hill and down quite a few very steep steps which made coming back quite hard in the 90 degree heat we had all this last week. However, the hotel were happy to arrange a taxi to Albufeira at 12 Euros each way. Trips to markets, boat trips can all be arranged via the hotel at a very reasonable cost, around 16 Euros for half day trips to markets, Silves, the mountains etc. Transfers to and from the airport we arranged with the hotel direct at 35 Euros each way. Total cost of holiday for 3 adults for apartment and flights with Norwegian Air for one week 22-29 June was just under £1000. All in all an excellent holiday and we would have no hesitation in booking again.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisors' comments...that's why Wechose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Mrs. Jose

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the cleaning and our staff.
We hope to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

José Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Staff were more than helpful offering maps & directions to everywhere we needed to go and everything we asked. Rooms were cleaned daily and were to a very good clean standard and well equipped. Our 1 bedroom apt had a seperate bathroom, large lounge/diner, bedroom, kitchen and large balcony. The pools and pool area were fantastic especially the seperate kids pool on the other side of the hotel which is calf deep and full of small fountains and attractions for children, perfect for our 1 year old. Its a little out of the way from the hustle and bustle of main town albufeira and although there is a beach walking distance and a few shops and restaurants nearby we hired a car and went out of the resort most evenings. Falesia Beach was great but down lots of steps, no good for those who are disabled or those with limited mobility. Overall our stay was excellent would recommend this hotel, can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel and were self catering.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki_l_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed at the Stella from the 18th - 25th June, and were kindly up-graded to a pool view. Cannot express how impressed we were with the accommodation. Apartment was spacious, well kept, clean, light and cool (especially with the two air con units) We were very impressed with the kitchen and the equipment and utensils supplied, all of which was in good order and clean. Found the rest of the hotel to be clean and well maintained, with a lovely pool area. Found the location of the hotel to be fine for us (we had hired a car for our stay) We ate at the pizzeria just up the road and found it be good value with tasty food, and found the small but adequately stocked supermarket nearby.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, with or without children.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the sun all afternoon and evening!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessie_a69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in Stella Maris for 2 weeks returning 22/06/13 excellent hotel great rooms, very quiet hotel ideal location close to the beach. Would also like to say how great both pizza and Chinese restaurants are within 5 minutes from Stella Maris. Staff are superb and more than helpful especially when booking trips, myself and my wife booked trips to Lisbon , Vilamoura and Albufeira and staff were polite helpful and couldn't have done any more to help us decide which trips would suit us best. Having stayed for two weeks at Stella Maris I couldn't fault anything about the hotel from staff , rooms , pool , jacuzzi , restaurants , location and the beach nearby which I should add is simply stunning all in all a must - place to stay and a home feeling abroad without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBangorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and such thoughtful comments.
We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for your positive comments.

We would be delighted to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

José Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
6.3 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#57 of 154 in Albufeira
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#129 of 154 in Albufeira
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £30 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing