We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding- A real Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding- A real Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I can honestly say that this place is an outstanding hotel. me and my girlfriend went here as part of an all inclusive package for five nights and i can speak for the both of us when i say that we were both impressed with the hotel. Usually you expect when staying all inclusive at a hotel that the food will suffer from the deal but with the balaia mar hotel this was not the case. we we're able to eat freshly cooked meals off the menu and in the evening when selcting from the grill section it was cooked fresh in front of you. the location is a 20 minute walk from the main "strip" which is consistent of lively night clubs and pubs but yet still has the feel that it is secluded from the liveliness. i definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying there and i myself would return there again in the future. the balaia mar hotel is truly a rare gem in the algarve district of portugal!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    349
    122
    11
    3
See reviews for
237
356
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Travelled with partner and 2 year old son. Really nice apartment very spacious. Excellent fresh food cooked in front of you. Staff really friendly from reception to bar staff to cleaners. Would definately recommend for couples as it was very peaceful by the pool not much going on for kids day or night. It is only a short distance into old told town and the strip. About 7 euros taxi to old town and 5 to the strip. We mostly went to the old town as it is much better for families, the strip full of stag and hen do's.
Again like to stress how great the food and staff are. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holly12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We found this hotel through purpleholidays and were unsure at first due to price (we usually go for something more expensive) but we are glad we went for it as the hotel was great overall with local beach being unspoilt. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, including the bar staff going out to buy particular ingredients for a cocktail that we wanted............that's service !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kieren_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Very nice and really closed do the beach, just how we wanted!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipafrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We arrived late in the day and the staff on reception spoke great English (good enough to give us directions to get there!). This was the theme for the whole staff, great service, very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in (414) was a standard yet was still really good with loads of space, great aircon, brilliant bathroom and balcony, although the beds were hard, you can't fault them. Not that far from the nightlife, but really you'd never know you were a 5min drive away. Beach is an easy walk, and really nice, but if you fancy the pool the staff there are superb. We had a "room only" package, we did have breakfast there one morning - very good, but the coffee wasn't great and the orange juice was orange squash. Wow, that's the worst thing I can say about this great hotel - consider that the breakfast was €5 each - it's amazing value because the rest (cooked and continental) was brilliant. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 414 has no view but is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob35t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days all inclusive which was lovely. It was very quiet when i stayed (mid to late May) which was perfect as we were looking for a relaxing quiet holiday. The staff were absolutely incredible, I cannot fault the service in any way. Everyone was friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The food was great, although there was not much variation (particularly if you are veggie for which it wouldn't be great). There was a variety of meat which was cooked fresh for you on a grill. I would recommend going all inclusive as the buffet was 15 euros a time! The whole hotel was very clean and was clearly taken very good care of. There is a bar with pool tables but no means of entertainment although the old town is 10 minutes away by car. Overall I would recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for a relaxing time away. It was very enjoyable and does exactly what it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay all of the staff, without exception, were friendly and very customer focussed, the rooms whilst adequate in size were clean and well maintained, the public areas were bright and cheerful adding to the pleasant surroundings, we had a queen sized bed and slept comfotably, kettle & cups in room but take your own tea & coffee, there is a small shop on site.
We stayed on a half board basis, breakfast gave a reasonable choice of the usual cerials, fruit, choice of breads with hot bacon,eggs & sausage (frankfurters).
Evening meals gave an excelent choice of meats which you chose and was cooked fresh in front of you on an open griddle, only criticisim is that during the quieter periods vegetables tended to be not as hot as you would like them, there was a small selection of deserts and starters.
The beach is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel although for less able people there is a short steep section to negotiate on the way back, the beach is well worth the walk, the hotel has a good sized and well looked after pool if you don't fancy the walk.
For those wanting a little night life Albafuera is a short ride away.
On the whole this is a nice well run hotel we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fathands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#99 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing