We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall but not for young children”
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Although a little dated, the apartment was very clean and spacious. Can be a little noisy as there are quite a lot of residential properties with teenage children who seem to stay out with their friends very late. For young children there's not much to do as no toys are allowed in the pool and there is no evening entertainment. Food was delicious, if a little samey. Beach was beautiful! No courtesy room was available for late check out. All in all a good holiday but I wouldn't stay here again. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Booked two one bedroomed apartments as these were the only ones available on website. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to two two bedroomed apartments with huge balconies and living areas. Was asked at reception when would we like our apartments cleaned, although they were cleaned every day except Sunday. All the staff were friendly and polite. Pool area was continuously patrolled and kept clean and tidy all day and evening. All inclusive was good as the kids could eat and drink whenever they liked. Lunch and dinner can get a bit repetitive though! Local beach was very nice and clean with lovely clear water and only a five minute walk. All in a great time in Portugal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just arrived back from an all inclusive holiday with two friends ( we are 26yrs, 28yrs and 33yrs) and I have to say the staff at the hotel and apartments were absolutely fantastic. We arrived at 1.00am and the reception staff greeted us with a huge smile and took us to our room and helped with our cases. The bar staff were excellent at all times having fun with guests serving non stop, always there to help. Bruno, Fernando and Jose are definitely a star attraction for the hotel. The food was brilliant always several options of meat and fish as well as pizza pasta and other dishes. We requested a one bedroom apartment with a balcony and we got a three bedroom with a terrace. The rooms are a little old in some parts but always very clean and comfy. If you book self catering there is every utensil you could think of and more. The pool is a good size and there were always sunbeds. Very close to the beach, a 20 minute walk to the strip (nightlife) and short taxi ride or 30 min walk to the old town. I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_kits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Very spacious apartment, amazing fresh food (abundance of freshly grilled meat and fish), very relaxing pool area, no entertainment at night but only a few Euros in a taxi to strip/old town (5 mins away). Very close to lovely Maria Lluisa beach. Staff all friendly and accomodating. Would definitely go again all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stebyrne984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from an excellent A/I BREAK here with my partner and 3 kids. Staff were excellent and very friendly. Great selection of food and drink all day, food was freshly cooked in front of you which was a bonus and there was always a great selection. Apartment was excellent, spacious and clean and had Air Con in every room, huge sunny balcony which looked onto the hotel. Would highy recommmend this place if you want a relaxing break away with good food. Pool was freezing but weather was great and there was always plenty of sunloungers. Will defo come back here again, thank you for a fantastic holiday.............. Should be a 4* : )

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel was lovely very clean and staff very welcoming . I was concerned when I went all inclusive as I cannot eat gluten in my diet but their was a grill everyday with different meats and plenty of salad and veg which was great for me it left me to enjoy my holiday without worrying. This hotel is good if u want a nice quiet holiday as it is quite a walk from pubs and restaurants although the hotel does provide a bus into albuferia. My only down side was that we booked on the assumption that we were getting an apartment with kitchen which we didn't get it was a room with two beds and a small fridge this didn't make a great difference to our holiday as we were all inclusive but we booked it specifically so we could have the choice to make our own dinners if we felt like it. Overall it was a great holiday and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzabel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good localization on a five minute walk to Maria Luisa beach one of the best in Albufeira. Hotel staff were great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmramos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 154 in Albufeira
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £25 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing