We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cookstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights on the AI all inclusive option. The room itself was very clean with nice balcony and good bathroom which powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Food was good on all inclusive always something for everyone, although not much changed from day to day. The staff were lovely and very accomadting however I felt sometimes you had to wait longer than necessary to get served at the bar, both during the day and at meal times. I also felt it a little unfair that the all inclusive drinks stopped at 11pm even though the bar was open to 2pm, as it was an extra cost that we had not acounted for. The whole area was clean especially round the pool, and very suitable for young families. Please be aware they is no entertainment so can be quite quiet in the evenings - could do with some music a few nights, therefore I would recommend taking the free shuttle into town and few nights as most restaurants/bars have live entertainment. Overal I enjoyed my holidays and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairerogers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    349
    122
    11
    3
See reviews for
237
356
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our 2 bed apartment was very spacious alhough a little old fashioned but it served it's purpose as a place to shower and sleep. Food was good on all inclusive always something for everyone. Whole area was clean especially round the pool. Only problems for us were that there was no entertainment and no air conditioning as stated on the web site we booked through.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manda761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torbay (devon)
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in the apartments part of this hotel, the room its self was basic and dated but was fine for what we wanted. (there isn't much within walking distance of the hotel)

The food was very good, they have a bbq/grill with a gd selection of meat and fish everyday all cooked fresh infornt of you, there is also freshly cooked bread everyday.

The guys at the pool bar are great and friendly, you also get some branded sprits included within the all inclusive.

There is also a sports bar which opens at 8pm and is open until 3am but you only get the all inclusive until 11pm, you also have to pay to use one of the many pool tables at 6euros an hour.

For what we wanted it was great the kids had fun, we got some peace with some nice food and drinks and tbh I prob would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here in june for my birthday and it is more of a 4 star plus goin on the food and drimk and cleanliness!!! but its small and compact but its very busy in higfh season with lots loud portugese families and demanding noisy kids!!!! fresh fish and meat cooked tp order lunch and dinner and the house wine was mateus rose you could have it by the bottle!!! i am a fussy non meat eater but i didnt stop eating!!! plenty fruit cheeses yoghourts and omeletees etc 4 breakfast.The bar staff are fantastic and the russian chefs will cook anything at any time!!! We stayed in 1st floor room overlooking the apartments the air con is fantastic!bit of a walk to beach down hill its a killer coming back in the heat!!! close to bus stop 4 albufeira old town and you can walk to village of Olhos Dagua in 15 mins. we kept our roon for a tenner and all inc carries on until you leave!!! no entertainment and smallish pools but lovely !!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the corner away from pool side is best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkladyNorthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Although a little dated, the apartment was very clean and spacious. Can be a little noisy as there are quite a lot of residential properties with teenage children who seem to stay out with their friends very late. For young children there's not much to do as no toys are allowed in the pool and there is no evening entertainment. Food was delicious, if a little samey. Beach was beautiful! No courtesy room was available for late check out. All in all a good holiday but I wouldn't stay here again. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Booked two one bedroomed apartments as these were the only ones available on website. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to two two bedroomed apartments with huge balconies and living areas. Was asked at reception when would we like our apartments cleaned, although they were cleaned every day except Sunday. All the staff were friendly and polite. Pool area was continuously patrolled and kept clean and tidy all day and evening. All inclusive was good as the kids could eat and drink whenever they liked. Lunch and dinner can get a bit repetitive though! Local beach was very nice and clean with lovely clear water and only a five minute walk. All in a great time in Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just arrived back from an all inclusive holiday with two friends ( we are 26yrs, 28yrs and 33yrs) and I have to say the staff at the hotel and apartments were absolutely fantastic. We arrived at 1.00am and the reception staff greeted us with a huge smile and took us to our room and helped with our cases. The bar staff were excellent at all times having fun with guests serving non stop, always there to help. Bruno, Fernando and Jose are definitely a star attraction for the hotel. The food was brilliant always several options of meat and fish as well as pizza pasta and other dishes. We requested a one bedroom apartment with a balcony and we got a three bedroom with a terrace. The rooms are a little old in some parts but always very clean and comfy. If you book self catering there is every utensil you could think of and more. The pool is a good size and there were always sunbeds. Very close to the beach, a 20 minute walk to the strip (nightlife) and short taxi ride or 30 min walk to the old town. I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_kits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing