We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday break!”
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday break!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just got back from the balaia, the 3 of us aged between 16-47 found it fantastic!! We booked all inclusive and we were not dissapointed great fresh breakfast everyday cereals, fresh fruit,yougarts and cooked breakfast too all cooked in front of the the kitchen was immaculate trust me i am a restaurant manager and ive seen some kitchens!! The lunch had all fresh salads and meat, then there is an afternnon snack bar burgers hotdogs and crisps and for dinner a special of the day cooked in the middle ofthe restaurant from scratch and lots of fresh bbq meats, rice chicken goujons, chips, salad, desserts, the works!! The buffett was never crowed the the food was been repleneshed fresh all the time. The pool area was great beds in the sun and in the shade wemhad no proplems getting beds at all and there is a pool side attendent who will work his magic and get you anything you need ie. 2 beds and a table in the shade like we wanted one day after the sun w as too hot! Our apartment was great 2 bedrooms on suite and ive travelled far and wide and it was one of the cleanest i had seen beds were comfy free air conditioning, coffee making facilitiles, fridge and freezer, microwave,oven, and all the utensilis and plate you could wish for even 2 sunbeds on the ballcony with a table and chairs. The alcohol measures were great and the had almost everything. The staff were great and couldnt help enough and were always willing to get us extra drinks


I would deffinatly return the place was clean the food was fresh, great location only 5 minutes from albuferia in taxi and the beach is just a 5 minute walk, staff were great we felt at home and relaxed this place is. Hidden gem take my advice book it you carnt go wront ( i know portugal well ive stayed in 5* that wasnt as good as this i booked this as a last minute birthday treat it didnt let me down!)

Room Tip: Deffinatly an apartment its worth it for the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    357
    124
    11
    4
See reviews for
242
366
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a lovely break at the Balaia Mar Hotel. We chose not to go for the all inclusive option, preferring not to be tied down to specific eating times. Drinks were quite expensive if you were not all inclusive, but I suspect this is the case in any of the hotels around the area. Being that we could walk into the old town within 25 minutes (at a stroll), we weren't too concerned with eating and drinking at the hotel anyway. But we had breakfast, which was a vast choice of goodies, from cereal to cooked breakfast - kept us going until lunch!

The hotel is clean and situated in safe surroundings with a 5/10 minute walk to the beach. There is not much in the surrounding area but as mentioned before, it is a short walk to the bars and pubs in the old town. We particularly enjoyed the American Diner and Carpe Diem for their famous ribs and Chicken Satay! The pool at the hotel is wonderful and we spent a couple of days relaxing there and swimming. Also, be sure to check out the supermarket on the ground floor of the hotel, and the Sports Bar near reception, we enjoyed a couple of games of pool and the parrot show here!

A lovely break away and would stay at this hotel again if we went back to Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Balaia Mar Apartments, which we booked around 6 weeks ago. We booked 2 all inclusive studios and when we arrived had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment (both of our rooms) which were very spacious and very well equipped. They were cleaned and towels changed every day. The location was great as you had the option of going into the strip for around €5 or the old town for around €7 and the beach was only a 5min walk. All the staff were excellent and always very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't have to queue for drinks or food at any time and the food was always freshly cooked and tasty - although as mentioned a little bit on the repetitive side. The setting for eating was also good and relaxing, as most of the tables were outside so didn't feel like you were in a dining hall. The entertainment that people found was lacking, we felt didn't matter as one persons idea of good entertainment isn't always another. Overall a good value for money stay and very relaxing, would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Accommodation basic however very clean and spacious . Food and drink excellent and plenty of it. Pool lovely and clean and always lots of sunbeds with shaded areas when required.Reception extremely helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to assist us. Would definitely return with or without kids. Very quiet at night no entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMcF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Had a wonderful time at the balaia mar apartments, it was well worth the money. Staff were very attentive and happy to help, food was all very nice but a little repetitive and the room was very well equipped if you prefer self catering.
Location was good for me as not great at traveling and wanted a more relaxing holiday rather than busy town centre (only 35 mins from airport and 15 in taxi to the town) . Overall we had a great time and would love to go again x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAYLA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here end of June to the start of July. We arrived about half 1 in the afternoon. Reception were very friendly, we were given information about the hotel and what there was to do in the local area. We were also informed about the free transportation to the strip and the old town at night from 8pm till 10pm. You have to make your own way home.
We were allowed straight to our room even though check in wasnt until 3pm.
The room was basic but very nice. The bed was very big and very comfortable. The rooms have nice big windows, air con, tv, bath with shower head on the wall, hair dryer, mini fridge, large wardrobes. Unfortunately we didn't have a balcony but we was not too fussed about this.
We didn't get our all inclusive wrist bands until 3pm so we couldn't eat until then. But there was a very large supermarket right outside the hotel. Which is a lot cheaper than the one in the hotel.
The pool was nice, quite a few sunbeds and we always managed to get one. As other reviews say the pool was freezing but it was lovely to go in and cool off.
To be honest there isn't any entertainment in the hotel. The sports bar in the hotel opens at half 9. This has pool tables and tv with sports on. The drinks with the all inclusive are great with very big measures! So be warned! The food was amazing. Definitely something for everyone.
Breakfast was 8-10
Lunch 1-3
Snacks 3-6 (hotdogs, burgers, ham and cheese, toast etc)
Dinner 8-10
The food was cooked fresh, the meat from the grill was beautiful!
We only went out of the hotel to go to the old town which we went to by taxi. 6 euros each way. Great town for shopping and food and drinks.
We mainly stayed by the pool during the day and stayed in the sports bar at night. All inclusive finishes at 11. But sports bar mainly stayed open until about 1.
Is was a lovely relaxing holiday where we met some great people.
I would advise for people to ask for the rooms near the pool as the complex is quite big. If you are looking for more entertainment book club med balaia mar. Which is just up the road. But this is definitely a great relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool. Ask not to be put near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The reception staff were very helpful in allocating the proximity of the rooms for my family. The food was excellent as usual & all the staff at the hotel are friendly & helpful. The only "downside" to my stay was lack of entertainment in the evening. The only "planned" entertainment over our ten day stay was a "parrot show" for one night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel not in the "apartment blocks" as, many of the "apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing