We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The service at this hotel was truly 5*. The reception staff were extremely helpful, the waiters were always friendly and welcoming and the cleaners were also very friendly. We are vegetarian so the choice was limited but we informed the waiters who were more than happy to help and provide us with alternative food. The room was a good size and the studio included a microwave, a fridge and also hobs. We were in block C which did not have a balcony. The rooms were cleaned everyday and they hotel overall was VERY CLEAN. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and the old Albufeira town is a 5 minute taxi ride away (costing 6-7 euros). The hotel provides a free shuttle bus between 8pm-10pm in the all inclusive package.

Overall, very happy with the service, location, cleanliness and food.

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank US1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    349
    122
    11
    3
See reviews for
237
356
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely hotel, we had a great room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool, room was very clean as was everywhere. Food was good, plenty of it and enough variety. All the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, they were always very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We would definitely come back. Only downside was that the pool was freezing so only my feet went in!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

An amaizing hotel, (can not understand why this hotel is only 3*, i would give 4+*) very good location, beautiful beach 400m away, very very clean, spotlessly clean!! Very friendly and helpfull staff, always smiling, welcoming and helpfull reception staff. Have to say big thank you to your chef Alexander for very taisty always fresh food, he is a real gem!!! Defiantly come back to this lovely place and recommend it to my friends!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K8rina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a 6 night stay here after reading all the reviews, hotel yes a little out the way of the strip and old town however we knew this and strolled to the strip and the hotel provides a shuttle bus on a night to them both, the staff at this hotel are the friendliest we have ever come across! Hotel rooms were spacious we had a balcony with 2 sun beds to enjoy the evening sunshine, food is lovely with fresh steak, chicken and fish cooked every day, drinks are good although alcohol ones are only served from 1pm, the only downsides if we were to be picky was no sangria or free wi fi, will return again to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just came back from the balai mar hotel. this is the second time we have been and it is just as good this time as it was last year. Friendly staff always helpful and willing to please. Clean and tidy room cleaned 6 days a week bedding and towels twice a week or when needed, staff always polite with a smile to greet you anytime of the day. Food is excellent (rump steak, pork chops, chicken and fish with a large selection of salads potatoes rice pasta and always a special cooked every night would recommend this hotel a 20 minute stroll will take you to the strip. will be going there again next year

Room Tip: the rooms by the pool are really good away from the road so quite and can sit out with friends for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Came back again this year.....and it did not disappoint!! The Balaia Mar is immaculately clean throughout...our room was serviced every day and offered small fridge, hair dryer & kettle with a large balcony. The lady on reception was fantastic, so helpful, booking taxis and trips.
The food was excellent, lots of grilled meat & a side choice of salads. All The bar staff, once again were superb, efficient & attentive. Joshimar recognised us from last year & was a great source of fun.
If you want a great, quiet relaxing holiday with immaculate rooms & communal areas and GREAT staff then this is the hotel for you.......it is close to a lovely beach and has good bus services to Albufeira and Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a very nice week at Balaia Mar, no complaints at all except that the pool was VERY cold, food very good, and freshly cooked, the bar well stocked with good brands, Obligado to the two Joses and the rest of the staff. It is a little remote, but cabs are reasonably priced, buses are quite expensive.

Room Tip: you want one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#99 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing