We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Staff and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very friendly and super helpful staff. Pool absolutely gorgeous, just like in the photos! Beach is only a 5 minutes walk - Praia Maria Luisa, one of the best in the Algarve. Food was good lots of variety - well worth the extra 10 Euros per night, always fresh and if you have a preference they will cook it for you. Rooms a bit on the small side but clean, could use an upgrade but if you don't plan on spending time in the room its fine. Having the balcony was nice but never really used it. Our reservation included free wi fi so that was a bonus otherwise you have to pay - weekly rate was 20 Euros. For day trips use the local Ticket Hub its alot cheaper than the one offered at the Hotel. Historical Algarve was 15 Euros per person and Seville was 20 - both full day trips very good tours, don't forget to tip I found it very rude that some people didn't. The strips as it is known is a good walk from the Hotel 45 mins, lots of restaurants etc a little pricey and lots of people. Taxi ride is about 6 Euros. If you walk in the other direction you will find a supermarket and several gift shops very cheap.
No entertainment at night other than the pool tables and socializing with the other guests. You can get an all inclusive drink ban but this offers no drinks after 11pm.. We found it cheaper to buy wine and beer from the Supermarket....Wine 2 to 5 Euros a bottle, Beer 12 Pk less than 5 Euros.

Lana & Mark from Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pool...this is the nicest view. Could be a bit noisy at night as it is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    353
    124
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
364
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really enjoyed stay. Apartment cleaned daily except sunday. aircon and fan available. spacious apartment and was upgraded on arrival. we went all inclusive, however many of those staying were privately owned or self catering. food was well prepared and chef cooking meet from fresh during meal times, fresh fish available daily. friendly staff. no entertainment at all at site for the evening only bar and pool tables. if all inclusive can get free tranfer to alberferio and two other places in evening but need to pay for taxi return. beach is down a steep slope but not too bad. Beautiful beach available, rocky areas either side to explore at low tide, walkable to other beaches at low tide, or over cliff tops. some watersports available on beach and local areas. These apartments are not situated in walkable distance to a local main town, buses run opposite appartments as timetabled. Quiet but enjoyable stay, may get busier as schools break up. no kids activities on site. Pool is reasonable size.

Room Tip: Draw back we were up graded but had room 103 which was by the road, so noise of traffic can be hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda_preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose this holiday for a quick week in the sun I read the reviews and it seemed fine for what we wanted a cheep week away. The room was an apartment clean and had air con , oven ,fridge big room but always ask for a room with aircon as some couples we met had a fan! It was to hot in the rooms if you had no aircon.
The hotel staff were great the good that was cooked every night was very nice fresh fish grilled stakes fresh veg the cooks were great and kitchen was spotless as I am very fussy with food you are not going to go hungry here.
It's a shame the all inclusive stops at 11 and then you have to pay many hotels it stops at 12 this should change.
The rose wine is sparkly which was nice there is beer and white wine vodka.
there is no entertainment for children at this hotel a lot of family's were not happy as you want to relax and you end up having to entertain your own because they are fed up.
At the bar is just a bit of back ground music at the bar but that was it.
We ended up going to the old town two nights the hotel offers a free taxi ride into the town which is a nice bonus as there was nothing to do after 11 we ended up here for a few drinks with other couples from the hotel a taxi back was 6 euros.
The beach is a ten Min walk and is very clean this has a restaurant and bar we had a drink in here was nice to overlook the sea.
Overall the week was relaxing a lot of English people which was nice as we met some lovely people, would recommend for a week if you need some sunshine.

Room Tip: Always ask if the room has air on as some people had a fan and the rooms are very warm the rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimingtons92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Pool absolutely gorgeous, just like in the photos! get a room next to the pool. we went as a 3-generation family - grandparents, my daughter and her little boy. He made lots of friends at the pool. it is also just 5 minutes walk away from the beach - Praia Maria Luisa, one of the best in the Algarve - which is really saying something as every one we visited seemed clean, beautiful and hassle-free!
Food was good (lots of Portuguese families staying and they all seemed to enjoy it, which has to be good). All fresh and cooked in front of you - true enough, not a vast choice but good enough for eveyone to find something they liked.
Rooms a bit on the small side but clean and everything necessary was there
Room for improvent: no free wifi; 50cents for reception to book you a taxi (WHY when the taxi firm is probably paying them for the monopoly??); shuttle bus only available to all-inclusive guests, not half-board or B&B - this was not oly unfair but very wasteful as mot of the time it was less than half full!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We arrived late evening after our flight was delayed. The lady on reception allowed us to pay for our room before informing us there was no water in the apartments.She walked us to our room and on the way showed us the gaping hole in the car park where they were trying to find the problem. We had to wait until mid day the following day before this was fixed.
After a very shaky start things did improve, we were able to get an evening meal on arrival even though the restaurant was technically closed.
The room was basic but spacious and clean. It was adequate for our needs, lots of storage space. Clean towels every day. The apartments don't have balcony but there was a rack for drying swimwear etc on the wall outside.
The food was very good but very repetitive. There was fresh meat and fish cooked on the griddle for both lunch and dinner, along with the same vegetables, chips and new potatoes at every meal. There was also a choice of salads. The day time snacks were varied though and topped up regularly. There was adequate seating at mealtimes both inside and outside on the lovely terrace.
The staff are very friendly and interact well with the guests.
We found the pool area was lovely, lots of sunbeds both by the pool and on the balcony above.
The hotel is quite a way out of Albufeira. There is a free shuttle bus available between 8 and 10 PM if you are all inclusive this is into town only, they don't offer a return service.
The evenings are very boring, they are brilliant if you play pool. There is a huge lack of evening activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiewigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend decided to go for the Balaia Mar due to the cheap all inclusive deal we got. The staff were very helpful and attentive, and I can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel. The food was tasty but very repetitive, which led us to eating out 3 times during our 7 night stay. Furthermore, all though we were aware that there was a 20 minute walk to the strip before arriving, it was a long walk back to the hotel after a night out. After about 11pm, the walk back could be spookily quiet! However being all inclusive meant we could get the free shuttle service into the strip/old town each night between 8-10pm. There is a beach about 10mins from the hotel, although quite quiet so others may prefer the busy buzz of the other beach closer to the strip. Overall the hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, with a gorgeous pool area. Great for couples and families looking for a relaxing holiday, which I must stress because there is no hotel entertainment and the sports bar was not overly busy each night. Hopefully we will be returning some time in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Pool area is lovely but rooms not comfortable and very dated. We saw insects crawling around the floor numerous times. Hotel is a little bit out of town though we did walk it a couple of time so this could be a pro or con depending on what you're after. Some staff were not, others pretty much grunted in response. We were all inclusive, food wasn't up to scratch, alcoholic drinks are not brand name but cheap substitutes. Couldn't wait to leave TBH.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roryhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing